search for books and compare prices
cover image
The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Mira Books
Publication date January 31, 2017
Pages 288
Binding Paperback
Book category Adult Fiction
ISBN-13 9780778319801
ISBN-10 0778319806
Dimensions 0.69 by 5.31 by 8 in.
Original list price $15.99
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description: "Phaedra Patrick understands the soul. Eccentric, charming, and wise…The Curious Charms is not just for those who are mourning over love or the past. This book will illuminate your heart." — Nina George, New York Times bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop

Don’t miss this curiously charming debut! In this hauntingly beautiful story of love, loneliness and self-discovery, an endearing widower embarks on a life-changing adventure.

Sixty-nine-year-old Arthur Pepper lives a simple life. He gets out of bed at precisely 7:30 a.m., just as he did when his wife, Miriam, was alive. He dresses in the same gray slacks and mustard sweater vest, waters his fern, Frederica, and heads out to his garden.

But on the one-year anniversary of Miriam’s death, something changes. Sorting through Miriam’s possessions, Arthur finds an exquisite gold charm bracelet he’s never seen before. What follows is a surprising and unforgettable odyssey that takes Arthur from London to Paris and as far as India in an epic quest to find out the truth about his wife’s secret life before they met—a journey that leads him to find hope, healing and self-discovery in the most unexpected places.

Featuring an unforgettable cast of characters with big hearts and irresistible flaws, The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper is a joyous celebration of life’s infinite possibilities.

More Praise:
"Tender, insightful, and surprising… [Arthur Pepper] will instantly capture the hearts of readers who loved Rachel Joyce’s The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Nina George’s The Little Paris Bookshop, and Antoine Laurain’s The Red Notebook." — Library Journal, starred review


Look for Phaedra Patrick’s latest perfectly charming read, Rise and Shine, Benedict Stone, out now!

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780778319337 Book cover for 9781410490254
 
Large print edition from Thorndike Pr (May 4, 2016)
9781410490254 | details & prices | 447 pages | 5.50 × 8.50 × 1.00 in. | 1.06 lbs | List price $35.99
About: In this poignant and curiously charming debut, a lovable widower embarks on a life-changing adventure Sixty-nine-year-old Arthur Pepper lives a simple life.
from Mira Books (May 3, 2016)
9780778319337 | details & prices | 331 pages | 5.50 × 8.50 × 1.00 in. | 0.90 lbs | List price $24.99
About: "Phaedra Patrick understands the soul.
Paperback
Book cover for 9780778319801
 
The price comparison is for this edition
from Mira Books (January 31, 2017)
9780778319801 | details & prices | 288 pages | 5.31 × 8.00 × 0.69 in. | List price $15.99
About: "Phaedra Patrick understands the soul.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.