search for books and compare prices
cover image
The Wandering Falcon
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Riverhead Books
Publication date October 2, 2012
Pages 243
Binding Paperback
Edition Reprint
Book category Adult Fiction
ISBN-13 9781594486166
ISBN-10 1594486166
Dimensions 0.75 by 5.25 by 7.25 in.
Weight 0.45 lbs.
Original list price $15.00
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description: For readers of Khaled Hosseini, Daniyal Mueenuddin, and Mohsin Hamid, a story set among the mountain tribes of Pakistan and Afghanistan.

In this extraordinary tale, Tor Baz, the young boy descended from both chiefs and outlaws who becomes the Wandering Falcon, moves between the tribes of Pakistan and Afghanistan and their uncertain worlds full of brutality, humanity, deep love, honor, poverty, and grace. The wild area he travels -- the Federally Administered Tribal Area -- has become a political quagmire known for terrorism and inaccessibility. Yet in these pages, eighty-year-old debut author Jamil Ahmad lyrically and insightfully reveals the people who populate those lands, their tribes and traditions, and their older, timeless ways in the face of sometimes ruthless modernity. This story is an essential glimpse into a hidden world, one that has enormous geopolitical significance today and still remains largely a mystery to us.

Jamil Ahmad is a storyteller in the classic sense -- there is an authenticity and wisdom to his writing that harkens back to another time. The Wandering Falcon reminds us why we read and how vital fiction is in opening new worlds to our imagination and understanding.

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9781594488276
 
Large print edition from Thorndike Pr (February 1, 2012)
9781410444981 | details & prices | 351 pages | 5.50 × 8.50 × 1.00 in. | 1.05 lbs | List price $30.99
from Riverhead Books (October 13, 2011)
9781594488276 | details & prices | 243 pages | 5.50 × 7.50 × 1.00 in. | 0.65 lbs | List price $25.95
About: A haunting literary debut set in the forbidding remote tribal areas of Pakistan and Afghanistan.
Paperback
Book cover for 9781594486166
 
The price comparison is for this edition
Reprint edition from Riverhead Books (October 2, 2012)
9781594486166 | details & prices | 243 pages | 5.25 × 7.25 × 0.75 in. | 0.45 lbs | List price $15.00
About: For readers of Khaled Hosseini, Daniyal Mueenuddin, and Mohsin Hamid, a story set among the mountain tribes of Pakistan and Afghanistan.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.