search for books and compare prices
Charles Lambert has written 11 work(s)
Search for other authors with the same name
displaying 1 to 11 | at end
show results in order: alphabetically | oldest to newest | newest to oldest
Cover for 9781501117398 Cover for 9781501117404 Cover for 9781910709009 Cover for 9780330512459 Cover for 9781447295198 Cover for 9781909223660 Cover for 9781909223677 Cover for 9780231111553 Cover for 9780330450379 Cover for 9781412035880 Cover for 9781553954835 Cover for 9780813335841 Cover for 9780226097923 Cover for 9780837182018
cover image for 9781501117404
For fans of Shirley Jackson, Neil Gaiman, Roald Dahl, and Edward Gorey, a beguiling and disarming debut novel from an award-winning British author about a mysterious group of children who appear to a disfigured recluse and his country doctor—and the startling revelations their behavior evokes.In a sprawling estate, willfully secluded, lives Morgan Fletcher, the disfigured heir to a fortune of mysterious origins. Morgan spends his days in quiet study, avoiding his reflection in mirrors and the lake at the end of his garden. One day, two children, Moira and David, appear. Morgan takes them in, giving them free reign of the mansion he shares with his housekeeper Engel. Then more children begin to show up. Dr. Crane, the town physician and Morgan’s lone tether to the outside world, is as taken with the children as Morgan, and begins to spend more time in Morgan’s library. But the children behave strangely. They show a prescient understanding of Morgan’s past, and their bizarre discoveries in the mansion attics grow increasingly disturbing. Every day the children seem to disappear into the hidden rooms of the estate, and perhaps, into the hidden corners of Morgan’s mind. The Children’s Home is a genre-defying, utterly bewitching masterwork, an inversion of modern fairy tales like The Chronicles of Narnia and The Golden Compass, in which children visit faraway lands to accomplish elusive tasks. Lambert writes from the perspective of the visited, weaving elements of psychological suspense, Jamesian stream of consciousness, and neo-gothic horror, to reveal the inescapable effects of abandonment, isolation, and the grotesque—as well as the glimmers of goodness—buried deep within the soul.

Hardcover:

9781501117398 | Scribner, January 5, 2016, cover price $24.00 | About this edition: For fans of Shirley Jackson, Neil Gaiman, Roald Dahl, and Edward Gorey, a beguiling and disarming debut novel from an award-winning British author about a mysterious group of children who appear to a disfigured recluse and his country doctor—and the startling revelations their behavior evokes.

Paperback:

9781501117404 | Reprint edition (Scribner, January 10, 2017), cover price $15.00
9781910709009 | Gardners Books, February 1, 2016, cover price $15.70 | About this edition: A beguiling and disarming novel about a mysterious group of children who appear to a disfigured recluse and his country doctor.

cover image for 9781447295198

Paperback:

9781447295198 | Pan Macmillan, May 21, 2015, cover price $25.35
9780330512459 | Pan Macmillan, November 4, 2011, cover price $13.50

Paperback:

9781909223707 | Random House Inc, October 28, 2014, cover price $14.99

cover image for 9781909223677
Product Description: A psychological thriller sure to appeal to fans of William Boyd and John Le Carre...Can she trust them? Can you? Helen is in a hotel room with her lover in Rome, when a gunman murders her husband, a high-level politician, less than a mile away...read more

Paperback:

9781909223677 | Random House Inc, December 31, 2013, cover price $14.99 | About this edition: A psychological thriller sure to appeal to fans of William Boyd and John Le Carre.
9781909223660 | Gardners Books, December 17, 2013, cover price $14.10 | About this edition: "Can she trust them?

cover image for 9780231111553

Paperback:

9780231111553 | Reprint edition (Columbia Univ Pr, May 7, 2013), cover price $24.95

cover image for 9780330450379

Paperback:

9780330450379 | Pan Macmillan, February 6, 2009, cover price $13.55

cover image for 9781412035880
Product Description: In his new book Your Inner Edge!, Dr. Charles Lambert outlines research based techniques from modern Western behavioral science and the "inner technology" of ancient Eastern marial arts that immediately enable readers to "enter the zone...read more

Paperback:

9781412035880 | Trafford on Demand Pub, August 30, 2004, cover price $22.50 | About this edition: In his new book Your Inner Edge!

cover image for 9781553954835
Product Description: In his new book Your Inner Edge, Dr. Charles Lambert outlines research based techniques from modern Western behavioral science and the "inner technology" of ancient Eastern marial arts that immediately enable readers to "enter the zone...read more

Paperback:

9781553954835 | Trafford on Demand Pub, July 1, 2003, cover price $19.95 | About this edition: In his new book Your Inner Edge, Dr.

cover image for 9780813335841
Product Description: Charles Lambert (1793–1876) was a Franco-British entrepreneur who made a fortune in copper and silver mining—and smelting—in nineteenth-century Chile. Sent to Chile by a British mining company that soon afterward failed, and with which he quarreled acrimoniously, Lambert developed his own independent business interests with remarkable success...read more (view table of contents, read Amazon.com's description)
By Simon Collier (editor), Charles Lambert and John Mayo (editor)

Hardcover:

9780813335841 | Westview Pr, August 1, 1998, cover price $90.00 | About this edition: Charles Lambert (1793–1876) was a Franco-British entrepreneur who made a fortune in copper and silver mining—and smelting—in nineteenth-century Chile.

cover image for 9780226097923
For more than a thousand years, Byzantium flourished at the crossroads of the Eastern and Western worlds. But who were the people of the first modern civilized state? What features distinguished them from earlier civilizations, and what cultural characteristics, despite their multi-ethnic origins, made them uniquely Byzantine? Through a series of remarkably detailed composite portraits, an international collection of distinguished scholars has created a startlingly clear vision of the Byzantines and their social world. Paupers, peasants, soldiers, teachers, bureaucrats, clerics, emperors, and saints—all are vividly and authentically presented in the context of ordinary Byzantine life. No comparable volume exists that so fascinatingly recovers from the past the men and women of Byzantium, their culture and their lifeways, and their strikingly modern worldview.
By Guglielmo Cavallo (editor), Thomas Dunlap (trans), Teresa Lavender Fagan (trans) and Charles Lambert (trans)

Hardcover:

9780226097916 | Univ of Chicago Pr, December 1, 1996, cover price $81.00 | About this edition: For more than a thousand years, Byzantium flourished at the crossroads of the Eastern and Western worlds.

Paperback:

9780226097923 | Univ of Chicago Pr, May 1, 1997, cover price $30.00

cover image for 9780837182018
Product Description: Book by Lambert, Charles James

Hardcover:

9780837182018 | Reprint edition (Praeger Pub Text, July 1, 1975), cover price $84.00 | About this edition: Book by Lambert, Charles James

displaying 1 to 11 | at end