search for books and compare prices
cover image
Risk: The Science and Politics of Fear
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher McClelland & Stewart Ltd
Publication date January 27, 2009
Binding Paperback
Book category Adult Non-Fiction
ISBN-13 9780771032592
ISBN-10 0771032595
Dimensions 1 by 6 by 9.25 in.
Weight 1.15 lbs.
Availability§ Apply Direct
Original list price $19.99
§As reported by publisher
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description: In the tradition of Malcolm Gladwell, Gardner explores a new way of thinking about the decisions we make.

We are the safest and healthiest human beings who ever lived, and yet irrational fear is growing, with deadly consequences — such as the 1,595 Americans killed when they made the mistake of switching from planes to cars after September 11. In part, this irrationality is caused by those — politicians, activists, and the media — who promote fear for their own gain. Culture also matters. But a more fundamental cause is human psychology.

Working with risk science pioneer Paul Slovic, author Dan Gardner sets out to explain in a compulsively readable fashion just what that statement above means as to how we make decisions and run our lives. We learn that the brain has not one but two systems to analyze risk. One is primitive, unconscious, and intuitive. The other is conscious and rational. The two systems often agree, but occasionally they come to very different conclusions. When that happens, we can find ourselves worrying about what the statistics tell us is a trivial threat — terrorism, child abduction, cancer caused by chemical pollution — or shrugging off serious risks like obesity and smoking.

Gladwell told us about “the black box” of our brains; Gardner takes us inside, helping us to understand how to deconstruct the information we’re bombarded with and respond more logically and adaptively to our world. Risk is cutting-edge reading.

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780771032998
 
from McClelland & Stewart Ltd (April 30, 2008)
9780771032998 | details & prices | 395 pages | 6.25 × 9.25 × 1.25 in. | 1.60 lbs | List price $34.99
About: Book by Gardner, Dan
Paperback
Book cover for 9780771032592
 
The price comparison is for this edition
from McClelland & Stewart Ltd (January 27, 2009)
9780771032592 | details & prices | 6.00 × 9.25 × 1.00 in. | 1.15 lbs | List price $19.99
About: In the tradition of Malcolm Gladwell, Gardner explores a new way of thinking about the decisions we make.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.