search for books and compare prices
Sam Harris has written 11 work(s)
Search for other authors with the same name
displaying 1 to 11 | at end
show results in order: alphabetically | oldest to newest | newest to oldest
cover image for 9788499884578
Product Description: Neuroscientist and philosopher Sam Harris focuses in this book on the 20-some percent of Westerners who identify with no religion but who believe that the experiences of figures such as Jesus, Buddha, Lao Tsé, Rumi, and others might contain profound truths...read more

Paperback:

9788499884578, titled "Despertar: Una Guía Para Una Espiritualidad Sin Religión" | Karios Editorial Sa, December 1, 2016, cover price $24.95 | About this edition: Neuroscientist and philosopher Sam Harris focuses in this book on the 20-some percent of Westerners who identify with no religion but who believe that the experiences of figures such as Jesus, Buddha, Lao Tsé, Rumi, and others might contain profound truths.

cover image for 9781451636024
Product Description: For the millions of Americans who want spirituality without religion, Sam Harris’s latest New York Times bestseller is a guide to meditation as a rational practice informed by neuroscience and psychology.From Sam Harris, neuroscientist and author of numerous New York Times bestselling books, Waking Up is for the twenty percent of Americans who follow no religion but who suspect that important truths can be found in the experiences of such figures as Jesus, the Buddha, Lao Tzu, Rumi, and the other saints and sages of history...read more

Hardcover:

9781451636017 | Simon & Schuster, September 9, 2014, cover price $26.00 | About this edition: For the millions of Americans who want spirituality without religion, Waking Up is a guide to meditation as a rational practice informed by neuroscience and psychology.

Paperback:

9781451636024 | Reprint edition (Simon & Schuster, June 16, 2015), cover price $16.00 | also contains Waking Up: A Guide to Spirituality Without Religion, Waking Up: A Guide to Spirituality Without Religion | About this edition: For the millions of Americans who want spirituality without religion, Sam Harris’s latest New York Times bestseller is a guide to meditation as a rational practice informed by neuroscience and psychology.
9780593074008 | Gardners Books, January 29, 2015, cover price $23.65 | also contains Waking Up: A Guide to Spirituality Without Religion, Waking Up: A Guide to Spirituality Without Religion

cover image for 9781476733418
Product Description: For fans of David Sedaris and Chelsea Handler, these stories and essays about friendship, celebrity, growing up and getting sober will have you laughing and crying in equal measure.ham (noun) [hæm] 1 the hind leg of a hog, salted, smoked, and cured 2 second son of Noah 3 somebody who performs in an exaggerated showy style -always hamming it up Just when you thought you knew everything about ham, you discover that ham is also: 4 a reason to laugh about everyday life, and 5 an irresistible collection of humorous essays from a man who was born to entertain us...read more

Hardcover:

9781476733418 | Simon & Schuster, January 14, 2014, cover price $26.00 | About this edition: For fans of David Sedaris and Chelsea Handler, these stories and essays about friendship, celebrity, growing up and getting sober will have you laughing and crying in equal measure.

cover image for 9781476733449
Product Description: In a collection of personal essays that are “both rip-roaringly funny and sentimental, drawing natural (and justified) comparisons to David Sedaris and David Rakoff” (Esquire), longtime recording artist and actor Sam Harris recounts stories of friendship, love, celebrity, and growing up and getting sober...read more

Paperback:

9781476733449, titled "Ham: Slices of a Life: True-Life Tales" | Reprint edition (Gallery Books, October 7, 2014), cover price $19.99 | About this edition: In a collection of personal essays that are “both rip-roaringly funny and sentimental, drawing natural (and justified) comparisons to David Sedaris and David Rakoff” (Esquire), longtime recording artist and actor Sam Harris recounts stories of friendship, love, celebrity, and growing up and getting sober.

cover image for 9781601256133
Product Description: A retired cadre of lifelong adventurers meets every year in the city of Cassomir to embark on their latest “one last adventure.” As the aged travelers prepare for their annual reunion, one of them disappears amid signs of foul play...read more

Paperback:

9781601256133 | Pap/pstr edition (Paizo Pub Llc, April 15, 2014), cover price $24.99 | About this edition: A retired cadre of lifelong adventurers meets every year in the city of Cassomir to embark on their latest “one last adventure.

cover image for 9781940051000
Product Description: As it was in Anna Karenina, Madame Bovary, and Othello, so it is in life. Most forms of private vice and public evil are kindled and sustained by lies. Acts of adultery and other personal betrayals, financial fraud, government corruption—even murder and genocide—generally require an additional moral defect: a willingness to lie...read more

Hardcover:

9781940051000 | Pgw, November 5, 2013, cover price $16.99 | About this edition: As it was in Anna Karenina, Madame Bovary, and Othello, so it is in life.

cover image for 9781451683400
Product Description: A BELIEF IN FREE WILL touches nearly everything that human beings value. It is difficult to think about law, politics, religion, public policy, intimate relationships, morality—as well as feelings of remorse or personal achievement—without first imagining that every person is the true source of his or her thoughts and actions...read more

Paperback:

9781451683400 | Free Pr, March 6, 2012, cover price $10.99 | About this edition: A BELIEF IN FREE WILL touches nearly everything that human beings value.

cover image for 9781439171226
Product Description: Sam Harris’s first book, The End of Faith, ignited a worldwide debate about the validity of religion. In the aftermath, Harris discovered that most people—from religious fundamentalists to non-believing scientists—agree on one point: science has nothing to say on the subject of human values...read more

Paperback:

9781439171226 | Reprint edition (Free Pr, September 13, 2011), cover price $16.00 | About this edition: Sam Harris’s first book, The End of Faith, ignited a worldwide debate about the validity of religion.

cover image for 9780307278777
In a thought-provoking and impassioned new study, the author of The End of Faith continues his battle against rigid adherence to the Christian religious literalism that is transforming America, refuting the essential beliefs, tenets, and certainties of fundamentalist Christianity in terms of sexual morality, intelligent design, and other key topics. Reprint. 125,000 first printing.

Hardcover:

9780307265777 | Alfred a Knopf Inc, September 19, 2006, cover price $16.95 | About this edition: Argues that the increasing power of Christian fundamentalists in American politics threatens the country's citizens, blames the Bible for promoting intolerance of other faiths, and describes atheism as 'an admission of the obvious.

Paperback:

9780307278777 | Reprint edition (Vintage Books, January 8, 2008), cover price $14.95 | About this edition: In a thought-provoking and impassioned new study, the author of The End of Faith continues his battle against rigid adherence to the Christian religious literalism that is transforming America, refuting the essential beliefs, tenets, and certainties of fundamentalist Christianity in terms of sexual morality, intelligent design, and other key topics.

CD/Spoken Word:

9780743567053 | Unabridged edition (Simon & Schuster Audioworks, December 5, 2006), cover price $19.95 | About this edition: Argues that the increasing power of Christian fundamentalists in American politics threatens the country's citizens, blames the Bible for promoting intolerance of other faiths, and describes atheism as 'an admission of the obvious.

cover image for 9781442367883
Product Description: An impassioned plea for reason in a world divided by faith. This important and timely work delivers a startling analysis of the clash of faith and reason in today's world.Harris offers a vivid historical tour of mankind's willingness to suspend reason in favor of religious beliefs, even when those beliefs are used to justify harmful behavior and sometimes heinous crimes...read more

Hardcover:

9780393035155 | W W Norton & Co Inc, August 1, 2004, cover price $26.95 | About this edition: An analysis of the disparity between faith and logic in modern society examines the willingness to challenge religious-based belief systems throughout history.

Paperback:

9780393327656, titled "End of Faith: Religion, Terror, And the Future of Reason" | Reprint edition (W W Norton & Co Inc, October 1, 2005), cover price $15.95 | About this edition: An analysis of the disparity between faith and logic in modern society examines the willingness to challenge religious-based belief systems throughout history.

CD/Spoken Word:

9781442367883 | Unabridged edition (Simon & Schuster, December 31, 2013), cover price $29.99 | About this edition: An impassioned plea for reason in a world divided by faith.
9780786170005 | Mp3 una edition (Blackstone Audio Inc, December 1, 2006), cover price $29.95 | About this edition: In The End of Faith, Sam Harris delivers a startling analysis of the clash between reason and religion in the modern world.
9780786158348 | Unabridged edition (Blackstone Audio Inc, December 1, 2006), cover price $72.00 | About this edition: In The End of Faith, Sam Harris delivers a startling analysis of the clash between reason and religion in the modern world.
9780786158386 | Unabridged edition (Blackstone Audio Inc, November 15, 2006), cover price $29.95 | About this edition: An analysis of the disparity between faith and logic in modern society examines the willingness to challenge religious-based belief systems throughout history.

Cassette/Spoken Word:

9780786149599, titled "End of Faith: Religion, Terror, and the Future of Reason" | Blackstone Audio Inc, December 1, 2006, cover price $59.95 | About this edition: In The End of Faith, Sam Harris delivers a startling analysis of the clash between reason and religion in the modern world.
9780786149551 | Unabridged edition (Blackstone Audio Inc, November 15, 2006), cover price $29.95 | About this edition: In The End of Faith, Sam Harris delivers a startling analysis of the clash between reason and religion in the modern world.

cover image for 9780940159242
Product Description: Most of us don't believe we play a part in the decisions made by our government, and this feeling of impotence has led to years of public apathy. The 10th anniversary edition of Reclaiming Our Democracy once again brings to the fore a unique vision to meet this crisis: ordinary people taking extraordinary action, becoming citizen leaders in order to create a democracy "as if people mattered...read more

Hardcover:

9780940159242 | Camino Books Inc, September 1, 1993, cover price $22.00 | About this edition: Most of us don't believe we play a part in the decisions made by our government, and this feeling of impotence has led to years of public apathy.

displaying 1 to 11 | at end