search for books and compare prices
cover image
Where Things Come Back
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Paperback | CD/Spoken Word | Prebinding
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Atheneum
Publication date July 24, 2012
Pages 228
Binding Paperback
Book category Juvenile Fiction
ISBN-13 9781442413344
ISBN-10 1442413344
Dimensions 0.75 by 5.50 by 8.50 in.
Weight 0.50 lbs.
Original list price $11.99
Other format details juvenile
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description: Winner of the 2012 Michael L. Printz and William C. Morris Awards, this poignant and hilarious story of loss and redemption “explores the process of grief, second chances, and even the meaning of life” (Kirkus Reviews).

In the remarkable, bizarre, and heart-wrenching summer before Cullen Witter’s senior year of high school, he is forced to examine everything he thinks he understands about his small and painfully dull Arkansas town. His cousin overdoses; his town becomes absurdly obsessed with the alleged reappearance of an extinct woodpecker; and most troubling of all, his sensitive, gifted fifteen-year-old brother, Gabriel, suddenly and inexplicably disappears.
     Meanwhile, the crisis of faith spawned by a young missionary’s disillusion in Africa prompts a frantic search for meaning that has far-reaching consequences. As distant as the two stories initially seem, they are woven together through masterful plotting and merge in a surprising and harrowing climax.
     This extraordinary tale from a rare literary voice finds wonder in the ordinary and illuminates the hope of second chances.

Editions
Paperback
Book cover for 9781442413344 Book cover for 9781471125331
 
from Gardners Books (March 12, 2015)
9781471125331 | details & prices | 272 pages | List price $13.30
About: A quirky coming-of-age story, perfect for fans of John Green, David Levithan and Stephen Chbosky.
The price comparison is for this edition
from Atheneum (July 24, 2012)
9781442413344 | details & prices | 228 pages | 5.50 × 8.50 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.50 lbs | List price $11.99
About: Winner of the 2012 Michael L.
CD/Spoken Word
Book cover for 9781480563933 Book cover for 9781480564558
 
With Josh Hurley (other contributor), Fred Berman (other contributor) | Unabridged edition from Brilliance Audio (October 1, 2013)
9781480563933 | details & prices | 6.50 × 5.50 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 10-12 | 0.40 lbs | List price $14.99
About: In the remarkable, bizarre, and heart-rending summer before Cullen Witter’s senior year of high school, everything he thinks he understands about his small and painfully dull Arkansas town vanishes.
With Josh Hurley (other contributor), Fred Berman (other contributor) | Mp3 una edition from Brilliance Audio (October 1, 2013)
9781480564558 | details & prices | 5.37 × 7.50 × 0.50 in. | Rec. grade levels 10-12 | 0.20 lbs | List price $14.99
About: In the remarkable, bizarre, and heart-rending summer before Cullen Witter’s senior year of high school, everything he thinks he understands about his small and painfully dull Arkansas town vanishes.
Prebinding
Book cover for 9780606263535
 
Reprint edition from Turtleback Books (July 24, 2012)
9780606263535 | details & prices | 228 pages | 5.50 × 8.00 × 1.00 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.68 lbs | List price $23.30
About: FOR USE IN SCHOOLS AND LIBRARIES ONLY.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.