search for books and compare prices
japanese california fiction matches 2 work(s)
displaying 1 to 2 | at end
show results in order: alphabetically | oldest to newest | newest to oldest
Cover for 9780399167751 Cover for 9780373225132 Cover for 9780307700001 Cover for 9781410446220 Cover for 9780307744425 Cover for 9780307940735
cover image for 9780399167751
Product Description: A fascinating speculative historical fiction debut set in 1950s California—perfect for fans of When You Reach Me. Twelve-year-old Ella Mae Higbee is a sensible girl. She eats her vegetables and wants to be just like Sergeant Friday, her favorite character on Dragnet...read more

Hardcover:

9780399167751 | Putnam Pub Group, May 5, 2015, cover price $16.99 | About this edition: A fascinating speculative historical fiction debut set in 1950s California—perfect for fans of When You Reach Me.

Paperback:

9780373225132, titled "The Stranger She Knew" | Harlequin Books, May 1, 1999, cover price $3.99 | also contains The Stranger She Knew | About this edition: The Stranger She Knew by Gayle Wilson released on Mar 25, 1999 is available now for purchase.

cover image for 9780307744425
Finalist for the 2011 National Book AwardJulie Otsuka’s long awaited follow-up to When the Emperor Was Divine (“To watch Emperor catching on with teachers and students in vast numbers is to grasp what must have happened at the outset for novels like Lord of the Flies and To Kill a Mockingbird” —The New York Times) is a tour de force of economy and precision, a novel that tells the story of a group of young women brought over from Japan to San Francisco as ‘picture brides’ nearly a century ago. In eight incantatory sections, The Buddha in the Attic traces their extraordinary lives, from their arduous journey by boat, where they exchange photographs of their husbands, imagining uncertain futures in an unknown land; to their arrival in San Francisco and their tremulous first nights as new wives; to their backbreaking work picking fruit in the fields and scrubbing the floors of white women; to their struggles to master a new language and a new culture; to their experiences in childbirth, and then as mothers, raising children who will ultimately reject their heritage and their history; to the deracinating arrival of war.In language that has the force and the fury of poetry, Julie Otsuka has written a singularly spellbinding novel about the American dream.

Hardcover:

9781410446220 | Large print edition (Thorndike Pr, March 7, 2012), cover price $29.99
9780307700001 | Alfred a Knopf Inc, August 23, 2011, cover price $22.00 | About this edition: Finalist for the 2011 National Book AwardJulie Otsuka’s long awaited follow-up to When the Emperor Was Divine (“To watch Emperor catching on with teachers and students in vast numbers is to grasp what must have happened at the outset for novels like Lord of the Flies and To Kill a Mockingbird” —The New York Times) is a tour de force of economy and precision, a novel that tells the story of a group of young women brought over from Japan to San Francisco as ‘picture brides’ nearly a century ago.

Paperback:

9780307744425 | Anchor Books, March 20, 2012, cover price $13.95

CD/Spoken Word:

9780307940735 | Unabridged edition (Random House, August 23, 2011), cover price $30.00 | About this edition: Finalist for the 2011 National Book AwardJulie Otsuka’s long awaited follow-up to When the Emperor Was Divine (“To watch Emperor catching on with teachers and students in vast numbers is to grasp what must have happened at the outset for novels like Lord of the Flies and To Kill a Mockingbird” —The New York Times) is a tour de force of economy and precision, a novel that tells the story of a group of young women brought over from Japan to San Francisco as ‘picture brides’ nearly a century ago.

displaying 1 to 2 | at end