search for books and compare prices
cover image
Not As We Know It
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Library
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Schwartz & Wade Books
Publication date August 23, 2016
Pages 176
Binding Hardcover
Book category Juvenile Fiction
ISBN-13 9780553535099
ISBN-10 0553535099
Dimensions 0 by 5.50 by 8.25 in.
Original list price $16.99
Other format details juvenile
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description: For fans of David Almond’s Skellig and Patrick Ness’s A Monster Calls, here is a lyrical, atmospheric, and deeply emotional middle-grade novel with a touch of magical realism.
 
Twins Jamie and Ned do everything together, from watching their favorite show, Star Trek, to riding their bikes, to beachcombing after a storm. But Ned is sick with cystic fibrosis, and he may someday leave Jamie behind. One day the boys find a strange animal on the beach: smooth flesh on one end, scales at the other, and short arms and legs with long webbed fingers and toes. Could it be a merman, like in the old stories Granddad tells?
 
Together, the boys name the creature Leonard and decide to hide him in a tub in their garage. But . . . why is Leonard here? Jamie hopes he might bring some miracle that will stop his brother from going where he can no longer follow. But Ned, who grows closer to Leonard every day, doesn’t seem to be getting any better. . . .

"An elegant story of courage and loss." —The Wall Street Journal

"A heartrending but ultimately uplifting adventure novel." —School Library Journal, Starred

"A hauntingly beautiful story about brotherly bonds, wrenching grief, and the untethered hope that everything will somehow work out." —Publishers Weekly, Starred

"Captivating." —Shelf Awareness, Starred

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780553535099
 
The price comparison is for this edition
from Schwartz & Wade Books (August 23, 2016)
9780553535099 | details & prices | 176 pages | List price $16.99
About: For fans of David Almond’s Skellig and Patrick Ness’s A Monster Calls, here is a lyrical, atmospheric, and deeply emotional middle-grade novel with a touch of magical realism.
Library
Book cover for 9780553535105
 
from Schwartz & Wade Books (August 23, 2016)
9780553535105 | details & prices | 176 pages | List price $19.99
About: For fans of David Almond’s Skellig and Patrick Ness’s A Monster Calls, here is a lyrical, atmospheric, and deeply emotional middle-grade novel with a touch of magical realism.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.