search for books and compare prices
cover image
The Nine Lives of Jacob Tibbs
By Cylin Busby and Gerald Kelley (illustrator)
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback | Library
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Alfred a Knopf Inc
Publication date February 2, 2016
Pages 263
Binding Hardcover
Book category Juvenile Fiction
ISBN-13 9780553511239
ISBN-10 0553511238
Dimensions 1 by 5.75 by 8.50 in.
Weight 0.80 lbs.
Original list price $16.99
Other format details juvenile
Amazon.com says people who bought this book also bought:
The Red Prince | The Goblin's Puzzle
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description: For fans of Katherine Applegate's The One and Only Ivan comes the swashbuckling story of a little cat's adventures on the high seas
 
Captain Natick does not want to take a kitten on board his ship when it sets sail in 1837, but his daughter convinces him that the scrawny yellow cat will bring good luck. Onto the ship the kitten goes, and so begins the adventurous, cliff-hanging, lucky life of Jacob Tibbs. At first, Jacob’s entire world is the ship’s hold, where the sailors heave their heavy loads and long-tailed rats scurry in the darkness. But before long, Jacob’s voyage takes him above deck and onward to adventure. Along the way, Jacob will encounter loss and despair, brave thunderous storms at sea, face down a mutiny, survive on a desert island, and above all, navigate the tricky waters of shipboard life and loyalties.

Praise for The Nine Lives of Jacob Tibbs

"Original, surprisingly intense. . . . A beautiful piece of writing."  --Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times-bestselling author of Counting by 7s

"Rarely does a book come along that I finish and think, 'This is going to be a classic.' This is that book." --Jo Knowles, author of See You at Harry's

"Emotional resonance and chockablock seafaring adventures combined with coming-of-age themes takes this over the top. . . An outstanding choice for fans of middle grade nautical adventure and animal narrator novels." --School Library Journal, starred review

"With engrossing action and great character description and development, Busby has created a story that will enthrall fans of animal fantasy. Kelley's full-page drawings add to this well-crafted tale, which many readers may come to treasure." --Booklist, starred review

"In addition to giving Jacob an engaging narrative voice, Busby fills the novel with nautical lore and lingo, making Jacob's journey one to savor." --Publishers Weekly

"An absorbing historical coming-of-age adventure supported by deeper themes of grief, despair, and determination."  --Kirkus Reviews

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780553511239
 
The price comparison is for this edition
from Alfred a Knopf Inc (February 2, 2016)
9780553511239 | details & prices | 263 pages | 5.75 × 8.50 × 1.00 in. | Rec. grade levels 4-6 | 0.80 lbs | List price $16.99
About: For fans of Katherine Applegate's The One and Only Ivan comes the swashbuckling story of a little cat's adventures on the high seas   Captain Natick does not want to take a kitten on board his ship when it sets sail in 1837, but his daughter convinces him that the scrawny yellow cat will bring good luck.
Paperback
Book cover for 9780553511260
 
Dgs edition from Yearling Books (February 7, 2017)
9780553511260 | details & prices | 272 pages | List price $6.99
About: For fans of Katherine Applegate’s The One and Only Ivan comes the swashbuckling story of a little cat’s high seas adventures, now available as a Yearling paperback.
Library
Book cover for 9780553511246
 
from Alfred a Knopf Inc (February 2, 2016)
9780553511246 | details & prices | 263 pages | 5.75 × 8.50 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 4-6 | 0.85 lbs | List price $19.99
About: For fans of Katherine Applegate's The One and Only Ivan comes the swashbuckling story of a little cat's adventures on the high seas   Captain Natick does not want to take a kitten on board his ship when it sets sail in 1837, but his daughter convinces him that the scrawny yellow cat will bring good luck.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.