search for books and compare prices
cover image
The Nine Lives of Jacob Tibbs
By Cylin Busby and Gerald Kelley (illustrator)
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback | Library
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Yearling Books
Publication date February 7, 2017
Pages 272
Binding Paperback
Edition Dgs
Book category Juvenile Fiction
ISBN-13 9780553511260
ISBN-10 0553511262
Dimensions 0 by 5.19 by 7.63 in.
Original list price $6.99
Other format details juvenile
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description: For fans of Katherine Applegate’s The One and Only Ivan comes the swashbuckling story of a little cat’s high seas adventures, now available as a Yearling paperback.
 
Captain Natick does not want to take a kitten on board his ship as it sets sail, but his daughter convinces him that the scrawny yellow cat will bring him good luck. Onto the ship the kitten goes, and so begins the adventurous, cliff-hanging, lucky life of Jacob Tibbs, who must learn how to hunt rats, brave a mutiny, survive on a desert island, and, most importantly, navigate the tricky waters of shipboard life, no matter where the waves may take him.

“Original, surprisingly intense. . . . A beautiful piece of writing.” —Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s
 
“Rarely does a book come along that I finish and think, ‘This is going to be a classic.’” —Jo Knowles, author of See You at Harry’s
 
“Emotional resonance and chockablock seafaring adventures combined with coming-of-age themes take this over the top. . . . An outstanding choice.” —SLJ, starred review
 
“Busby has created a story that will enthrall fans of animal fantasy.” —Booklist, starred review
 
“In addition to giving Jacob an engaging narrative voice, Busby fills the novel with nautical lore and lingo, making Jacob’s journey one to savor.” —Publishers Weekly
 
“An absorbing historical coming-of-age adventure.” —Kirkus Reviews

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780553511239
 
from Alfred a Knopf Inc (February 2, 2016)
9780553511239 | details & prices | 263 pages | 5.75 × 8.50 × 1.00 in. | Rec. grade levels 4-6 | 0.80 lbs | List price $16.99
About: For fans of Katherine Applegate's The One and Only Ivan comes the swashbuckling story of a little cat's adventures on the high seas   Captain Natick does not want to take a kitten on board his ship when it sets sail in 1837, but his daughter convinces him that the scrawny yellow cat will bring good luck.
Paperback
Book cover for 9780553511260
 
The price comparison is for this edition
Dgs edition from Yearling Books (February 7, 2017)
9780553511260 | details & prices | 272 pages | List price $6.99
About: For fans of Katherine Applegate’s The One and Only Ivan comes the swashbuckling story of a little cat’s high seas adventures, now available as a Yearling paperback.
Library
Book cover for 9780553511246
 
from Alfred a Knopf Inc (February 2, 2016)
9780553511246 | details & prices | 263 pages | 5.75 × 8.50 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 4-6 | 0.85 lbs | List price $19.99
About: For fans of Katherine Applegate's The One and Only Ivan comes the swashbuckling story of a little cat's adventures on the high seas   Captain Natick does not want to take a kitten on board his ship when it sets sail in 1837, but his daughter convinces him that the scrawny yellow cat will bring good luck.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.