search for books and compare prices
mayas antiquities fiction matches 8 work(s)
displaying 1 to 8 | at end
show results in order: alphabetically | oldest to newest | newest to oldest
Cover for 9780062324061 Cover for 9780373621651 Cover for 9780061629860 Cover for 9780061664397 Cover for 9780062128300 Cover for 9780812984675 Cover for 9780812984675 Cover for 9780449011591 Cover for 9780738715773 Cover for 9781589808720 Cover for 9780802720955 Cover for 9780802720849
cover image for 9780062324061

Hardcover:

9780062324061 | Harpercollins Childrens Books, June 23, 2015, cover price $14.99

cover image for 9780373621651
Product Description: At the bottom of a lake lies an ancient cache worth killing for… The note from her friend and colleague had read "I have quite the monster for you to chase, dear Annja." And then before she could speak to him, he'd been found dead in the hotel's stairwell...read more

Paperback:

9780373621651 | Gold Eagle, November 5, 2013, cover price $6.99 | About this edition: At the bottom of a lake lies an ancient cache worth killing for… The note from her friend and colleague had read "I have quite the monster for you to chase, dear Annja.

cover image for 9780061664397

Hardcover:

9780061629860 | William Morrow & Co, May 22, 2012, cover price $25.99

Paperback:

9780061664397 | Reprint edition (Avon Books, December 26, 2012), cover price $7.99
9780062128300 | Lgr edition (Harpercollins, May 22, 2012), cover price $25.99

cover image for 9780812984675

Hardcover:

9780385341400 | Dial Pr, August 7, 2012, cover price $27.00

Paperback:

9780812984675 | Random House, September 13, 2012, cover price $8.99 | also contains 12.21, 12.21, 12.21

cover image for 9780812984675
From the co-author of the two-million copy mega-bestseller The Rule of Four comes a riveting thriller with a brilliant premise based on the 2012 apocalypse phenomenon—perfect for readers of Steve Berry, Preston and Child, and Dan Brown.   For decades, December 21, 2012, has been a touchstone for doomsayers worldwide. It is the date, they claim, when the ancient Maya calendar predicts the world will end.   In Los Angeles, two weeks before, all is calm. Dr. Gabriel Stanton takes his usual morning bike ride, drops off the dog with his ex-wife, and heads to the lab where he studies incurable prion diseases for the CDC. His first phone call is from a hospital resident who has an urgent case she thinks he needs to see. Meanwhile, Chel Manu, a Guatemalan American researcher at the Getty Museum, is interrupted by a desperate, unwelcome visitor from the black market antiquities trade who thrusts a duffel bag into her hands.   By the end of the day, Stanton, the foremost expert on some of the rarest infections in the world, is grappling with a patient whose every symptom confounds and terrifies him. And Chel, the brightest young star in the field of Maya studies, has possession of an illegal artifact that has miraculously survived the centuries intact: a priceless codex from a lost city of her ancestors. This extraordinary record, written in secret by a royal scribe, seems to hold the answer to her life’s work and to one of history’s great riddles: why the Maya kingdoms vanished overnight. Suddenly it seems that our own civilization might suffer this same fate.   With only days remaining until December 21, 2012, Stanton and Chel must join forces before time runs out.   Advance praise for 12.21  “Dustin Thomason, M.D., will invariably be compared to Michael Crichton, M.D., and 12.21 will be favorably compared to The Andromeda Strain. Both authors have written first-rate medical thrillers, the kind of fact-based fiction that is very scary but also very entertaining. Thomason knows his stuff, and it shows on every page. I truly could not put this book down.”—Nelson DeMille“The most exciting novel of its kind since the days of Michael Crichton, 12.21 takes us from the frontiers of modern neuroscience to the riddles of ancient Maya texts, with nothing less than the future of our civilization at stake.”—Vince Flynn“A fast-moving tale . . . Thomason displays an impressive depth of knowledge of both science and the ancient Mayan way of life. Along the way, he skillfully ramps up the action, one notch at a time. A winning book.”—Kirkus Reviews“Fascinating, terrifying for its potential realism. I loved how tightly everything fit together. I had to keep reading.”—Taylor Stevens, New York Times bestselling author of The Informationist“Fast, suspenseful . . . Michael Crichton fans will find a lot to like.”—Publishers WeeklyFrom the Hardcover edition.

Paperback:

9780812984675 | Random House, September 13, 2012, cover price $8.99 | also contains 12.21, 12.21, 12.21

CD/Spoken Word:

9780449011591 | Unabridged edition (Random House, August 7, 2012), cover price $45.00 | About this edition: From the co-author of the two-million copy mega-bestseller The Rule of Four comes a riveting thriller with a brilliant premise based on the 2012 apocalypse phenomenon—perfect for readers of Steve Berry, Preston and Child, and Dan Brown.

cover image for 9780738715773
Product Description: Can Caity Mac Fireland end the devastating global reign of the Fraternitas and TRANSFORM THE WORLD (again)? After discovering that Uncle Li betrayed her and that the Fraternitas Regni Occulti burned down her family's house, Caity Mac Fireland hides away at a boarding school that allows her to travel around the globe...read more

Paperback:

9780738715773 | Flux, July 8, 2011, cover price $9.95 | About this edition: Can Caity Mac Fireland end the devastating global reign of the Fraternitas and TRANSFORM THE WORLD (again)?

cover image for 9781589808720
Product Description: The MacGregor family heads to the warm waters of Mexico and Central America in this latest installment in the series. When two of the kids are kidnapped by a thief, the family must come to the rescue.

Hardcover:

9781589808720 | Pelican Pub Co Inc, April 1, 2011, cover price $16.99 | About this edition: The MacGregor family heads to the warm waters of Mexico and Central America in this latest installment in the series.

cover image for 9780802720849
Product Description: Joshua's life was pretty average until his archaeologist father was reported dead in a plane crash. Josh's dad had been searching for the Mayan Codex, said to contain key information about the 2012 Mayan prophecy foretelling the end of the world...read more

Hardcover:

9780802720955 | Walker & Co, July 1, 2010, cover price $16.99 | About this edition: Joshua's life was pretty average until his archaeologist father was reported dead in a plane crash.

Paperback:

9780802720849 | Walker & Co, July 1, 2010, cover price $9.99 | About this edition: Joshua's life was pretty average until his archaeologist father was reported dead in a plane crash.
9781407116112 | Gardners Books, February 1, 2010, cover price $13.90

displaying 1 to 8 | at end