search for books and compare prices
cover image
The Children's Home
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Scribner
Publication date January 5, 2016
Pages 210
Binding Hardcover
Book category Adult Fiction
ISBN-13 9781501117398
ISBN-10 1501117394
Dimensions 1 by 5.75 by 8.50 in.
Weight 0.70 lbs.
Original list price $24.00
Amazon.com says people who bought this book also bought:
The Little Stranger
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description: For fans of Shirley Jackson, Neil Gaiman, Roald Dahl, and Edward Gorey, a beguiling and disarming debut novel from an award-winning British author about a mysterious group of children who appear to a disfigured recluse and his country doctor—and the startling revelations their behavior evokes.

In a sprawling estate, willfully secluded, lives Morgan Fletcher, the disfigured heir to a fortune of mysterious origins. Morgan spends his days in quiet study, avoiding his reflection in mirrors and the lake at the end of his garden. One day, two children, Moira and David, appear. Morgan takes them in, giving them free reign of the mansion he shares with his housekeeper Engel. Then more children begin to show up.

Dr. Crane, the town physician and Morgan’s lone tether to the outside world, is as taken with the children as Morgan, and begins to spend more time in Morgan’s library. But the children behave strangely. They show a prescient understanding of Morgan’s past, and their bizarre discoveries in the mansion attics grow increasingly disturbing. Every day the children seem to disappear into the hidden rooms of the estate, and perhaps, into the hidden corners of Morgan’s mind.

The Children’s Home is a genre-defying, utterly bewitching masterwork, an inversion of modern fairy tales like The Chronicles of Narnia and The Golden Compass, in which children visit faraway lands to accomplish elusive tasks. Lambert writes from the perspective of the visited, weaving elements of psychological suspense, Jamesian stream of consciousness, and neo-gothic horror, to reveal the inescapable effects of abandonment, isolation, and the grotesque—as well as the glimmers of goodness—buried deep within the soul.

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9781501117398
 
The price comparison is for this edition
from Scribner (January 5, 2016)
9781501117398 | details & prices | 210 pages | 5.75 × 8.50 × 1.00 in. | 0.70 lbs | List price $24.00
About: For fans of Shirley Jackson, Neil Gaiman, Roald Dahl, and Edward Gorey, a beguiling and disarming debut novel from an award-winning British author about a mysterious group of children who appear to a disfigured recluse and his country doctor—and the startling revelations their behavior evokes.
Paperback
Book cover for 9781501117404 Book cover for 9781910709009
 
Reprint edition from Scribner (January 10, 2017)
9781501117404 | details & prices | 224 pages | List price $15.00
from Gardners Books (February 1, 2016)
9781910709009 | details & prices | List price $15.70

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.