search for books and compare prices
cover image
The Archaic: The Past in the Present
By Paul Bishop (editor)
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Routledge
Publication date November 10, 2011
Pages 256
Binding Paperback
Book category Adult Non-Fiction
ISBN-13 9780415547567
ISBN-10 0415547563
Dimensions 0.75 by 6.50 by 9.50 in.
Published in Great Britain
Original list price $51.95
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description:

The Archaic takes as its major reference points C.G. Jung's classic essay, 'Archaic Man' (1930), and Ernesto Grassi's paper on 'Archaic Theories of History' (1990). Moving beyond the confines of a Jungian framework to include other methodological approaches, this book explores the concept of the archaic.

Defined as meaning 'old-fashioned', 'primitive', 'antiquated', the archaic is, in fact, much more than something very, very old: it is timeless, inasmuch as it is before time itself. Archē, Urgrund, Ungrund, 'primordial darkness', 'eternal nothing' are names for something essentially nameless, yet whose presence we nevertheless intuit.

This book focuses on the reception of myth in the tradition of German Idealism or Romanticism (Creuzer, Schelling, Nietzsche), which not only looked back to earlier thinkers (such as Jacob Boehme) but also laid down roots for developments in twentieth-century thought (Ludwig Klages, Martin Heidegger). The Archaic also includes:

  • studies of the Germanic dimension of the archaic (Charles Bambach, Alan Cardew)
  • a discussion of the mytho-phenomenological approach to the archaic (Robert Josef Kozljanič)
  • a series of articles on Jung's understanding of the archaic (Paul Bishop, Susan Rowland, Robert Segal).

This book will be of interest to psychoanalysts, anthropologists and phenomenologists, as well as students of psychology, cultural studies, religious studies, and philosophy, as it seeks to rehabilitate a concept of demonstrable and urgent relevance for our time.



Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780415547550
 
from Routledge (November 14, 2011)
9780415547550 | details & prices | 256 pages | 6.75 × 9.50 × 1.00 in. | 1.25 lbs | List price $150.00
About: The Archaic takes as its major reference points C.
Paperback
Book cover for 9780415547567
 
The price comparison is for this edition
from Routledge (November 10, 2011)
9780415547567 | details & prices | 256 pages | 6.50 × 9.50 × 0.75 in. | 0.95 lbs | List price $51.95
About: The Archaic takes as its major reference points C.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.