search for books and compare prices
Julie Buxbaum has written 5 work(s)
Search for other authors with the same name
displaying 1 to 5 | at end
show results in order: alphabetically | oldest to newest | newest to oldest
Cover for 9780553535648 Cover for 9780147521279 Cover for 9780553535655 Cover for 9780385341240 Cover for 9780385341257 Cover for 9780593058879 Cover for 9780143054795 Cover for 9780385341226 Cover for 9781410407702 Cover for 9780553592245 Cover for 9780553841411 Cover for 9780739359044
cover image for 9780553535648
A New York Times BestsellerWhat if the person you need the most is someone you’ve never met? Funny and romantic, this tug-at-your-heartstrings contemporary YA debut is perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart.Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week as a junior at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?“Three Things about this novel: (1) I loved it. (2) No, really, I LOVED it. (3) I wish I could tell every teen to read it. Buxbaum’s book sounds, reads, breathes, worries, and soars like real adolescents do.” —Jodi Picoult, New York Times bestselling author of Leaving Time and Off the PageFrom the Hardcover edition.

Hardcover:

9780553535648 | Delacorte Pr, April 5, 2016, cover price $17.99

CD/Spoken Word:

9780147521279 | Unabridged edition (Listening Library, April 5, 2016), cover price $45.00 | About this edition: A New York Times BestsellerWhat if the person you need the most is someone you’ve never met?

Library:

9780553535655 | Delacorte Pr, April 5, 2016, cover price $20.99 | About this edition: A New York Times BestsellerWhat if the person you need the most is someone you’ve never met?

cover image for 9780385341257
Product Description: When tragedy strikes across the ocean, Ellie Lerner drops everything—her marriage, her job, her life in the Boston suburbs—to travel to London and pick up the pieces of her best friend Lucy’s life. While Lucy’s husband, Greg, retreats into himself, his and Lucy’s eight-year-old daughter, Sophie, has simply stopped speaking...read more

Hardcover:

9780385341240 | 1 edition (Dial Pr, August 25, 2009), cover price $25.00 | About this edition: Ellie's life is turned upside down when she learns the heartbreaking news that her best friend, Lucy, has been murdered.

Paperback:

9780385341257 | Dial Pr, June 1, 2010, cover price $15.00 | About this edition: When tragedy strikes across the ocean, Ellie Lerner drops everything—her marriage, her job, her life in the Boston suburbs—to travel to London and pick up the pieces of her best friend Lucy’s life.

cover image for 9780593058879

Paperback:

9780593058879 | Gardners Books, September 10, 2009, cover price $18.10

cover image for 9780143054795
Product Description: Emily Haxby can’t explain why she abruptly ends her happy relationship as her boyfriend is about to propose. But as she begins to unravel, she knows she must take control if she’s to become who she’s always wanted to be. Written with authority, grace, and wisdom, The Opposite of Love heralds the debut of a remarkable talent in contemporary fiction...read more

Paperback:

9780143054795 | Penguin Group Canada, April 28, 2009, cover price $13.50 | About this edition: Emily Haxby can’t explain why she abruptly ends her happy relationship as her boyfriend is about to propose.

cover image for 9780553592245
With perfect pitch for the humor and heartbreak of everyday life, Julie Buxbaum has fashioned a heroine who will be instantly recognizable to anyone who has loved and lost and loved again.When successful twenty-nine-year-old Manhattan attorney Emily Haxby ends her happy relationship just as her boyfriend is on the verge of proposing, she can’t explain to even her closest friends why she did it. Somewhere beneath her sense of fun, her bravado, and her independent exterior, Emily knows that her breakup with Andrew has less to do with him and more to do with...her. “You’re your own worst enemy,” her best friend Jess tells her. “It’s like you get pleasure out of breaking your own heart.”As the holiday season looms and Emily contemplates whether she made a huge mistake, the rest of her world begins to unravel: she is assigned to a multimillion-dollar lawsuit where she must defend the very values she detests by a boss who can’t keep his hands to himself; her Grandpa Jack, a charming, feisty octogenarian and the person she cares most about in the world, is losing it, while her emotionally distant father has left her to cope with this alone; and underneath it all, fading memories of her deceased mother continue to remind her that love doesn’t last forever.How this brave, original young heroine finally decides to take control of her life and face the fears that have long haunted her is the great achievement of Julie Buxbaum’s marvelous first novel. Written with the authority, grace, and wisdom of an author far beyond her years, The Opposite of Love heralds the debut of a remarkable talent in contemporary fiction.From the Hardcover edition.

Hardcover:

9781410407702 | Large print edition (Thorndike Pr, July 2, 2008), cover price $31.95 | About this edition: With perfect pitch for the humor and heartbreak of everyday life, Julie Buxbaum has fashioned a heroine who will be instantly recognizable to anyone who has loved and lost and loved again.
9780385341226 | 1 edition (Dial Pr, January 29, 2008), cover price $25.00 | About this edition: Ending her happy relationship just as her boyfriend is on the verge of proposing, successful, twenty-nine-year-old Manhattan attorney Emily Pratt struggles to deal with the sense of emptiness she hides behind an independent faðcade.

Paperback:

9780553592245 | Bantam Books, March 6, 2010, cover price $6.99
9780385341233 | Dial Pr, June 9, 2009, cover price $15.00
9780553841411 | Random House, April 28, 2009, cover price $6.99 | About this edition: Like new, barely opened the pages.

CD/Spoken Word:

9780739359044 | Abridged edition (Random House, January 29, 2008), cover price $29.95 | About this edition: Ending her happy relationship just as her boyfriend is on the verge of proposing, successful, twenty-nine-year-old Manhattan attorney Emily Pratt is struggling to deal with the sense of emptiness she hides behind a zany, independent façade, and as the holiday season approaches, she begins to feel that her entire world--her family, her job, and her life--is unraveling.

displaying 1 to 5 | at end