search for books and compare prices
cover image
Emergence: The Connected Lives of Ants, Brains, Cities, and Software
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback | Miscellaneous
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Scribner
Publication date September 1, 2002
Binding Paperback
Edition Reprint
Book category Adult Non-Fiction
ISBN-13 9780684868769
ISBN-10 0684868768
Dimensions 0.50 by 5.50 by 8.25 in.
Weight 0.60 lbs.
Original list price $16.00
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description: In the tradition of Being Digital and The Tipping Point, Steven Johnson, acclaimed as a "cultural critic with a poet's heart" (The Village Voice), takes readers on an eye-opening journey through emergence theory and its applications.

A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK
A VOICE LITERARY SUPPLEMENT TOP 25 FAVORITE BOOKS OF THE YEAR
AN ESQUIRE MAGAZINE BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR

Explaining why the whole is sometimes smarter than the sum of its parts, Johnson presents surprising examples of feedback, self-organization, and adaptive learning. How does a lively neighborhood evolve out of a disconnected group of shopkeepers, bartenders, and real estate developers? How does a media event take on a life of its own? How will new software programs create an intelligent World Wide Web?

In the coming years, the power of self-organization -- coupled with the connective technology of the Internet -- will usher in a revolution every bit as significant as the introduction of electricity. Provocative and engaging, Emergence puts you on the front lines of this exciting upheaval in science and thought.

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780684868752
 
from Scribner (September 1, 2001)
9780684868752 | details & prices | 288 pages | 6.25 × 9.25 × 1.25 in. | 1.15 lbs | List price $25.00
About: Combines scientific theory, cultural analysis, and reportage to shed new light on the cutting-edge theory of emergence and its impact on the world.
Paperback
Book cover for 9780684868769
 
The price comparison is for this edition
Reprint edition from Scribner (September 1, 2002)
9780684868769 | details & prices | 5.50 × 8.25 × 0.50 in. | 0.60 lbs | List price $16.00
About: In the tradition of Being Digital and The Tipping Point, Steven Johnson, acclaimed as a "cultural critic with a poet's heart" (The Village Voice), takes readers on an eye-opening journey through emergence theory and its applications.
Miscellaneous
Book cover for 9780743218269
 
from Scribner (September 1, 2001)
9780743218269 | details & prices | List price $25.00
About: In the tradition of Being Digital and The Tipping Point, Steven Johnson, acclaimed as a "cultural critic with a poet's heart" (The Village Voice), takes readers on an eye-opening journey through emergence theory and its applications.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.