search for books and compare prices
cover image
The Perfect Mile: Three Athletes, One Goal, And Less Than Four Minutes To Achieve It
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback | Miscellaneous
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Mariner Books
Publication date April 6, 2005
Pages 322
Binding Paperback
Edition Reprint
Book category Adult Non-Fiction
ISBN-13 9780618562091
ISBN-10 0618562095
Dimensions 1 by 5.50 by 8 in.
Weight 0.74 lbs.
Original list price $14.95
Summaries and Reviews
Summary
A stirring account of athleticism in the face of adversity follows the remarkable journey of three young men--John Landy, Wes Santee, and Roger Bannister--who suffered defeat at the Helsinki Olympics in 1952 but nevertheless vowed to break the four-minute mile, training tirelessly to accomplish their goal. Reprint. 50,000 first printing.
Amazon.com description: Product Description:
There was a time when running the mile in four minutes was believed to be beyond the limits of human foot speed, and in all of sport it was the elusive holy grail. In 1952, after suffering defeat at the Helsinki Olympics, three world-class runners each set out to break this barrier. Roger Bannister was a young English medical student who epitomized the ideal of the amateur — still driven not just by winning but by the nobility of the pursuit. John Landy was the privileged son of a genteel Australian family, who as a boy preferred butterfly collecting to running but who trained relentlessly in an almost spiritual attempt to shape his body to this singular task. Then there was Wes Santee, the swaggering American, a Kansas farm boy and natural athlete who believed he was just plain better than everybody else.

Spanning three continents and defying the odds, their collective quest captivated the world and stole headlines from the Korean War, the atomic race, and such legendary figures as Edmund Hillary, Willie Mays, Native Dancer, and Ben Hogan. In the tradition of Seabiscuit and Chariots of Fire, Neal Bascomb delivers a breathtaking story of unlikely heroes and leaves us with a lasting portrait of the twilight years of the golden age of sport.


Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780618391127 Book cover for 9780786265411
 
Large print edition from Thorndike Pr (June 30, 2004)
9780786265411 | details & prices | 652 pages | 5.75 × 8.50 × 1.25 in. | 1.75 lbs | List price $30.95
About: Movie rights optioned by Universal, Spyglass, and Kennedy-Marshall There was a time when running the mile in four minutes was believed to be beyond the limits of humans.
from Houghton Mifflin (April 1, 2004)
9780618391127 | details & prices | 288 pages | 6.25 × 9.25 × 1.25 in. | 1.40 lbs | List price $24.00
About: Follows the journey of three young men--John Landy, Wes Santee, and Roger Bannister--who suffered defeat at the Helsinki Olympics in 1952 but nevertheless vowed to break the four-minute mile, training tirelessly to accomplish their goal.
Paperback
Book cover for 9780618562091
 
The price comparison is for this edition
Reprint edition from Mariner Books (April 6, 2005)
9780618562091 | details & prices | 322 pages | 5.50 × 8.00 × 1.00 in. | 0.74 lbs | List price $14.95
About: A stirring account of athleticism in the face of adversity follows the remarkable journey of three young men--John Landy, Wes Santee, and Roger Bannister--who suffered defeat at the Helsinki Olympics in 1952 but nevertheless vowed to break the four-minute mile, training tirelessly to accomplish their goal.
Miscellaneous
from Houghton Mifflin (April 6, 2005)
9780547525068 | details & prices | List price $14.95

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.