search for books and compare prices
cover image
Among the Ten Thousand Things
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback | CD/Spoken Word
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Random House Inc
Publication date July 7, 2015
Pages 322
Binding Hardcover
Book category Adult Fiction
ISBN-13 9780812995220
ISBN-10 0812995228
Dimensions 1.25 by 6 by 9 in.
Original list price $26.00
Amazon.com says people who bought this book also bought:
Sweetbitter | Eligible | The Rocks | Fates and Furies | Modern Lovers | The Girls | Maybe in Another Life
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description: NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE AND THE HUFFINGTON POST • For fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore, and Curtis Sittenfeld, Among the Ten Thousand Things is a dazzling first novel, a portrait of an American family on the cusp of irrevocable change, and a startlingly original story of love and time lost.

Jack Shanley is a well-known New York artist, charming and vain, who doesn’t mean to plunge his family into crisis. His wife, Deb, gladly left behind a difficult career as a dancer to raise the two children she adores. In the ensuing years, she has mostly avoided coming face-to-face with the weaknesses of the man she married. But then an anonymously sent package arrives in the mail: a cardboard box containing sheaves of printed emails chronicling Jack’s secret life. The package is addressed to Deb, but it’s delivered into the wrong hands: her children’s.

With this vertiginous opening begins a debut that is by turns funny, wise, and indescribably moving. As the Shanleys spin apart into separate orbits, leaving New York in an attempt to regain their bearings, fifteen-year-old Simon feels the allure of adult freedoms for the first time, while eleven-year-old Kay wanders precariously into a grown-up world she can’t possibly understand. Writing with extraordinary precision, humor, and beauty, Julia Pierpont has crafted a timeless, hugely enjoyable novel about the bonds of family life—their brittleness, and their resilience.

Praise for Among the Ten Thousand Things

“A luscious, smart summer novel . . . by a blazingly talented young author.”The New York Times Book Review
 
“This book is one of the funniest, and most emotionally honest, I’ve read in a long time.”—Jonathan Safran Foer
 
“Obsessively compelling . . . emotionally sophisticated . . . Among the Ten Thousand Things rises above [other novels] for its imagined structure, sentence-by-sentence punch, and pure humanity.”Vanity Fair
 
“Gripping . . . Pierpont brings this family of four to life in sharply observed detail. . . . An acute observer of social comedy, Ms. Pierpont has a keen eye for the absurd.”The Wall Street Journal
 
“Pierpont’s language is heart-stopping. . . . Between Pierpont’s literary finesse and her captivating characters, [Among the Ten Thousand Things] reads like a page-turner.”Entertainment Weekly (grade: A)
 
“A twisty, gripping story—that packs an emotional wallop.”O: The Oprah Magazine

“There are going to be as many ingenious twists and turns in this literary novel as there are in a top-notch work of suspense like Gone Girl.”—Maureen Corrigan, NPR’s Fresh Air

“Tender, delicately perceptive . . . Pierpont’s voice is wry and confident, and she is a fine anthropologist of New York life.”The Washington Post

“Pierpont displays a precocious gift for language and observation. . . . She captures the minutiae of loneliness that pushes us away from each other and sometimes brings us back.”San Francisco Chronicle

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780812995220 Book cover for 9781410486394
 
Large print edition from Thorndike Pr (March 16, 2016)
9781410486394 | details & prices | 409 pages | 4.00 × 6.00 × 1.00 in. | 1.12 lbs | List price $30.99
About: NATIONAL BESTSELLER For fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore, and Curtis Sittenfeld, "Among the Ten Thousand Things" is a dazzling first novel, a portrait of an American family on the cusp of irrevocable change, and a startlingly original story of love and time lost.
The price comparison is for this edition
from Random House Inc (July 7, 2015)
9780812995220 | details & prices | 322 pages | 6.00 × 9.00 × 1.25 in. | 0.95 lbs | List price $26.00
About: NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE AND THE HUFFINGTON POST • For fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore, and Curtis Sittenfeld, Among the Ten Thousand Things is a dazzling first novel, a portrait of an American family on the cusp of irrevocable change, and a startlingly original story of love and time lost.
Paperback
Book cover for 9780812985344
 
from Random House Inc (June 14, 2016)
9780812985344 | details & prices | 352 pages | List price $16.00
About: NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE AND THE HUFFINGTON POST • Features an exclusive conversation between Julia Pierpont and Lena DunhamFor fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore, and Curtis Sittenfeld, Among the Ten Thousand Things is a dazzling first novel, a portrait of an American family on the cusp of irrevocable change, and a startlingly original story of love and time lost.
With John Buckler, John P. McKay, Bennett D. Hill | 5th edition from Houghton Mifflin College Div (January 1, 1997); titled "A History of Western Society: From Antiquity to 1500"
9780395725085 | details & prices | 8.75 × 11.25 × 1.25 in. | 2.35 lbs | List price $49.96
This edition also contains A History of Western Society: From Antiquity to 1500
CD/Spoken Word
Book cover for 9781101912874
 
With Hillary Huber (other contributor) | Unabridged edition from Random House (July 7, 2015)
9781101912874 | details & prices | 5.25 × 6.00 × 1.00 in. | 0.55 lbs | List price $40.00
About: NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE AND THE HUFFINGTON POST • For fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore, and Curtis Sittenfeld, Among the Ten Thousand Things is a dazzling first novel, a portrait of an American family on the cusp of irrevocable change, and a startlingly original story of love and time lost.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.