search for books and compare prices
cover image
When Breath Becomes Air
By Paul Kalanithi and Abraham Verghese (foreword by)
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | CD/Spoken Word
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Random House Inc
Publication date January 12, 2016
Pages 228
Binding Hardcover
Edition 1
Book category Adult Non-Fiction
ISBN-13 9780812988406
ISBN-10 081298840X
Dimensions 1 by 5.50 by 7.75 in.
Weight 0.70 lbs.
Original list price $25.00
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description: #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST • This inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New York Times Book Review • People • NPR • The Washington Post • Slate • Harper’s Bazaar • Time Out New York • Publishers Weekly • BookPage

Finalist for the PEN Center USA Literary Award in Creative Nonfiction and the Books for a Better Life Award in Inspirational Memoir

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade’s worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi’s transformation from a naïve medical student “possessed,” as he wrote, “by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life” into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.

What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir.

Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. “I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything,” he wrote. “Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: ‘I can’t go on. I’ll go on.’” When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780812988406 Book cover for 9781410487858
 
With Abraham Verghese (other contributor) | Large print edition from Thorndike Pr (February 17, 2016)
9781410487858 | details & prices | 241 pages | 5.75 × 8.50 × 0.75 in. | 0.85 lbs | List price $32.99
About: An Amazon Best Book of the MonthFor readers of Atul Gawande Andrew Solomon and Anne Lamott a profoundly moving exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living
The price comparison is for this edition
With Abraham Verghese (other contributor) | 1 edition from Random House Inc (January 12, 2016)
9780812988406 | details & prices | 228 pages | 5.50 × 7.75 × 1.00 in. | 0.70 lbs | List price $25.00
About: #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST • This inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?
CD/Spoken Word
With Cassandra Campbell (other contributor), Sunil Malhotra (other contributor), Abraham Verghese (other contributor) | Unabridged edition from Random House (January 12, 2016)
9780399566165 | details & prices | List price $40.00

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.