search for books and compare prices
cover image
The Other Left Side: Left and Right in Evolution and Other Essays
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Seven Stories Pr
Publication date September 13, 2016
Pages 272
Binding Hardcover
Book category Adult Non-Fiction
ISBN-13 9781609806668
ISBN-10 1609806662
Original list price $26.95
Other format details sci/tech
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description: In essays like "How to Fake Faking," and the title essay, "The Other Left Side: the Phenomenon of Left and Right in Evolution," Tijs Goldschmidt shatters our expectations of what a scientific essay is and then rebuilds it in intensely personal, artful and wry ways. Goldschmidt has won the top awards in Holland and is well known internationally within the field of science writing. Now for the first time available in English, his essays crackle with insight and joy at the discoveries to be made in the world in which we live—whether comparing the courtship rituals of men on the dance floor to the springtime courtship rituals of Eurasian wading birds, or visiting Hitler's watercolors in the vault of the US Army Center of Military History in Washington, DC, or noting how clumsy swifts are when brooding on land, or writing fascinatingly about left- and right-handedness.

In the tradition of Stephen Jay Gould and Lewis Thomas, a gorgeous book of essays steeped in current evolutionary thought, one that invites readers to delight in our evolutionary present. This is a book for any reader, one that turns the deep currents of contemporary evolutionary biology into something to be savored and enjoyed by all.

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9781609806668
 
The price comparison is for this edition
from Seven Stories Pr (September 13, 2016)
9781609806668 | details & prices | 272 pages | List price $26.95
About: In essays like "How to Fake Faking," and the title essay, "The Other Left Side: the Phenomenon of Left and Right in Evolution," Tijs Goldschmidt shatters our expectations of what a scientific essay is and then rebuilds it in intensely personal, artful and wry ways.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.