search for books and compare prices
cover image
Youngblood
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Washington Square Pr
Publication date September 6, 2016
Pages 352
Binding Paperback
Edition Reprint
Book category Adult Fiction
ISBN-13 9781501105753
ISBN-10 1501105752
Dimensions 0 by 5.31 by 8.25 in.
Original list price $16.00
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description: “An urgent and deeply moving novel” (Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times) about a young American soldier struggling to find meaning during the final, dark days of the War in Iraq.

The US military is preparing to withdraw from Iraq, and newly minted lieutenant Jack Porter struggles to accept how it’s happening—through alliances with warlords who have Arab and American blood on their hands. Day after day, Jack tries to assert his leadership in the sweltering, dreary atmosphere of Ashuriyah. But his world is disrupted by the arrival of veteran Sergeant Daniel Chambers, whose aggressive style threatens to undermine the fragile peace that the troops have worked hard to establish.

As Iraq plunges back into chaos and bloodshed and Chambers’s influence over the men grows stronger, Jack becomes obsessed with a strange, tragic tale of reckless love between a lost American soldier and Rana, a local sheikh’s daughter. In search of the truth and buoyed by the knowledge that what he finds may implicate Sergeant Chambers, Jack seeks answers from the enigmatic Rana, and soon their fates become intertwined. Determined to secure a better future for Rana and a legitimate and lasting peace for her country, Jack will defy American command, putting his own future in grave peril.

For fans of Phil Klay’s Redeployment or Ben Fountain’s Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk, Youngblood provides startling new dimension to both the moral complexity of war and its psychological toll.

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9781501105746
 
from Atria Books (February 2, 2016)
9781501105746 | details & prices | 340 pages | 6.25 × 9.25 × 1.00 in. | 1.12 lbs | List price $26.00
About: The Millions “Most Anticipated” Book of 2016 “An urgent and deeply moving novel.
Paperback
Book cover for 9781501105753
 
The price comparison is for this edition
Reprint edition from Washington Square Pr (September 6, 2016)
9781501105753 | details & prices | 352 pages | List price $16.00
About: “An urgent and deeply moving novel” (Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times) about a young American soldier struggling to find meaning during the final, dark days of the War in Iraq.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.