search for books and compare prices
cover image
Whispers from the Dead
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback | Cassette/Spoken Word | Reinforced | Prebinding
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Demco Media
Publication date July 1, 1992
Binding Reinforced
Book category Juvenile Fiction
ISBN-13 9780606048460
ISBN-10 0606048464
Dimensions 0.75 by 4.50 by 7.25 in.
Weight 0.35 lbs.
Availability§ Out of Print
Original list price $14.00
Other format details juvenile
§As reported by publisher
Summaries and Reviews
Summary
After making contact with the spirit world during a near-death experience, Sarah moves to Houston with her parents and receives otherworldly messages about a murder committed in her house.
Amazon.com description: Product Description: For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes Whispers from the Dead from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.
 
        Only Sarah senses the horror.
        The minute she steps through the doorway of her family’s new home, Sarah feels a smothering cold mist, and hears the echo of a scream and a heartbreaking whisper in Spanish, “Help me!”
        Sarah feels compelled to find out who is trying to reach her. But can she uncover the mysteries of the past before terror strikes again?
 
“A master at creating compelling suspense novels, Nixon has written yet another carefully plotted, subtly terrifying thriller.” –Publishers Weekly

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780385298094
 
from Delacorte Pr (September 1, 1989)
9780385298094 | details & prices | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | List price $14.95
About: After making contact with the spirit world during a near-death experience, Sarah moves to Houston with her parents and receives otherworldly messages about a murder committed in her house.
Paperback
Book cover for 9780440208099
 
Reprint edition from Laurel Leaf (January 1, 1991)
9780440208099 | details & prices | 180 pages | 4.25 × 7.00 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.20 lbs | List price $6.99
About: A strange voice crying for help in Spanish greets young Sarah and her family when they first set foot in their new home, and soon Sarah is struggling to find out who is trying so desperately to reach her
Cassette/Spoken Word
Unabridged edition from Recorded Books (August 1, 1999)
9780788738296 | details & prices | List price $37.00
About: Book by Joan Lowery Nixon
Reinforced
The price comparison is for this edition
from Demco Media (July 1, 1992)
9780606048460 | details & prices | 4.50 × 7.25 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.35 lbs | List price $14.00
About: A strange voice crying for help in Spanish greets young Sarah and her family when they first set foot in their new home, and soon Sarah is struggling to find out who is trying so desperately to reach her
Prebinding
Book cover for 9780833557766
 
With Joan Lowery Nixon | Reprint edition from Paw Prints (October 4, 2008)
9781439556924 | details & prices | 180 pages | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | List price $14.99
from Turtleback Books (October 1, 1999)
9780833557766 | details & prices | 4.50 × 7.25 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.35 lbs | List price $17.20
About: A strange voice crying for help in Spanish greets young Sarah and her family when they first set foot in their new home, and soon Sarah is struggling to find out who is trying so desperately to reach her

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.