search for books and compare prices
Tom Avery has written 8 work(s)
Search for other authors with the same name
displaying 1 to 8 | at end
show results in order: alphabetically | oldest to newest | newest to oldest
Cover for 9780553535099 Cover for 9780553535105 Cover for 9780385384872 Cover for 9780385384889 Cover for 9781847803894 Cover for 9781847802347 Cover for 9780312551865 Cover for 9780972744416 Cover for 9780932212474 Cover for 9780932212016
cover image for 9780553535099

Hardcover:

9780553535099 | Schwartz & Wade Books, August 23, 2016, cover price $16.99

Library:

9780553535105 | Schwartz & Wade Books, August 23, 2016, cover price $19.99

cover image for 9780385384872
Product Description: Fans of David Almond’s Skellig and Patrick Ness’s A Monster Calls will embrace this deeply affecting middle grade novel in which a girl suffering from terrible grief befriends a mysterious wild boy. When I saw him that first time I screamed—a small and silent scream, all inside, in my gut...read more

Hardcover:

9780385384872 | Schwartz & Wade Books, September 9, 2014, cover price $16.99 | About this edition: Fans of David Almond’s Skellig and Patrick Ness’s A Monster Calls will embrace this deeply affecting middle grade novel in which a girl suffering from terrible grief befriends a mysterious wild boy.

Library:

9780385384889 | Schwartz & Wade Books, September 9, 2014, cover price $19.99 | About this edition: Fans of David Almond’s Skellig and Patrick Ness’s A Monster Calls will embrace this deeply affecting middle grade novel in which a girl suffering from terrible grief befriends a mysterious wild boy.

cover image for 9781847803894
Product Description: ?It?s Father,? my brother said. ?He?s in trouble. We?ve got to get him.?Prince and Emmanuel are stunned to hear that someone who says she?s their mother is looking for them. Can it really be her, after four long years of separation? The boys are scared and suspicious...read more

Paperback:

9781847803894 | Frances Lincoln Childrens Books, June 10, 2014, cover price $8.99 | About this edition: ?

cover image for 9781847802347
Product Description: "Get out, Emmanuel!" growled my uncle. "Take your brother and go." But where can two boys go when they're on their own, on the run, with little money or food? All 12-year-old Emmanuel knows is that he has to look after Prince. They were his father's last words to him...read more

Paperback:

9781847802347 | Frances Lincoln Childrens Books, April 24, 2012, cover price $8.99 | About this edition: "Get out, Emmanuel!

April 2009 is the one-hundredth anniversary of perhaps the greatest controversy in the history of exploration. Did U.S. Naval Commander Robert Peary and his team dogsled to the North Pole in thirty-seven days in 1909? Or, as has been challenged, was this speed impossible, and was he a cheat? In 2005, polar explorer Tom Avery and his team set out to recreate this 100-year-old journey, using the same equipment as Peary, to prove that Peary had indeed done what he had claimed and discovered the North Pole. Navigating treacherous pressure ridges, deadly channels of open water, bitterly cold temperatures, and traveling in a similar style to Peary’s with dog teams and replica wooden sledges bound together with cord, Avery tells the story of how his team covered 413 nautical miles to the North Pole in thirty-six days and twenty-two hours—some four hours faster than Peary. Weaving fascinating polar exploration history with thrilling extreme adventure, this is Avery’s story of how he and his team nearly gave their lives proving Peary told the truth.

Hardcover:

9780312551865 | St Martins Pr, March 17, 2009, cover price $26.95 | About this edition: April 2009 is the one-hundredth anniversary of perhaps the greatest controversy in the history of exploration.

Paperback:

9780312625887 | Griffin, May 11, 2010, cover price $15.99

cover image for 9780972744416
Product Description: Tennis Instruction

Paperback:

9780972744416 | Le Comte Pub, August 30, 2004, cover price $14.95 | About this edition: Tennis Instruction

cover image for 9780932212016
Product Description: Book by Avery, Tom

Paperback:

9780932212016 | 6th edition (Copper World, December 1, 1970), cover price $11.95 | About this edition: Book by Avery, Tom

displaying 1 to 8 | at end