search for books and compare prices
Martha Tennent has written 13 work(s)
Search for other authors with the same name
displaying 1 to 13 | at end
show results in order: alphabetically | oldest to newest | newest to oldest
Cover for 9781616956288 Cover for 9781940953229 Cover for 9781940953281 Cover for 9781564788771 Cover for 9781564787316 Cover for 9781564787705 Cover for 9781846880902 Cover for 9781934824313 Cover for 9781441858320 Cover for 9780553807783 Cover for 9781934824115 Cover for 9781588116093 Cover for 9789027216663
cover image for 9781616956288
Product Description: A multi-genre gothic novel of the horrific early days of the Spanish Civil War in Barcelona, perfect for fans of Roberto Bolaño and Mario Vargas Llosa."Startling... “Blood Crime” (beautifully translated from the Catalan by Maruxa Relaño and Martha Tennent) has a sort of concentrated power that’s rare in horror novels...read more

Hardcover:

9781616956288 | Soho Crime, September 13, 2016, cover price $26.00 | About this edition: A multi-genre gothic novel of the horrific early days of the Spanish Civil War in Barcelona, perfect for fans of Roberto Bolaño and Mario Vargas Llosa.

cover image for 9781940953229
Product Description: Featured on Jeff VanderMeer's "Epic List of Favorite Books Read in 2015""Rodoreda had bedazzled me by the sensuality with which she reveals things within the atmosphere of her novels."—Gabriel García Marquez"Rodoreda plumbs a sadness that reaches beyond historic circumstances ...read more

Paperback:

9781940953229 | Open Letter, November 10, 2015, cover price $13.95 | About this edition: Featured on Jeff VanderMeer's "Epic List of Favorite Books Read in 2015""Rodoreda had bedazzled me by the sensuality with which she reveals things within the atmosphere of her novels.

cover image for 9781940953281
Product Description: Considered by many to be the grand achievement of her later period, Death in Spring is one of Mercè Rodoreda's most complex and beautifully constructed works. The novel tells the story of the bizarre and destructive customs of a nameless town—burying the dead in trees after filling their mouths with cement to prevent their soul from escaping, or sending a man to swim in the river that courses underneath the town to discover if they will be washed away by a flood—through the eyes of a fourteen-year-old boy who must come to terms with the rhyme and reason of this ritual violence, and with his wild, child-like, and teenage stepmother, who becomes his playmate...read more
By Martha Tennent (trans)

Paperback:

9781940953281 | Reprint edition (Open Letter, September 15, 2015), cover price $13.95 | About this edition: Considered by many to be the grand achievement of her later period, Death in Spring is one of Mercè Rodoreda's most complex and beautifully constructed works.

cover image for 9781564788771
Product Description: First published in 1936, and considered one of the most groundbreaking and significant novels written in Catalan, Waltz tells the tale of an idle, introspective, and somewhat oblivious young "man without qualities" as he stumbles through a milieu of civic upheaval and bourgeois tragedy, waltzing from one prospective bride to another, never willing to compromise his ideals, and so never quite becoming an adult...read more
By Martha Tennent (trans)

Paperback:

9781564788771 | Dalkey Archive Pr, August 1, 2013, cover price $15.00 | About this edition: First published in 1936, and considered one of the most groundbreaking and significant novels written in Catalan, Waltz tells the tale of an idle, introspective, and somewhat oblivious young "man without qualities" as he stumbles through a milieu of civic upheaval and bourgeois tragedy, waltzing from one prospective bride to another, never willing to compromise his ideals, and so never quite becoming an adult.

cover image for 9781564787316
Product Description: This volume brings together three short novels by Catalan literature's great maverick and recluse, each depicting a brutal, abstract world where words are the only reality--shifting between the erudite, the archaic, and the vulgar...read more
By Martha Tennent (trans)

Hardcover:

9781564787316 | Dalkey Archive Pr, July 24, 2012, cover price $22.95 | About this edition: This volume brings together three short novels by Catalan literature's great maverick and recluse, each depicting a brutal, abstract world where words are the only reality--shifting between the erudite, the archaic, and the vulgar.

cover image for 9781564787705
Product Description: This volume brings together three short novels by Catalan literature's great maverick and recluse, each depicting a brutal, abstract world where words are the only reality--shifting between the erudite, the archaic, and the vulgar...read more

Paperback:

9781564787705 | Dalkey Archive Pr, July 24, 2012, cover price $14.95 | About this edition: This volume brings together three short novels by Catalan literature's great maverick and recluse, each depicting a brutal, abstract world where words are the only reality--shifting between the erudite, the archaic, and the vulgar.

cover image for 9781846880902
Product Description: A literary thriller about a contemporary gallery owner plunged into a fascinating extinct world Emili Rossell, the young owner of one of Barcelona's top galleries, receives an old manuscript written by an Italian architect about the "Invisible City"—an ambitious project dreamed up by King Charles III to build an alternative capital city in the Ebro delta...read more
By Martha Tennent (trans)

Paperback:

9781846880902 | Alma Books, April 1, 2012, cover price $12.95 | About this edition: A literary thriller about a contemporary gallery owner plunged into a fascinating extinct world Emili Rossell, the young owner of one of Barcelona's top galleries, receives an old manuscript written by an Italian architect about the "Invisible City"—an ambitious project dreamed up by King Charles III to build an alternative capital city in the Ebro delta.

cover image for 9781934824313
Product Description: Collected here are thirty-one of Mercè Rodoreda’s most moving and challenging stories from three of her most beloved short story collections. These stories capture Rodoreda’s full range of expression, from quiet literary realism to fragmentary impressionism to dark symbolism...read more
By Martha Tennent (trans)

Paperback:

9781934824313 | Consortium Book Sales & Dist, February 28, 2011, cover price $15.95 | About this edition: Collected here are thirty-one of Mercè Rodoreda’s most moving and challenging stories from three of her most beloved short story collections.

cover image for 9781441858320
Product Description: In the winter of 1991, at a concert in Krakow, an older woman with a marvelously pitched violin meets a fellow musician who is instantly captivated by her instrument. When he asks her how she obtained it, she reveals the remarkable story behind its origin…...read more

CD/Spoken Word:

9781441858320, titled "The Violin of Auschwitz: A Novel" | Unabridged edition (Brilliance Audio, August 31, 2010), cover price $19.99 | About this edition: In the winter of 1991, at a concert in Krakow, an older woman with a marvelously pitched violin meets a fellow musician who is instantly captivated by her instrument.

cover image for 9780553807783
Product Description: An international sensation now available in English for the first time, The Violin of Auschwitz is the unforgettable story of one man’s refusal to surrender his dignity in the face of history’s greatest atrocity.In the winter of 1991, at a concert in Krakow, an older woman with a marvelously pitched violin meets a fellow musician who is instantly captivated by her instrument...read more
By Martha Tennent (trans)

Hardcover:

9780553807783, titled "The Violin of Auschwitz" | Reprint edition (Bantam Dell Pub Group, August 31, 2010), cover price $20.00 | About this edition: An international sensation now available in English for the first time, The Violin of Auschwitz is the unforgettable story of one man’s refusal to surrender his dignity in the face of history’s greatest atrocity.

cover image for 9781934824115
Product Description: Musical and rhythmic, Death in Spring relates the bizarre and destructive customs of a nameless town through the eyes of a fourteen-year-old boy who must come to terms with the rhyme and reason of this ritual violence, and with his wild, childlike, and teenaged stepmother, who becomes his playmate...read more

Hardcover:

9781934824115 | 1 edition (Open Letter, May 30, 2009), cover price $14.95 | About this edition: Musical and rhythmic, Death in Spring relates the bizarre and destructive customs of a nameless town through the eyes of a fourteen-year-old boy who must come to terms with the rhyme and reason of this ritual violence, and with his wild, childlike, and teenaged stepmother, who becomes his playmate.

cover image for 9781588116093
Product Description: Originating at an international forum held at the University of Vic (Spain), the twelve essays collected here attest to important changes in translation practice and the assumptions which underpin them. Leading theorists respond to the state of Translation Studies today, particularly the epistemological dilemma between theories that are empirically oriented and those that are inspired by developments in Cultural Studies...read more
By Martha Tennent (editor)

Hardcover:

9781588116093 | John Benjamins Pub Co, March 1, 2005, cover price $158.00 | About this edition: Originating at an international forum held at the University of Vic (Spain), the twelve essays collected here attest to important changes in translation practice and the assumptions which underpin them.

cover image for 9789027216663
Product Description: Originating at an international forum held at the University of Vic (Spain), the twelve essays collected here attest to important changes in translation practice and the assumptions which underpin them. Leading theorists respond to the state of Translation Studies today, particularly the epistemological dilemma between theories that are empirically oriented and those that are inspired by developments in Cultural Studies...read more
By Martha Tennent (editor)

Hardcover:

9789027216663 | John Benjamins Pub Co, February 28, 2005, cover price $158.00 | About this edition: Originating at an international forum held at the University of Vic (Spain), the twelve essays collected here attest to important changes in translation practice and the assumptions which underpin them.

displaying 1 to 13 | at end