search for books and compare prices
cover image
The Utopia of Rules: On Technology, Stupidity, and the Secret Joys of Bureaucracy
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Melville Pub House
Publication date February 23, 2016
Pages 261
Binding Paperback
Edition Reprint
Book category Adult Non-Fiction
ISBN-13 9781612195186
ISBN-10 1612195180
Dimensions 0.75 by 5.25 by 8.25 in.
Weight 0.60 lbs.
Availability§ Publisher Out of Stock
Original list price $16.95
§As reported by publisher
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description: From the author of the international bestseller Debt: The First 5,000 Years comes a revelatory account of the way bureaucracy rules our lives  

Where does the desire for endless rules, regulations, and bureaucracy come from? How did we come to spend so much of our time filling out forms? And is it really a cipher for state violence?
 
To answer these questions, the anthropologist David Graeber—one of our most important and provocative thinkers—traces the peculiar and unexpected ways we relate to bureaucracy today, and reveals how it shapes our lives in ways we may not even notice…though he also suggests that there may be something perversely appealing—even romantic—about bureaucracy.
 
Leaping from the ascendance of right-wing economics to the hidden meanings behind Sherlock Holmes and Batman, The Utopia of Rules is at once a powerful work of social theory in the tradition of Foucault and Marx, and an entertaining reckoning with popular culture that calls to mind Slavoj Zizek at his most accessible.
 
An essential book for our times, The Utopia of Rules is sure to start a million conversations about the institutions that rule over us—and the better, freer world we should, perhaps, begin to imagine for ourselves.

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9781612193748
 
from Melville Pub House (February 24, 2015)
9781612193748 | details & prices | 261 pages | 6.25 × 9.00 × 1.00 in. | 0.92 lbs | List price $26.95
About: From the author of the international bestseller Debt: The First 5,000 Years comes a revelatory account of the way bureaucracy rules our lives   Where does the desire for endless rules, regulations, and bureaucracy come from?
Paperback
Book cover for 9780352329257 Book cover for 9781612194486 Book cover for 9781612195186
 
The price comparison is for this edition
Reprint edition from Melville Pub House (February 23, 2016)
9781612195186 | details & prices | 261 pages | 5.25 × 8.25 × 0.75 in. | 0.60 lbs | List price $16.95
About: From the author of the international bestseller Debt: The First 5,000 Years comes a revelatory account of the way bureaucracy rules our lives   Where does the desire for endless rules, regulations, and bureaucracy come from?
from Random House (March 10, 2015)
9781612194486 | details & prices | 261 pages | 8.50 × 5.50 × 0.75 in. | 0.66 lbs | List price $20.00
With Saskia Hope | from London Bridge (April 1, 1995); titled "River of Secrets"
9780352329257 | details & prices | 4.50 × 7.25 × 1.00 in. | 0.45 lbs | List price $5.95
This edition also contains River of Secrets
About: When intrepid female reporter Sydney Johnson is posted to cover an archaeological exploration up the Amazon River, the assignment seems straightforward enough.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.