search for books and compare prices
cover image
Cry Father
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Simon & Schuster
Publication date September 16, 2014
Pages 306
Binding Hardcover
Book category Adult Fiction
ISBN-13 9781476734354
ISBN-10 1476734356
Dimensions 1.25 by 6.50 by 9.50 in.
Weight 1.06 lbs.
Original list price $25.00
Amazon.com says people who bought this book also bought:
Frank Sinatra in a Blender | A Swollen Red Sun | Pike | Love and Other Wounds | Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description: The second novel from the critically acclaimed writer of Pike, which was nominated for France’s prestigious Grand Prix de Littérature Policière crime fiction award and “easily rivals Larry Brown’s most renowned novels” (Spinetingler Magazine). In the tradition of Cormac McCarthy and Larry Brown comes a haunting story about men, their fathers, their sons, and the legacy of violence.

For Patterson Wells, disaster is the norm. Working alongside dangerous, desperate, itinerant men as a tree clearer in disaster zones, he's still dealing with the loss of his young son. Writing letters to the boy offers some solace. The bottle gives more.

Upon a return trip to Colorado, Patterson stops to go fishing with an old acquaintance, only to find him in a meth-induced delirium and keeping a woman tied up in the bathtub. In the ensuing chain of events, which will test not only his future but his past, Patterson tries to do the right thing. Still, in the lives of those he knows, violence and justice have made of each other strange, intoxicating bedfellows.

Hailed as “the next great American writer” (Frank Bill, author of Crimes in Southern Indiana), Benjamin Whitmer has crafted a literary triumph that is by turns harrowing, darkly comic, and wise.

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9781476734354
 
The price comparison is for this edition
from Simon & Schuster (September 16, 2014)
9781476734354 | details & prices | 306 pages | 6.50 × 9.50 × 1.25 in. | 1.06 lbs | List price $25.00
About: The second novel from the critically acclaimed writer of Pike, which was nominated for France’s prestigious Grand Prix de Littérature Policière crime fiction award and “easily rivals Larry Brown’s most renowned novels” (Spinetingler Magazine).
Paperback
Book cover for 9781476734361
 
Reprint edition from Simon & Schuster (May 12, 2015)
9781476734361 | details & prices | 306 pages | 5.25 × 8.50 × 0.75 in. | 0.58 lbs | List price $16.00

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.