search for books and compare prices
J. Wilson has written 22 work(s)
Search for other authors with the same name
displaying 1 to 22 | at end
show results in order: alphabetically | oldest to newest | newest to oldest
Cover for 9781780645117 Cover for 9781468456424 Cover for 9781469137629 Cover for 9780471929727 Cover for 9780471787457 Cover for 9780471929734 Cover for 9781417697496 Cover for 9780333779026 Cover for 9781853995057 Cover for 9780862921965 Cover for 9780136384953 Cover for 9780135236970 Cover for 9780227678107 Cover for 9780521068215 Cover for 9780227674789
cover image for 9781780645117
By Colin R. Black (editor), Chin K. Ong (editor) and Julia Wilson (editor)

Hardcover:

9781780645117 | 2 edition (C A B Intl, December 4, 2015), cover price $180.00

cover image for 9781468456424
Product Description: Great advances have been made in understanding hearing in recent years. In particular, the mechanical function of the cochlea has become the focus of intense interest. This started in one direction, with the discovery of otoacoustic emissions in 1978, which required active mechanical amplification processes, as first postulated by Gold in 1948...read more
By J. Wilson (editor)

Paperback:

9781468456424 | Reprint edition (Springer Verlag, November 25, 2012), cover price $99.00 | About this edition: Great advances have been made in understanding hearing in recent years.

The feminist scholar Kate Millet wrote that women are hungry to have their unspoken voices heard and to finally know the stories of their sisters and mothers throughout time. Author J. M. Wilson has sought out the sound of that voice, the Voice of a Woman, and in her groundbreaking play Book of Anger she feeds that hunger of women around the world to listen and be heard.   In Book of Anger, true artist of women's theater, storytelling and poetic prose, J .M. Wilson delivers an uncompromising view of the abuses and survival of females from childhood to womanhood. The shocking reality of the social casting of women as victims is challenged by her tales of women's inherent spiritual valor. Not merely a histrionic harangue, but a seductive melody of hope, Book of Anger tells the story of deliverance from the futile hopelessness of the victim to the passionate living woman who rises unconquered despite the attempted murder of her soul. In the tradition of Ntozake Shange's, "For Colored Girls ...."  J.M. Wilson has created a landmark piece of poetry in the round.   The craft and power of Book of Anger affirms the belief that there is still an audience for brutally realistic fiction as opposed to the manufactured products of "reality" that we are inundated with today. For Wilson makes it clear that, in the words of noted playwright Anna Deavere Smith, these stories, "are not offered as truths but as fictions that attempt to tell other truths, the kinds of truths that live in fiction and in the imaginary worlds."   Book of Anger fiercely questions bigotry based on color, race, sexuality, and gender, in extraordinarily evocative language and imagery to repay the reader and viewer's attention. This latest edition of Wilson's play features an introduction by award winning poet and Women's historian, Patricia Monaghan (acclaimed author of Goddesses and Heroines and The Red Haired Girl From The Bog)making Book of Anger a work not to be missed.

Hardcover:

9781469137636 | Xlibris Corp, April 26, 2012, cover price $24.99

Paperback:

9781469137629 | Xlibris Corp, April 26, 2012, cover price $15.99 | About this edition: The feminist scholar Kate Millet wrote that women are hungry to have their unspoken voices heard and to finally know the stories of their sisters and mothers throughout time.

By J. Wilson (editor)

Paperback:

9781461594208 | Reprint edition (Springer Verlag, March 1, 2012), cover price $99.00

cover image for 9780471787457
Elements of Solid State Physics Second Edition M. N. Rudden and J. Wilson University of Northumbria at Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne, UK This textbook provides a basic introduction to the principles of solid state physics and semiconductor devices and will prove essential for first and second year students of physics, materials science and electrical/electronic engineering courses. It assumes no prior knowledge of quantum or statistical mechanics and relies on simple models to illustrate the physical principles. However, the opportunity has been taken in this edition to extend the concept of energy bands to a consideration of E--k curves, and certain new material has been added, notably relating to superconductivity and optoelectronic devices, including lasers, following significant developments in these areas. Elements of Solid State Physics, Second Edition, presents the student with an essentially non-mathematical approach to the subject. Arranged in a logical sequence with many clear illustrations, each chapter has a number of worked examples and discussion points, as well as questions and answers. Readers of this fully revised and updated edition will receive a thorough grounding in the principles of solid state physics and should have sufficient knowledge about modern electronic devices to proceed to more advanced texts in this area. Main Contents: Some Aspects of Modern Physics; Structure of Crystalline Solids; Theories of Conduction and Magnetism; Energy Bands in Solids; Quantum Theory of Conduction; Semiconductor Devices.

Hardcover:

9780471929727 | 2 sub edition (John Wiley & Sons Inc, May 1, 1993), cover price $122.00 | About this edition: Elements of Solid State Physics Second Edition M.

Paperback:

9780471787457 | 2 edition (John Wiley & Sons Inc, September 23, 2005), cover price $76.70
9780471929734 | 2 edition (John Wiley & Sons Inc, June 15, 1993), cover price $140.00 | About this edition: Elements of Solid State Physics Second Edition M.

cover image for 9781417697496
Product Description: In this novel by John Wilson set during the Battle of Stalingrad, three participants -- two fighters and a boy -- are caught in its horrors. Their story is told over seven days of fierce and deadly street-by-street fighting. Vasily is a patriotic Russian soldier determined to rid his country of the hated Nazi invaders -- if he can stay alive long enough...read more

Prebinding:

9781417697496 | Turtleback Books, September 1, 2005, cover price $17.15 | About this edition: In this novel by John Wilson set during the Battle of Stalingrad, three participants -- two fighters and a boy -- are caught in its horrors.

Cousins Walt and Nate continue to fight on opposite sides in the Civil War and Sunday, Nate's father's former slave, re-enlists with the Union army.

Prebinding:

9781417690374 | Turtleback Books, February 1, 2005, cover price $17.15 | About this edition: Cousins Walt and Nate continue to fight on opposite sides in the Civil War and Sunday, Nate's father's former slave, re-enlists with the Union army.

Paperback:

9780582776999 | Gardners Books, March 4, 2004, cover price $38.55

This study of personal love between the sexes (or between members of the same sex) is a mixture of analytic philosophy and depth psychology. Its main aim is to help readers to understand the nature and value of love, and to grasp the difficulties one has to face when engaging with it. (view table of contents)

Hardcover:

9780333779026 | Palgrave Macmillan, November 10, 1999, cover price $159.00 | About this edition: This study of personal love between the sexes (or between members of the same sex) is a mixture of analytic philosophy and depth psychology.

Paperback:

9780333793169 | Palgrave Macmillan, November 10, 1999, cover price $69.99 | About this edition: This study of personal love between the sexes (or between members of the same sex) is a mixture of analytic philosophy and depth psychology.

cover image for 9781853995057
Product Description: This selected Latin vocabulary includes a thousand of the most commonLatin words and words-groups faced by those tackling Latin at an earlystage.

Paperback:

9781853995057 | Bilingual edition (Bristol Classical Pr, October 1, 1998), cover price $13.95 | About this edition: This selected Latin vocabulary includes a thousand of the most commonLatin words and words-groups faced by those tackling Latin at an earlystage.

By J. Wilson (editor)

Paperback:

9781874045571 | Royal Irish Academy, June 1, 1998, cover price $30.00

cover image for 9780862921965
Product Description: Not much attention has been paid to the history of Corcyra in relation to Athens in the Peloponnesian War, though Thucydides devotes no fewer than 52 chapters to it. John Wilson remedies this gap in scholarship by a detailed analysis of the Thucydidean text...read more

Paperback:

9780862921965 | Bristol Classical Pr, January 1, 1998, cover price $21.95 | About this edition: Not much attention has been paid to the history of Corcyra in relation to Athens in the Peloponnesian War, though Thucydides devotes no fewer than 52 chapters to it.

cover image for 9780136384953
Product Description: Introduces the optoelectronic fundamentals needed to understand fiber optic (and related) devices and systems.The book begins with a basic introduction to essential concepts of optics and solid state physics, and the fundamentals of light modulation...read more

Hardcover:

9780136384618 | 2nd edition (Prentice Hall), cover price $65.00 | also contains Emergencies in Clinical Radiology

Paperback:

9780136384953 | 2nd edition (Prentice Hall, June 1, 1993), cover price $71.00 | also contains Peter Pan | About this edition: Introduces the optoelectronic fundamentals needed to understand fiber optic (and related) devices and systems.

cover image for 9780135236970
Product Description: Book by Wilson, J., Hawkes, J. F. B.

Paperback:

9780135236970 | Prentice Hall, June 1, 1987, cover price $18.40 | About this edition: Book by Wilson, J.

Paperback:

9780896330702 | Ethics & Public Policy Center, June 1, 1983, cover price $11.50

cover image for 9780227678107
Product Description: The last work of the much-loved writer on Christian healing and prayer, offering advice on methods of meditation and suggesting avenues of exploration for the spirit.

Paperback:

9780227678107 | Lutterworth Pr, May 31, 1974, cover price $9.00 | About this edition: The last work of the much-loved writer on Christian healing and prayer, offering advice on methods of meditation and suggesting avenues of exploration for the spirit.

Paperback:

9780201085563 | Addison-Wesley, May 1, 1974, cover price $7.50

Paperback:

9780856330124 | Nfer Nelson, June 1, 1973, cover price $11.00

cover image for 9780521068215

Hardcover:

9780521068215 | Cambridge Univ Pr, January 1, 1956, cover price $22.95

cover image for 9780227674789
Product Description: A straightforward introduction to the healing power of Christ, and the importance of its role in the ministry of the Church.

Paperback:

9780227674789 | Lutterworth Pr, December 31, 1946, cover price $9.00 | About this edition: A straightforward introduction to the healing power of Christ, and the importance of its role in the ministry of the Church.

displaying 1 to 22 | at end