search for books and compare prices
Benjamin Whitmer has written 3 work(s)
Search for other authors with the same name
displaying 1 to 3 | at end
show results in order: alphabetically | oldest to newest | newest to oldest
Cover for 9781476734354 Cover for 9781476734361 Cover for 9780062069030 Cover for 9780062069047 Cover for 9781604860894
cover image for 9781476734361
The second novel from the critically acclaimed writer of Pike, which was nominated for France’s prestigious Grand Prix de Littérature Policière crime fiction award and “easily rivals Larry Brown’s most renowned novels” (Spinetingler Magazine). In the tradition of Cormac McCarthy and Larry Brown comes a haunting story about men, their fathers, their sons, and the legacy of violence.For Patterson Wells, disaster is the norm. Working alongside dangerous, desperate, itinerant men as a tree clearer in disaster zones, he's still dealing with the loss of his young son. Writing letters to the boy offers some solace. The bottle gives more. Upon a return trip to Colorado, Patterson stops to go fishing with an old acquaintance, only to find him in a meth-induced delirium and keeping a woman tied up in the bathtub. In the ensuing chain of events, which will test not only his future but his past, Patterson tries to do the right thing. Still, in the lives of those he knows, violence and justice have made of each other strange, intoxicating bedfellows. Hailed as “the next great American writer” (Frank Bill, author of Crimes in Southern Indiana), Benjamin Whitmer has crafted a literary triumph that is by turns harrowing, darkly comic, and wise.

Hardcover:

9781476734354 | Simon & Schuster, September 16, 2014, cover price $25.00 | About this edition: The second novel from the critically acclaimed writer of Pike, which was nominated for France’s prestigious Grand Prix de Littérature Policière crime fiction award and “easily rivals Larry Brown’s most renowned novels” (Spinetingler Magazine).

Paperback:

9781476734361 | Reprint edition (Simon & Schuster, May 12, 2015), cover price $16.00

cover image for 9780062069047
Product Description: Get ready for one of America’s great untold stories: the true saga of the Louvin Brothers, a mid-century Southern gothic Cain and Abel and one of the greatest country duos of all time. The Los Angeles Times called them “the most influential harmony team in the history of country music,” but Emmylou Harris may have hit closer to the heart of the matter, saying “there was something scary and washed in the blood about the sound of the Louvin Brothers...read more

Hardcover:

9780062069030 | Harpercollins, January 3, 2012, cover price $22.99 | About this edition: Get ready for one of America’s great untold stories: the true saga of the Louvin Brothers, a mid-century Southern gothic Cain and Abel and one of the greatest country duos of all time.

Paperback:

9780062069047 | Harpercollins, January 2, 2013, cover price $14.99 | About this edition: Get ready for one of America’s great untold stories: the true saga of the Louvin Brothers, a mid-century Southern gothic Cain and Abel and one of the greatest country duos of all time.

cover image for 9781604860894
Product Description: Douglas Pike is no longer the murderous hustler he was in his youth, but reforming hasn't made him much kinder. He's just living out his life in his Appalachian hometown, working odd jobs with his partner, Rory, hemming in his demons the best he can...read more

Paperback:

9781604860894 | Independent Pub Group, August 30, 2010, cover price $15.95 | About this edition: Douglas Pike is no longer the murderous hustler he was in his youth, but reforming hasn't made him much kinder.

Miscellaneous:

9781604864366 | Independent Pub Group, July 1, 2010, cover price $12.00

displaying 1 to 3 | at end