search for books and compare prices
Harry Redner has written 16 work(s)
Search for other authors with the same name
displaying 1 to 16 | at end
show results in order: alphabetically | oldest to newest | newest to oldest
Cover for 9781412853972 Cover for 9781412863018 Cover for 9781412857116 Cover for 9781412849715 Cover for 9781412854856 Cover for 9781349257096 Cover for 9780761836773 Cover for 9780761836780 Cover for 9783170176669 Cover for 9780742527331 Cover for 9780742527348 Cover for 9780742512337 Cover for 9780333691922 Cover for 9780813322117 Cover for 9780813316697 Cover for 9780006363989 Cover for 9780520044357
cover image for 9781412863018
Product Description: The century that began in 1914 with the outbreak of the First World War was catastrophic. Over the course of that one-hundred-year span, civilizations were destroyed in the Old World, the New World, and the Third World, the latter represented by China, India, and Islam...read more

Hardcover:

9781412853972 | Transaction Pub, May 15, 2014, cover price $44.95 | About this edition: The century that began in 1914 with the outbreak of the First World War was catastrophic.

Paperback:

9781412863018 | Transaction Pub, June 30, 2016, cover price $33.95 | About this edition: The century that began in 1914 with the outbreak of the First World War was catastrophic.

cover image for 9781412857116
Product Description: The tragedy of European civilization is a protracted historical event spanning the twentieth century and in many ways is ongoing. During this time some of the greatest modern thinkers were active, producing works that both reflected what was happening in history and contributed towards shaping it...read more

Hardcover:

9781412857116 | Transaction Pub, November 2, 2015, cover price $69.95 | About this edition: The tragedy of European civilization is a protracted historical event spanning the twentieth century and in many ways is ongoing.

cover image for 9781412854856
For Harry Redner, the phrase “beyond civilization” refers to the new and unprecedented condition the world is now entering—specifically, the condition commonly known as globalization. Redner approaches globalization from the perspective of history and seeks to interpret it in relation to previous key stages of human development. His account begins with the Axial Age (700–300 BC) and proceeds through Modernity (after AD 1500) to the present global condition. What is globalization doing to civilization? In answering this question, Redner studies the role played by capitalism, the state, science and technology. He aims to show that they have had a catalytic impact on civilization through their reductive effect on society, culture, and individualism. However, Redner is not content to diagnose the ills of civilization; he also suggests how they might be ameliorated by cultural conservation. Above all, it is to the problem of decline in the higher forms of literacy that he addresses himself, for it is on the culture of the book that previous civilizations were founded. This study will be of interest to sociologists, historians, and social and political theorists. Its style makes it accessible also to general readers, interested in civilization past, present, and future.

Hardcover:

9781412849715 | Transaction Pub, January 22, 2013, cover price $49.95 | About this edition: For Harry Redner, the phrase “beyond civilization” refers to the new and unprecedented condition the world is now entering—specifically, the condition commonly known as globalization.

Paperback:

9781412854856 | Reprint edition (Transaction Pub, July 28, 2014), cover price $34.95

cover image for 9781349257096
Product Description: A politically oriented study of the thought of the founders of the main schools of contemporary academic philosophy, those which dominate nearly all universities throughout the world. It concentrates on four key masters: Wittgenstein, who founded both Logical Positivism and the so-called Common Language or Analytic school; Heidegger, the acknowledged master of Hermeneutic Philosophy or the so-called Continental school; Lukacs, the founder of Hegelian Marxism and the leading Communist philosopher of the Soviet period; and, finally, the now lesser-known Gentile, the Hegelian Idealist...read more

Paperback:

9781349257096, titled "Malign Masters Gentile Heidegger Lukács Wittgenstein: Philosophy and Politics in the Twentieth Century" | Palgrave Macmillan, January 14, 2014, cover price $79.95 | About this edition: A politically oriented study of the thought of the founders of the main schools of contemporary academic philosophy, those which dominate nearly all universities throughout the world.

cover image for 9780761836773
Product Description: Harry Redner's Aesthetic Life examines the arts - all the arts from the earliest Paleolithic painting to the latest post-Modern music. Its aim is to account for the nature of art in its historical totality and to assess the role it has played in human life throughout the ages...read more

Hardcover:

9780761836773 | Univ Pr of Amer, February 28, 2007, cover price $95.00 | About this edition: Harry Redner's Aesthetic Life examines the arts - all the arts from the earliest Paleolithic painting to the latest post-Modern music.

Paperback:

9780761836780 | Univ Pr of Amer, February 28, 2007, cover price $60.99 | About this edition: Harry Redner's Aesthetic Life examines the arts - all the arts from the earliest Paleolithic painting to the latest post-Modern music.

cover image for 9783170176669
Product Description: Redner geht zwei fundamentalen Fragen nach: Warum soll man ein moralisches, ein gutes Leben fuhren? Und: Wie ist das unter den Bedingungen der Gegenwart moglich? Zunachst gilt es, die Ethik-Typen und ihre Geschichte naher kennen zu lernen, um die gegenwartige ethische Situation mit ihren Spannungen und Defiziten zu verstehen...read more

Paperback:

9783170176669 | Kohlhammer Verlag, June 20, 2006, cover price $31.00 | About this edition: Redner geht zwei fundamentalen Fragen nach: Warum soll man ein moralisches, ein gutes Leben fuhren?

cover image for 9780742527331

Hardcover:

9780742527331 | Rowman & Littlefield Pub Inc, April 1, 2004, cover price $111.00

Paperback:

9780742527348 | Rowman & Littlefield Pub Inc, March 1, 2004, cover price $36.00

Ethical Life sets out to act as a guide for those of us who want to better understand ethics. It offers answers to the two simplest and yet most difficult questions facing individuals who have fallen into the perplexities of contemporary life: Why be ethical, and how? Redner enlightens his readers with a comprehensive survey of the nature of ethics, touching briefly in his introduction on present ethical concerns and then drawing his readers into a deeper examination of the ethical systems and cultures from which those concerns emerge. The author poses the question: To what extent is our global technological civilization conducive or averse to ethical matters, and how does it compare in this respect to the cultures of the past, both in the West and the East? The book is an excellent and thought provoking introduction to ethics, and an engaging resource for new students of ethics and moral theory. Ethical Life is distinctive in its format and approach, synthesizing in one book both an historical and comparative account of ethical systems, and an engaging discussion of contemporary ethical challenges. The book begins with an introduction to the ethics of ancient Israel, Greece, China, India, and Persia, before moving on to a diagnosis of the twentieth century crisis in ethics, and finally, a discussion of contemporary ethical concerns, exploring our social, cultural, and individual responses to them. (view table of contents)

Hardcover:

9780742512320 | Rowman & Littlefield Pub Inc, October 1, 2001, cover price $124.00

Paperback:

9780742512337 | Rowman & Littlefield Pub Inc, October 1, 2001, cover price $49.00 | About this edition: Ethical Life sets out to act as a guide for those of us who want to better understand ethics.

cover image for 9780813322117
Product Description: In the tradition of Vico, Compte, Weber, Norbert Elias and Charles E. Lindblom, this volume is a statement on both the nature of cultural development and the interpretation of our confused present. Arguing that tha crucial changes in human cultural history correlate with fundamental transformations in modes of representation, Redner traces human development from primitive culture to that of the present age, an age that is still, he argues, fundamentally modernist...read more

Hardcover:

9780813322117 | Westview Pr, July 1, 1994, cover price $70.50 | About this edition: In the tradition of Vico, Compte, Weber, Norbert Elias and Charles E.

cover image for 9780520044357
Product Description: This book examines the dominant modern ideas on Man, Time, and Nihilism with reference to Foucault, Derrida, and Althusser.

Hardcover:

9780520044357 | Univ of California Pr, November 1, 1982, cover price $42.50 | About this edition: This book examines the dominant modern ideas on Man, Time, and Nihilism with reference to Foucault, Derrida, and Althusser.

displaying 1 to 16 | at end