search for books and compare prices
cover image
Situated Learning: Legitimate Peripheral Participation
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for Situated Learning: Legitimate Peripheral Participation: Hardcover | Paperback
Jump down to see edition details for Brooke's Not-so-perfect Plan: Hardcover | Paperback
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Cambridge Univ Pr
Publication date November 1, 1991
Binding Hardcover
Book category Adult Non-Fiction
ISBN-13 9780521413084
ISBN-10 0521413087
Dimensions 1 by 6.50 by 9.75 in.
Weight 0.80 lbs.
Original list price $64.99
Other format details university press
Amazon.com says people who bought this book also bought:
Communities of Practice
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description: In this important theoretical treatise, Jean Lave, anthropologist, and Etienne Wenger, computer scientist, push forward the notion of situated learning--that learning is fundamentally a social process and not solely in the learner's head. The authors maintain that learning viewed as situated activity has as its central defining characteristic a process they call legitimate peripheral participation. Learners participate in communities of practitioners, moving toward full participation in the sociocultural practices of a community. Legitimate peripheral participation provides a way to speak about crucial relations between newcomers and oldtimers and about their activities, identities, artifacts, knowledge and practice. The communities discussed in the book are midwives, tailors, quartermasters, butchers, and recovering alcoholics, however, the process by which participants in those communities learn can be generalized to other social groups.

Editions
This edition contains multiple works--typically stories or entire novels--that are found in different collections. Below find each work in this edition grouped by how you can find each.
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780521413084
 
The price comparison is for this edition
With Jo Whittemore | from Cambridge Univ Pr (November 1, 1991)
9780521413084 | details & prices | 6.50 × 9.75 × 1.00 in. | 0.80 lbs | List price $64.99
This edition also contains Brooke's Not-so-perfect Plan
About: In this important theoretical treatise, Jean Lave, anthropologist, and Etienne Wenger, computer scientist, push forward the notion of situated learning--that learning is fundamentally a social process and not solely in the learner's head.
Paperback
Book cover for 9780521423748
 
from Cambridge Univ Pr (November 1, 1991)
9780521423748 | details & prices | 6.50 × 9.25 × 0.75 in. | 0.50 lbs | List price $39.99
About: In this important theoretical treatise, Jean Lave, anthropologist, and Etienne Wenger, computer scientist, push forward the notion of situated learning--that learning is fundamentally a social process and not solely in the learner's head.
Editions for the work Brooke's Not-so-perfect Plan
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780521413084
 
The price comparison is for this edition
With Jean Lave, Etienne Wenger | from Cambridge Univ Pr (November 1, 1991); titled "Situated Learning: Legitimate Peripheral Participation"
9780521413084 | details & prices | 6.50 × 9.75 × 1.00 in. | 0.80 lbs | List price $64.99
This edition also contains Situated Learning: Legitimate Peripheral Participation
About: In this important theoretical treatise, Jean Lave, anthropologist, and Etienne Wenger, computer scientist, push forward the notion of situated learning--that learning is fundamentally a social process and not solely in the learner's head.
Paperback
Book cover for 9780062358936
 
from Harpercollins Childrens Books (January 5, 2016)
9780062358936 | details & prices | 286 pages | 5.00 × 7.50 × 0.50 in. | Rec. grade levels 4-6 | 0.45 lbs | List price $6.99
About: Perfect for fans of The Cupcake Diaries and The Baby-Sitters Club, this new series is about four best friends who are confidentially yours when writing their middle school newspaper's advice column.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.