search for books and compare prices
cover image
Second Hand Heart
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Paperback
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Createspace Independent Pub
Publication date August 1, 2011
Pages 420
Binding Paperback
Book category Adult Fiction
ISBN-13 9781463630775
ISBN-10 1463630778
Availability§ Apply Direct
Original list price $14.99
§As reported by publisher
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description: "A fascinating premise and a lovely book. Highly recommended." -Chicklittings

"Heartwarming and Heartbreaking...Plan to read Second Hand Heart when you're ready to stay awake all night (with a box of Kleenex) - you'll want to read it straight through to the end." -Catherine Gallegos, reader review

"A compelling, thoughtful read." -Choice Magazine

"A first-rate read! ... Second Hand Heart is a great book about surviving despite the odds..." -Leah Graham, Chick Lit Reviews and News


Can a heart remember the people it once loved?

By Catherine Ryan Hyde, the bestselling author of PAY IT FORWARD and 18 published and forthcoming books, SECOND HAND HEART is a warm and wonderful novel of love, unexpected chances, and inconceivable loss--of learning to live for the first time, and learning to live all over again.

Vida is 19 and has a life-threatening heart condition. Richard is 36 and has just lost his beloved wife in a car accident. When Richard is invited to the hospital to meet the young woman who received his wife's donor heart, Vida takes one look at him and feels she's loved him all her life. Is Vida just a sheltered and confused young woman? Or is there truth behind the theory of cellular memory? Can a heart remember, at least for a time, on its own?

An unusual and surprising love story, SECOND HAND HEART is a compelling page-turner that will appeal to fans of Jodi Picoult and Nicholas Sparks, and to anyone who has ever been curious about the limits of love and death.


"Everything about this book is unexpected. You think you're in for one thing, but you get quite another. The characters don't behave the way I thought they would, the story unfolds in a landscape utterly different to where it begins and instead of being pleasantly entertained by a sweet story...I found a moving lesson about living as oppose to just existing." -Catherine, Caffeinated

"A Compelling Novel From A Wonderful Writer... If you haven't read any of her novels, then WHAT ARE YOU DOING WITH YOUR TIME??? You're missing out on a lot and I highly suggest you hurry and pick one up. And why not start with her latest, Second Hand Heart?" -Brent Taylor, reader review

Editions
Paperback
Book cover for 9781463630775
 
The price comparison is for this edition
from Createspace Independent Pub (August 1, 2011)
9781463630775 | details & prices | 420 pages | List price $14.99
About: "A fascinating premise and a lovely book.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.