search for books and compare prices
cover image
The White Mountains
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback | School and Library | Reinforced | Prebinding
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Aladdin Paperbacks
Publication date May 13, 2014
Pages 227
Binding Paperback
Edition Reprint
Book category Juvenile Fiction
ISBN-13 9781481414777
ISBN-10 1481414771
Dimensions 0.75 by 5 by 7.50 in.
Weight 0.40 lbs.
Original list price $7.99
Other format details juvenile
Amazon.com says people who bought this book also bought:
The City of Gold and Lead | The Pool of Fire | The City of Gold and Lead | Scared Stiff
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description: Monstrous machines rule the Earth, but a few humans are fighting for freedom in this repackaged start to a classic alien trilogy ideal for fans of Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave.

Will Parker never dreamed he would be the one to rebel against the Tripods. With the approach of his thirteenth birthday, he expected to attend his Capping ceremony as planned and to become connected to the Tripods—huge three-legged machines—that now control all of Earth. But after an encounter with a strange homeless man called Beanpole, Will sets out for the White Mountains, where people are said to be free from the control of the Tripods.

But even with the help of Beanpole and his friends, the journey is long and hard. And with the Tripods hunting for anyone who tries to break free, Will must reach the White Mountains fast. But the longer he’s away from his home, the more the Tripods look for him…and no one can hide from the monstrous machines forever.

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780745110431 Book cover for 9780783891705 Book cover for 9781481414784
 
Reprint edition from Aladdin Paperbacks (May 13, 2014)
9781481414784 | details & prices | 227 pages | 5.75 × 8.50 × 1.00 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.80 lbs | List price $17.99
About: Monstrous machines rule the Earth, but a few humans are fighting for freedom in this repackaged start to a classic alien trilogy ideal for fans of Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave.
Large print edition from G K Hall & Co (September 1, 2000)
9780783891705 | details & prices | 182 pages | 6.00 × 9.25 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.95 lbs | List price $25.95
About: Young Will Parker and his companions make a perilous journey toward an outpost of freedom where they hope to escape from the ruling Tripods, who capture mature human beings and make them docile, obedient servants.
Large print edition from G K Hall & Co (December 1, 1990)
9780745110431 | details & prices | 5.50 × 8.75 × 0.75 in. | 0.80 lbs | List price $16.95
About: Long Ago, The Tripods -- huge, three-legged machines -- descended upon Earth and took control.
Paperback
Book cover for 9780020427117 Book cover for 9780689856723 Book cover for 9781481414777
 
The price comparison is for this edition
Reprint edition from Aladdin Paperbacks (May 13, 2014)
9781481414777 | details & prices | 227 pages | 5.00 × 7.50 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.40 lbs | List price $7.99
About: Monstrous machines rule the Earth, but a few humans are fighting for freedom in this repackaged start to a classic alien trilogy ideal for fans of Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave.
Reissue edition from Simon Pulse (April 1, 2003)
9780689856723 | details & prices | 195 pages | 4.50 × 7.25 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.35 lbs | List price $5.99
About: Young Will Parker and his companions make a perilous journey toward an outpost of freedom where they hope to escape from the ruling Tripods, who capture mature human beings and make them docile, obedient servants.
from Simon Pulse (January 1, 1989)
9780020427117 | details & prices | 4.25 × 7.25 × 0.50 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.25 lbs | List price $4.99
About: Young Will Parker and his companions make a perilous journey toward an outpost of freedom where they hope to escape from the ruling Tripods, who capture mature human beings and make them docile, obedient servants
School and Library
Book cover for 9780027183603 Book cover for 9780689855047
 
35 anv edition from Simon & Schuster (April 1, 2003)
9780689855047 | details & prices | 164 pages | 5.75 × 8.25 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.75 lbs | List price $16.95
About: Young Will Parker and his companions make a perilous journey toward an outpost of freedom where they hope to escape from the ruling Tripods, who capture mature human beings and make them docile, obedient servants.
from Simon & Schuster (April 1, 1967)
9780027183603 | details & prices | 5.75 × 8.50 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.85 lbs | List price $17.95
About: Because the alien rulers of the earth take over the minds of all fourteen-year-olds, three young boys try to escape to the White Mountains
Reinforced
Book cover for 9780606050838
 
from Demco Media (April 1, 2003); titled "White Mountains"
9780606331531 | details & prices | 4.25 × 6.75 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.45 lbs | List price $13.45
About: Young Will Parker and his companions make a perilous journey toward an outpost of freedom where they hope to escape from the ruling Tripods, who capture mature human beings and make them docile, obedient servants.
from Demco Media (January 1, 1989)
9780606050838 | details & prices | 4.25 × 7.25 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.40 lbs | List price $12.97
About: Young Will Parker and his companions make a perilous journey toward an outpost of freedom where they hope to escape from the ruling Tripods, who capture mature human beings and make them docile, obedient servants
Prebinding
Book cover for 9781435266438
 
Reprint edition from Paw Prints (April 25, 2008)
9781435266438 | details & prices | 195 pages | 4.25 × 7.25 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.35 lbs | List price $14.99
About: Long Ago, The Tripods -- huge, three-legged machines -- descended upon Earth and took control.
from Turtleback Books (October 1, 1999)
9780881032604 | details & prices | 4.00 × 7.00 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.40 lbs | List price $13.00
About: Young Will Parker and his companions make a perilous journey toward an outpost of freedom where they hope to escape from the ruling Tripods, who capture mature human beings and make them docile, obedient servants

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.