search for books and compare prices
cover image
Noah's Wife
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Thorndike Pr
Publication date June 29, 2016
Pages 493
Binding Hardcover
Edition Large print
Book category Adult Fiction
ISBN-13 9781410488237
ISBN-10 1410488233
Dimensions 0 by 5.50 by 8.50 in.
Original list price $30.99
Amazon.com says people who bought this book also bought:
The New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha | The Land of Steady Habits | The Wisdom Books
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description:

In the tradition of Daniel Wallace s "Big Fish" and Eowyn Ivey s "The Snow Child," a gorgeously written, brilliantly introspective, fable-like novel reimagining Noah s Ark for our modern times.
Variously romantic, symbolic, philosophical, feminist, and fanciful, this is an atmospheric tale that meanders to a sweetly rousing conclusion. Forget the ark, forget the patriarch. It's the women who tend to triumph in this modern take on an Old Testament parable. " Kirkus Reviews"
When young minister Noah and his dutiful wife arrive at their new post in the hills, they've reached a gray and wet little town where it s been raining for as long as anyone can remember. Noah s wife is determined to help her husband revive this soggy congregation but soon finds her efforts thwarted by her eccentric new neighbors, among them an idiom-wielding Italian hardware store owner, a towering town matriarch, and a lovelorn zookeeper determined to stand by his charges. Overwhelmed, Noah s wife fails to realize that Noah, too, is battling his own internal crisis.
Soon the river waters rise, flooding the streets of the town and driving scores of wild animals out of the once-renowned zoo. As the water swallows up the houses, the telephone poles, and the single highway out of town, Noah, his wife, and the townspeople must confront not only the savage forces of nature but also the fragile ties that bind them to one another, all before their world is washed away.
Full of whimsy and gentle ironic humor, "Noah s Wife" is a wise and poignant novel that draws on the motifs of the biblical flood story to explore the true meaning of community, to examine the remarkable strength of the human spirit, and to ask whether hope can exist even where faith has been lost.
"

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780399159237 Book cover for 9781410488237
 
The price comparison is for this edition
Large print edition from Thorndike Pr (June 29, 2016)
9781410488237 | details & prices | 493 pages | List price $30.99
About: In the tradition of Daniel Wallace s "Big Fish" and Eowyn Ivey s "The Snow Child," a gorgeously written, brilliantly introspective, fable-like novel reimagining Noah s Ark for our modern times.
from Putnam Pub Group (January 26, 2016)
9780399159237 | details & prices | 387 pages | 5.75 × 8.50 × 1.25 in. | 1.10 lbs | List price $27.00
About: In the tradition of Daniel Wallace’s Big Fish and Eowyn Ivey’s The Snow Child, a gorgeously written and fable-like novel recasting Noah’s Ark as a story of relationships, courage, resilience, and hope.
Paperback
from Putnam Pub Group (January 24, 2017)
9780399575129 | details & prices | 400 pages | 5.50 × 8.25 × 0.81 in. | List price $16.00

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.