search for books and compare prices
cover image
The Maze of the Enchanter
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Paperback
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Nightshade Book
Publication date September 6, 2016
Pages 352
Binding Paperback
Book category Adult Fiction
ISBN-13 9781597808767
ISBN-10 1597808768
Dimensions 0 by 6 by 9 in.
Original list price $17.99
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description:
  • Back in print in new trade paperback editions
  • Ideal for fans of Curtis Smith, Joseph Ashton, Ashton Powell, Joseph Smith, George Clark Jr., and Margaret Clark, and the Weird Tales magazine collection
  • The fourth of five volumes collecting every story of fantasy, horror, and science fiction written by Clark Ashton Smith

“None strikes the note of cosmic horror as well as Clark Ashton Smith. In sheer daemonic strangeness and fertility of conception, Smith is perhaps unexcelled by any other writer.”

—H. P. Lovecraft

Clark Ashton Smith is considered one of the best contributors to seminal pulp magazines such as Weird Tales. Along with his contemporaries H. P. Lovecraft and Robert E. Howard, he helped shape and define “weird fiction” in the early 20th century. Smith drew upon his background in poetry to portray an unparalleled richness of expression and imagination in his tales of the fantastical and bizarre. 

The Collected Fantasies series presents all of Clark Ashton Smith’s work chronologically. The tales in this series are paired with detailed background notes from editors Ron Hilger and Scott Connors. To prepare for these collected fantasies of Clark Ashton Smith, these two editors meticulously compared various typescripts, published editions, original manuscripts, and Smith’s own letters and notes. Their efforts have made the most definitive and complete collection of Smith’s work to date.

The Maze of the Enchanter is the fourth of five volumes that collect all of Clark Ashton Smith’s stories of fantasy, science fiction, and horror. It contains all of his stories from “The Mandrakes” (1932) to “The Flower-Women” (1933). Gahan Wilson wrote the introduction. 

Skyhorse Publishing, under our Night Shade and Talos imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of titles for readers interested in science fiction (space opera, time travel, hard SF, alien invasion, near-future dystopia), fantasy (grimdark, sword and sorcery, contemporary urban fantasy, steampunk, alternative history), and horror (zombies, vampires, and the occult and supernatural), and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller, a national bestseller, or a Hugo or Nebula award-winner, we are committed to publishing quality books from a diverse group of authors.

Editions
Paperback
Book cover for 9781597808767
 
The price comparison is for this edition
from Nightshade Book (September 6, 2016)
9781597808767 | details & prices | 352 pages | List price $17.99
About: Back in print in new trade paperback editionsIdeal for fans of Curtis Smith, Joseph Ashton, Ashton Powell, Joseph Smith, George Clark Jr.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.