search for books and compare prices
Toby Forward has written 21 work(s)
Search for other authors with the same name
displaying 1 to 21 | at end
show results in order: alphabetically | oldest to newest | newest to oldest
Cover for 9781619638426 Cover for 9781681192772 Cover for 9780373196500 Cover for 9781599908892 Cover for 9781619634398 Cover for 9781599907246 Cover for 9781406320435 Cover for 9781599909837 Cover for 9781406320442 Cover for 9781406309942 Cover for 9780754060031 Cover for 9781842702932 Cover for 9781842709610 Cover for 9780763627850 Cover for 9780763626945 Cover for 9780099451556 Cover for 9781842705834 Cover for 9780552546218 Cover for 9780688158569 Cover for 9780745173597 Cover for 9780745148175 Cover for 9780140378757 Cover for 9780688130763 Cover for 9780382098505 Cover for 9780671699925
cover image for 9781681192772
When diabolical wizard Ash escapes from her prison, the fate of the world falls to wizard apprentices Sam and Tamrin. But old magic is fading fast, and even with their faithful dragon Starback by their side, they may not be able to stop Ash before she razes their home.Sam and Tamrin find an unexpected ally in Tadpole. Tadpole isn't a wizard or even a hero, and he only ventured aboveground to see the stars. But fate has other plans for him. Tadpole must find the courage to fight Ash, or all the magic in the world could disappear forever. The epic Dragonborn quartet concludes in this sweeping story that expertly combines classic fantasy sensibilities with fresh storytelling, and it is sure to appeal to fans of Angie Sage and Cressida Cowell.Awards for FirebornA Kirkus Best Book of the Year

Hardcover:

9781619638426 | Bloomsbury USA, February 9, 2016, cover price $16.99 | About this edition: When diabolical wizard Ash escapes from her prison, the fate of the world falls to wizard apprentices Sam and Tamrin.

Paperback:

9781681192772 | Bloomsbury USA, February 28, 2017, cover price $8.99

Paperback:

9781619639218 | Reprint edition (Bloomsbury USA, February 9, 2016), cover price $8.99
9780373196500, titled "The Tycoon's Double Trouble" | Harlequin Books, March 1, 2003, cover price $3.99 | also contains The Tycoon''s Double Trouble

Hardcover:

9781619635289 | Bloomsbury USA, February 3, 2015, cover price $16.99

cover image for 9781619634398
Product Description: Cabbage is an apprentice wizard, and it is harvest time, when wizards travel to make the harvest safe. But when Cabbage and his master, Flaxfield, try to work the harvest spells, they encounter magic that turns the field to flames...read more

Hardcover:

9781599908892 | Bloomsbury USA, December 3, 2013, cover price $16.99 | About this edition: If magic sets the world on fire, something new is born from the flames.

Paperback:

9781619634398 | Reprint edition (Bloomsbury USA, January 6, 2015), cover price $8.99 | About this edition: Cabbage is an apprentice wizard, and it is harvest time, when wizards travel to make the harvest safe.

cover image for 9781599909837

Hardcover:

9781599907246 | Bloomsbury USA, April 24, 2012, cover price $16.99

Paperback:

9781599909837 | Reprint edition (Bloomsbury USA, March 5, 2013), cover price $8.99
9781406320435 | Gardners Books, January 3, 2011, cover price $10.90

cover image for 9781406320442
Product Description: This is the second title in Toby Forward's "Flaxfield" quartet. When an old, dying wizard steals magic from his young apprentice, Bee, he changes his own life and nearly destroys hers. But he also releases Wild Magic into the world...read more

Paperback:

9781406320442 | Gardners Books, July 7, 2011, cover price $10.90 | About this edition: This is the second title in Toby Forward's "Flaxfield" quartet.

cover image for 9781406309942
Product Description: A magnificent pop-up model of the Colosseum brings to life a day at the Roman games and the lives of the gladiators. This amazing novelty book will provide any budding young historian with the perfect introduction to the Roman games...read more

Hardcover:

9781406309942 | Gardners Books, October 5, 2009, cover price $27.40 | About this edition: A magnificent pop-up model of the Colosseum brings to life a day at the Roman games and the lives of the gladiators.

cover image for 9781842709610
Product Description: Lizzie is upset. Her grandfather is very ill and she realizes that he will soon die. She begs her friend Mrs. May to give her something to make him better. Mrs. May gives her a potion with the warning that Grandfather must not drink too much...read more

Hardcover:

9780754060031 | Large print edition (Galaxy, December 1, 1997), cover price $16.95 | About this edition: Fanny's grandpa is dying.

Paperback:

9781842709610 | Andersen Pr Ltd, July 2, 2009, cover price $8.99 | About this edition: Lizzie is upset.
9781842702932 | Andersen Pr Ltd, October 1, 2004, cover price $9.99 | About this edition: To prevent Fanny's grandfather from dying, Mrs.

cover image for 9780763627850
Feeling that all the facts have not been clearly presented, the Wolf from the classic tale of 'Little Red Riding Hood' tells his version of events the day a little girl interrupted his happy life when he was doing nothing but working diligently at the house of a kind, old lady.
By Izhar Cohen (illustrator) and Toby Forward

School and Library:

9780763627850 | Candlewick Pr, October 11, 2005, cover price $17.99 | About this edition: The wolf tells the story of Little Red Riding Hood from his point of view, protesting that he was merely trying to help Grandma, not eat her.

cover image for 9780763626945
In the present tense, tells of the times during which the Globe Theatre was built and gives its history; includes a pop-up theater, punch-out characters to use in it, and two booklets of scenes from Shakespeare's plays.
By Toby Forward and Juan Wijngaard (illustrator)

Hardcover:

9780763626945 | Ina pop edition (Candlewick Pr, May 10, 2005), cover price $19.99 | About this edition: In the present tense, tells of the times during which the Globe Theatre was built and gives its history; includes a pop-up theater, punch-out characters to use in it, and two booklets of scenes from Shakespeare's plays.

Soft, lively watercolor illustrations tell the tale of a child's first day of school paralleled with his working mother's own thoughts during her day at work.
By Toby Forward (foreword by) and Carol Thompson (illustrator)

Hardcover:

9780618495863 | Clarion Books, August 23, 2004, cover price $15.00 | About this edition: A child describes the events of the first day of school, from making sandwiches for lunch to holding a parent's hand on the walk home.

cover image for 9781842705834
Ben is a wealthy mouse who is not interested in Christmas, or the gift that Tim, a poor mouse, brings him on Christmas Eve. That night, Ben cannot sleep and a stranger appears who takes him on a quest to find three people who agree with Ben. By morning, Ben, like Scrooge, has learnt the true meaning of Christmas.
By Ruth Brown (illustrator) and Toby Forward

Paperback:

9781842705834 | Andersen Pr Ltd, September 1, 2007, cover price $13.95 | About this edition: Ben is a wealthy mouse who is not interested in Christmas, or the gift that Tim, a poor mouse, brings him on Christmas Eve.
9780099451556 | New edition (Gardners Books, November 6, 2003), cover price $9.85 | About this edition: Ben doesn't care about Christmas and thinks there's nothing better in the world than a candied plum.

cover image for 9780552546218
Product Description: "I have never gone to sea in a pirate ship, or joined the circus, or fought with a dragon". This picture book about the power of one small boy's imagination is a mix of fantasy and reality.

Paperback:

9780552546218 | Corgi, August 1, 2001, cover price $9.99 | About this edition: "I have never gone to sea in a pirate ship, or joined the circus, or fought with a dragon".

Bertie thinks that other kids will like him if he loses weight and so he drinks a special remedy which causes weightlessness, but getting thin requires other measures

Hardcover:

9780688145118 | Tambourine, June 1, 1996, cover price $15.00 | About this edition: Bertie thinks that other kids will like him if he loses weight and so he drinks a special remedy which causes weightlessness, but getting thin requires other measures

Paperback:

9780688158569 | Beech Tree Books, April 1, 1998, cover price $4.95 | About this edition: Bertie thinks that other kids will like him if he loses weight and so he drinks a special remedy which causes weightlessness, but getting thin requires other measures

Prebinding:

9780613085427 | Turtleback Books, October 1, 1999, cover price $12.95 | About this edition: Bertie thinks that other kids will like him if he loses weight and so he drinks a special remedy which causes weightlessness, but getting thin requires other measures

cover image for 9780745173597
Product Description: The first fantasy novel of a quartet by the author of "Dead Young", "Down the Road Worlds Away", "Neverland", "The Book of Lies", "The Toad Lady" and "Travelling Backwards".
By Toby Forward and Frances Tomelty (narrator)

Cassette/Spoken Word:

9780745173597 | Unabridged edition (Chivers Audio Books, September 1, 1997), cover price $18.95 | About this edition: The first fantasy novel of a quartet by the author of "Dead Young", "Down the Road Worlds Away", "Neverland", "The Book of Lies", "The Toad Lady" and "Travelling Backwards".

cover image for 9780745148175

Hardcover:

9780745148175 | Large print edition (Galaxy, September 1, 1997), cover price $16.95

A mouse's version of the classic holiday tale by Dickens follows the story of the miserly Ben, who hates Christmas and avoids his less-fortunate neighbor, until a ghostly midnight tour, mouse-style, convinces him to relinquish his mean ways.
By Ruth Brown (illustrator) and Toby Forward

Hardcover:

9780525455936 | Dutton Childrens Books, October 1, 1996, cover price $15.99 | About this edition: A greedy mouse learns about sharing on Christmas Eve

cover image for 9780140378757
Mrs. May prepares a potion for Fanny's dying grandfather which makes him young
By Laura Cornell (illustrator) and Toby Forward

Paperback:

9780140378757 | Reprint edition (Puffin, May 1, 1996), cover price $3.99 | About this edition: Mrs.

Reinforced:

9780606099875 | Demco Media, May 1, 1996, cover price $10.00 | About this edition: Mrs.

cover image for 9780688130763
Desperate to save her dying grandfather, Fanny finds out that her friend, Mrs. May, who is much older than she seems, possesses a revitalizing potion that is very effective, but that can be dangerous if overused.
By Laura Cornell (illustrator) and Toby Forward

Hardcover:

9780688130763 | Tambourine, August 1, 1994, cover price $15.00 | About this edition: Mrs.

cover image for 9780382098505
Retells the life of Christ in very simple language and then presents more detailed retellings of the same stories.
By Francois Brossier, Toby Forward (foreword by) and Letizia Galli (illustrator)

Library:

9780382098505 | Silver Burdett Pr, September 1, 1989, cover price $13.95 | About this edition: Provides simple scenes from the New Testament including stories about Jesus and his life, his ministry, the Last Supper and his Resurrection

cover image for 9780671699925
Product Description: After controversy over using the pseudonym Rahila Khan, Toby Forward presents a collection of short stories about Asian girls and white boys. Many of these stories were first broadcast on BBC Radio 4's Morning Story. His first novel was "Dead Young".

Paperback:

9780671699925 | Simon & Schuster, June 1, 1989, cover price $5.98 | About this edition: After controversy over using the pseudonym Rahila Khan, Toby Forward presents a collection of short stories about Asian girls and white boys.

displaying 1 to 21 | at end