search for books and compare prices
Peter Ho Davies has written 6 work(s)
Search for other authors with the same name
displaying 1 to 6 | at end
show results in order: alphabetically | oldest to newest | newest to oldest
Cover for 9780544263703 Cover for 9781531824365 Cover for 9781531824389 Cover for 9780340938256 Cover for 9780618007004 Cover for 9780618918522 Cover for 9781862074026 Cover for 9780618006991 Cover for 9780395786291 Cover for 9780395924808
Product Description: From the bestselling, acclaimed author of The Welsh Girl comes a groundbreaking, provocative new novel recasting American history through the lives of Chinese Americans.Sly, funny, intelligent, and artfully structured, The Fortunes recasts American history through the lives of Chinese Americans and reimagines the multigenerational novel through the fractures of immigrant family experience...read more

CD/Spoken Word:

9781531824372 | Unabridged edition (Brilliance Audio Lib Edn, September 6, 2016), cover price $59.97 | About this edition: From the bestselling, acclaimed author of The Welsh Girl comes a groundbreaking, provocative new novel recasting American history through the lives of Chinese Americans.

cover image for 9781531824365
Product Description: From the bestselling, acclaimed author of The Welsh Girl comes a groundbreaking, provocative new novel recasting American history through the lives of Chinese Americans.Sly, funny, intelligent, and artfully structured, The Fortunes recasts American history through the lives of Chinese Americans and reimagines the multigenerational novel through the fractures of immigrant family experience...read more

Hardcover:

9780544263703 | Houghton Mifflin, September 6, 2016, cover price $27.00 | About this edition: Winner of the Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards A New York Times Notable Book  From the author of The Welsh Girl comes a groundbreaking, provocative new novel.

CD/Spoken Word:

9781531824389 | Mp3 una edition (Brilliance Audio, September 6, 2016), cover price $26.99 | About this edition: From the bestselling, acclaimed author of The Welsh Girl comes a groundbreaking, provocative new novel recasting American history through the lives of Chinese Americans.
9781531824365 | Unabridged edition (Brilliance Audio, September 6, 2016), cover price $29.99 | About this edition: From the bestselling, acclaimed author of The Welsh Girl comes a groundbreaking, provocative new novel recasting American history through the lives of Chinese Americans.

cover image for 9780618918522
At the height of World War II, an unexpected and forbidden romance blossoms between seventeen-year-old Esther Evans, the daughter of a Welsh shepherd, who works in a local pub, and Karsten Simmering, a troubled young German soldier at a nearby POW camp, who questions what he has been fighting for. A first novel by the author of Equal Love. Reprint.

Hardcover:

9780340938256 | Hodder & Stoughton, May 3, 2007, cover price $23.20 | About this edition: The eagerly awaited first novel from one of 'Granta''s Best of Young British Novelists 2003, a dramatic tour de force in the tradition of ATONEMENT and THE ENGLISH PATIENT
9780618007004 | Houghton Mifflin, February 12, 2007, cover price $24.00 | About this edition: At the height of World War II, a forbidden romance blossoms between seventeen-year-old Esther Evans, the daughter of a Welsh shepherd, and Karsten Simmering, a troubled young German POW, who questions what he has been fighting for.

Paperback:

9780618918522 | Reprint edition (Mariner Books, January 14, 2008), cover price $13.95 | About this edition: At the height of World War II, an unexpected and forbidden romance blossoms between seventeen-year-old Esther Evans, the daughter of a Welsh shepherd, who works in a local pub, and Karsten Simmering, a troubled young German soldier at a nearby POW camp, who questions what he has been fighting for.
9780130137364, titled "Developing Java 2 Enterprise Architectures" | Prentice Hall Ptr, March 1, 2000, cover price $44.99 | also contains Developing Java 2 Enterprise Architectures

Miscellaneous:

9780547524900 | Houghton Mifflin, January 14, 2008, cover price $13.95

cover image for 9781862074026
These stories range across a series of backgrounds- from a Chinese son gambling with professional mourners to a couple who experience a close encounter with an alien. The characters share an instantly recognisable sense of displacement - these are children of one century, adults of the next.

Paperback:

9781862074026 | New edition (Granta Books, January 30, 2001), cover price $12.55 | About this edition: These stories range across a series of backgrounds- from a Chinese son gambling with professional mourners to a couple who experience a close encounter with an alien.

cover image for 9780618006991
A collection of short stories examines the imbalance of love between parents and children and the changing roles of the generations. (view table of contents)

Paperback:

9780618006991 | Mariner Books, February 17, 2000, cover price $13.95 | About this edition: A collection of short stories examines the imbalance of love between parents and children and the changing roles of the generations.

cover image for 9780395924808
Product Description: Peter Ho Davies is a young writer of unusually worldly perspective. Born in Britain to Welsh and Chinese parents, he writes stories that not only reflect his multinational heritage, but delight in odd juxtapositions. In tales that travel from Coventry to Kuala Lumpur, from the past to the present, and from hilarity to tragedy, American bandits herd ostriches in Patagonia, British soldiers confront Zulus in Natal, and John Wayne leads the way for local revolutionaries in Southeast Asia...read more

Hardcover:

9780395786291 | Houghton Mifflin, September 1, 1997, cover price $20.00 | About this edition: A British writer presents a collection of short stories--two of which have appeared in the annual anthology The Best American Short Stories--that span the globe and mix the fantastic and the ordinary, and politics and humor.

Paperback:

9780395924808 | Mariner Books, November 4, 1998, cover price $15.95 | About this edition: Peter Ho Davies is a young writer of unusually worldly perspective.

displaying 1 to 6 | at end