search for books and compare prices
cover image
Divisadero
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback | Miscellaneous | CD/Spoken Word
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Bloomsbury Pub Ltd
Publication date September 17, 2007
Pages 288
Binding Hardcover
Book category Adult Fiction
ISBN-13 9780747589242
ISBN-10 0747589240
Dimensions 1.25 by 6.25 by 9.25 in.
Weight 1.35 lbs.
Published in Great Britain
Original list price $29.95
Amazon.com says people who bought this book also bought:
The Cat's Table | Running in the Family | Coming Through Slaughter | The Cat's Table | Anil's Ghost
Summaries and Reviews
Summary
A work by the author of 'The English Patient' and 'Anil's Ghost'.
Amazon.com description: Product Description: Jean-Antoine Watteau (1684 - 1721) was a French painter whose brief career spurred the revival of interest in colour and movement (in the tradition of Correggio and Rubens). He revitalized the waning Baroque style, and indeed moved it to the less severe, more naturalistic, less formally classical Rococo. Watteau is credited with inventing the genre of fêtes galantes: scenes of bucolic and idyllic charm, suffused with an air of theatricality. Some of his best known subjects were drawn from the world of Italian comedy and ballet. Little known during his lifetime beyond a small circle of his devotees, Watteau "was mentioned but seldom in contemporary art criticism and then usually reprovingly". Soon after his death a series of engravings was made after his works, The Recueil Jullienne. The quality of the reproductions, using a mixture of engraving and etching following the practice of the Rubens engravers, varied according to the skill of the people employed by Jean de Jullienne, but was often very high. Such a comprehensive record was hitherto unparalleled. This helped disseminate his influence round Europe and into the decorative arts. Watteau's influence on the arts (not only painting, but the decorative arts, costume, film, poetry, music) was more extensive than that of almost any other 18th-century artist. According to the 1911 Britannica, "in his treatment of the landscape background and of the atmospheric surroundings of the figures can be found the germs of Impressionism". The Watteau dress, a long, sacklike dress with loose pleats hanging from the shoulder at the back, similar to those worn by many of the women in his paintings, is named after him.

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780307266354 Book cover for 9780739327326 Book cover for 9780747589242
 
The price comparison is for this edition
from Bloomsbury Pub Ltd (September 17, 2007)
9780747589242 | details & prices | 288 pages | 6.25 × 9.25 × 1.25 in. | 1.35 lbs | List price $29.95
About: A work by the author of 'The English Patient' and 'Anil's Ghost'.
from Alfred a Knopf Inc (May 29, 2007)
9780307266354 | details & prices | 274 pages | 6.00 × 8.50 × 1.00 in. | 1.10 lbs | List price $25.00
About: Fleeing the violence that destroyed her family and separated her from her sister Claire and Coop, an enigmatic young man who lives with them, Anna finds refuge in an isolated house in south-central France, while she struggles to reconcile the past and present.
Large print edition from Random House Large Print (May 29, 2007)
9780739327326 | details & prices | 445 pages | 5.75 × 8.75 × 1.00 in. | 1.15 lbs | List price $28.00
About: Fleeing the violence that destroyed her family and separated her from her sister Claire and Coop, an enigmatic young man who lives with them, Anna finds refuge in an isolated house in south-central France, while she struggles to reconcile the past and present.
Paperback
Book cover for 9780307279323 Book cover for 9789870410188
 
With Jose Luis Lopez Munoz (other contributor) | from Alfaguara (September 15, 2008)
9789870410188 | details & prices | 309 pages | 6.00 × 9.50 × 0.50 in. | 0.90 lbs | List price $19.99
About: En la mas intima y hermosa de sus historias Michael Ondaatje narra la vida de Anna quien tras un brutal suceso acontecido en su hogar tendra que dejar atras la vida en la granja de California y empezar un nuevo camino en el sur de Francia.
Reprint edition from Vintage Books (April 22, 2008)
9780307279323 | details & prices | 273 pages | 5.25 × 8.25 × 0.75 in. | 0.65 lbs | List price $15.00
About: From the celebrated author of The English Patient and Anil's Ghost comes a remarkable, intimate novel of intersecting lives that ranges across continents and time.
Miscellaneous
from Vintage (April 16, 2009)
9780307372079 | details & prices | List price $15.00
from Doubleday (May 29, 2007)
9780307267023 | details & prices | List price $15.00
CD/Spoken Word
Book cover for 9780739343494
 
With Hope Davis (other contributor) | Unabridged edition from Random House (May 29, 2007)
9780739343494 | details & prices | 5.25 × 6.00 × 1.25 in. | 0.50 lbs | List price $39.95
About: Fleeing the violence that destroyed her family and separated her from her sister Claire and Coop, an enigmatic young man who lives with them, Anna finds refuge in an isolated house in south-central France, while she struggles to reconcile the past and present.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.