search for books and compare prices
cover image
Never Broken: Songs Are Only Half the Story
By Jewel
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback | CD/Spoken Word
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Blackstone Audio Inc
Publication date September 15, 2015
Binding CD/Spoken Word
Edition Mp3 una
Book category Adult Non-Fiction
ISBN-13 9781504630276
ISBN-10 1504630270
Dimensions 0.75 by 5.75 by 7.75 in.
Weight 0.20 lbs.
Original list price $29.95
Other format details audio
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description: [*Read by the author - Jewel]

New York Times bestselling poet and multi-platinum singer-songwriter Jewel explores her unconventional upbringing and extraordinary life in an inspirational memoir that covers her childhood to fame, marriage, and motherhood.

When Jewel's first album, Pieces of You, topped the charts in 1995, her emotional voice and vulnerable performance were groundbreaking. In the tradition of Joan Baez and Joni Mitchell (she has been compared to both), a singer-songwriter of her kind had not emerged in decades. Now, with over thirty million albums sold worldwide, Jewel tells the story of her life and the lessons learned from her experience and her music.

Living on a homestead in Alaska, Jewel learned to yodel at age three and joined her parents' act, working in hotels, honkytonks, and biker bars. Behind a strong-willed and independent family life, with an emphasis on music and artistic talent, was also instability, abuse, and trauma. At age fifteen Jewel was accepted to the prestigious Interlochen Arts Academy in Michigan, where she began writing her own songs as a means of expression. She was eighteen, homeless, and living out of her car in San Diego when a radio DJ aired a bootleg version of her song, and it was requested into the top-ten countdown, something unheard of for an unsigned artist. By age twenty-one, her debut album went multi-platinum.

There is so much more to Jewel's story, one complicated by family and financial woes, by crippling fear and insecurity, by parents who forced a child to grow up far too quickly, and by the extraordinary circumstances in which she become a world-famous singer and songwriter. Here Jewel reflects on how she survived and how writing songs, poetry, and prose have saved her life many times over. She writes beautifully about the natural wonders of Alaska, about pain and childhood trauma, and about discovering her own identity years after the entire world had discovered the beauty of her songs.



Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780399174339
 
from Blue Rider Pr (September 15, 2015)
9780399174339 | details & prices | 386 pages | 6.30 × 9.25 × 1.30 in. | 1.65 lbs | List price $27.50
About: New York Times bestselling poet and multi-platinum singer-songwriter Jewel explores her unconventional upbringing and extraordinary life in an inspirational memoir that covers her childhood to fame, marriage, and motherhood.
Paperback
Book cover for 9780399185724
 
Reprint edition from Blue Rider Pr (September 20, 2016)
9780399185724 | details & prices | 384 pages | List price $16.00
About: “Jewel is a truth-teller…this is a book that lingers in your heart.
CD/Spoken Word
Book cover for 9781504630276 Book cover for 9781504630283
 
Unabridged edition from Blackstone Audio Inc (September 15, 2015)
9781504630283 | details & prices | 5.25 × 6.00 × 1.25 in. | 0.60 lbs | List price $34.95
About: [*Read by the author - Jewel] New York Times bestselling poet and multi-platinum singer-songwriter Jewel explores her unconventional upbringing and extraordinary life in an inspirational memoir that covers her childhood to fame, marriage, and motherhood.
The price comparison is for this edition
Mp3 una edition from Blackstone Audio Inc (September 15, 2015)
9781504630276 | details & prices | 5.75 × 7.75 × 0.75 in. | 0.20 lbs | List price $29.95
About: [*Read by the author - Jewel] New York Times bestselling poet and multi-platinum singer-songwriter Jewel explores her unconventional upbringing and extraordinary life in an inspirational memoir that covers her childhood to fame, marriage, and motherhood.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.