search for books and compare prices
cover image
Bingo's Run
By James A. Levine and Peter Macon (narrator)
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | CD/Spoken Word
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Blackstone Audio Inc
Publication date January 7, 2014
Binding CD/Spoken Word
Edition Mp3 una
Book category Adult Fiction
ISBN-13 9781482950434
ISBN-10 148295043X
Dimensions 0.50 by 5.10 by 5.68 in.
Weight 0.20 lbs.
Original list price $29.95
Other format details audio
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description: [MP3-CD audiobook format in Vinyl case. *NOTE: The MP3-CD format requires a compatible audio CD player.]

[Read by Peter Macon]

For fans of Dave Eggers, Teju Cole, and James McBride comes this extraordinary novel of morality and the redemptive powers of art that offers a glimpse into an African underworld rarely described in fiction.

Meet Bingo, the greatest drug runner in the slums of Kibera, Nairobi, and maybe the world. A teenage grifter, often mistaken for a younger boy, he faithfully serves Wolf, the drug lord of Kibera. Bingo spends his days throwing rocks at Krazi Hari, the prophet of Kibera's garbage mound; ''lipping'' safari tourists of their cash; and hanging out with his best friend, Slo-George, a taciturn fellow whose girth is a mystery to Bingo in a place where there is never enough food. Bingo earns his keep by running ''white'' to a host of clients, including Thomas Hunsa, a reclusive artist whose paintings, rooted in African tradition, move him. But when Bingo witnesses a drug-related murder and Wolf sends him to an orphanage for ''protection,'' Bingo's life changes, and he learns that life itself is the ''run.''

A modern trickster tale that draws on African folklore, Bingo's Run is a wildly original, often very funny, and always moving story of a boy alone in a corrupt and dangerous world who must depend on his wits and inner resources to survive. -- A gripping, original tale with the electric narrative energy of The White Tiger



Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9781400068838
 
from Spiegel & Grau (January 7, 2014)
9781400068838 | details & prices | 287 pages | 5.00 × 8.00 × 1.00 in. | 0.90 lbs | List price $24.00
About: For fans of Dave Eggers, Teju Cole, and James McBride, comes this extraordinary novel of morality and the redemptive powers of art that offers a glimpse into an African underworld rarely described in fiction.
CD/Spoken Word
Book cover for 9781482950434 Book cover for 9781482950441
 
With Peter Macon (other contributor) | Unabridged edition from Blackstone Audio Inc (January 7, 2014)
9781482950441 | details & prices | 5.10 × 5.68 × 0.75 in. | 0.35 lbs | List price $29.95
About: [Read by Peter Macon] For fans of Dave Eggers, Teju Cole, and James McBride comes this extraordinary novel of morality and the redemptive powers of art that offers a glimpse into an African underworld rarely described in fiction.
The price comparison is for this edition
With Peter Macon (other contributor) | Mp3 una edition from Blackstone Audio Inc (January 7, 2014)
9781482950434 | details & prices | 5.10 × 5.68 × 0.50 in. | 0.20 lbs | List price $29.95
About: [MP3-CD audiobook format in Vinyl case.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.