search for books and compare prices
cover image
Purgatory Chasm
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Paperback
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Minotaur Books
Publication date April 24, 2012
Pages 292
Binding Paperback
Edition Reprint
Book category Adult Fiction
ISBN-13 9781250007025
ISBN-10 125000702X
Dimensions 1 by 5.50 by 8.25 in.
Weight 0.56 lbs.
Availability§ Publisher Out of Stock Indefinitely
Original list price $19.99
§As reported by publisher
Amazon.com says people who bought this book also bought:
The Fence-Walker
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description:

*Nominated for the Edgar Award for Best First Novel

*Winner of the Reviewer's Choice Award from RT BookReviews for Best First Mystery of 2011

"Tander Phigg was a real jerk, but he was also a Barnburner. Barnburners saved my life. I help them when I can. No exceptions."

"A refreshing new character solving hardcore crimes…. crisp plotting, hard-boiled style and realistic dialogue." ―Associated Press

"Combines elements of the thriller with tales of tangled families. Violence runs through the novel, but Ulfelder tempers it with compassion ― and evocative prose. Purgatory Chasm may be hardboiled, but it's heart-wrenching, too." –Richmond Times-Dispatch

"Working throughout is the edgy, self-effacing voice of a flawed main character, a good guy with plenty of baggage who's just trying stay alive and to get it right this time." –The Boston Globe

The job seems simple. Conway Sax, a no-nonsense auto mechanic with a knack for solving difficult problems, has never liked Tander Phigg. But Tander's a Barnburner, a member of the unique AA group that rescued Conway, and when a Barnburner has a problem, Conway takes care of it. Besides, all Tander wants is to get back his vintage Mercedes from a shady auto shop. But Conway soon discovers there's much more to the problem–especially when Tander turns up dead. Conway was the last person seen with the victim, and on top of that, he has a record. He must catch the killer to clear himself, but he's also a man who honors his promises, even when the guy he made them to is dead. In the tradition of Robert B. Parker and Dennis Lehane, Steve Ulfelder's crackling debut mystery features a gritty, razor-sharp new voice in crime fiction that will stay with you long after the last page.



Editions
Paperback
Book cover for 9781250007025
 
The price comparison is for this edition
Reprint edition from Minotaur Books (April 24, 2012)
9781250007025 | details & prices | 292 pages | 5.50 × 8.25 × 1.00 in. | 0.56 lbs | List price $19.99
About: *Nominated for the Edgar Award for Best First Novel*Winner of the Reviewer's Choice Award from RT BookReviews for Best First Mystery of 2011"Tander Phigg was a real jerk, but he was also a Barnburner.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.