search for books and compare prices
cover image
The Seventh Most Important Thing
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback | CD/Spoken Word | Library
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Yearling Books
Publication date October 4, 2016
Pages 288
Binding Paperback
Edition Dgs rep
Book category Juvenile Fiction
ISBN-13 9780553497311
ISBN-10 0553497316
Dimensions 0 by 5.19 by 7.63 in.
Original list price $7.99
Other format details juvenile
Amazon.com says people who bought this book also bought:
Scar Island | The Forgetting | House Arrest | Goodbye Stranger | The Physics of Superheroes | The Odyssey | Eleven
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description: This “luminescent” (Kirkus Reviews) story of anger and art, loss and redemption will appeal to fans of Lisa Graff’s Lost in the Sun and Vince Vawter’s Paperboy.

NOMINATED FOR 16 STATE AWARDS!
AN ALA NOTABLE BOOK
AN ILA TEACHERS CHOICE
A KIRKUS REVIEWS BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR
 
Arthur T. Owens grabbed a brick and hurled it at the trash picker. Arthur had his reasons, and the brick hit the Junk Man in the arm, not the head. But none of that matters to the judge—he is ready to send Arthur to juvie forever. Amazingly, it’s the Junk Man himself who offers an alternative: 120 hours of community service . . . working for him.
 
Arthur is given a rickety shopping cart and a list of the Seven Most Important Things: glass bottles, foil, cardboard, pieces of wood, lightbulbs, coffee cans, and mirrors. He can’t believe it—is he really supposed to rummage through people’s trash? But it isn’t long before Arthur realizes there’s more to the Junk Man than meets the eye, and the “trash” he’s collecting is being transformed into something more precious than anyone could imagine. . . .
 
Inspired by the work of folk artist James Hampton, Shelley Pearsall has crafted an affecting and redemptive novel about discovering what shines within us all, even when life seems full of darkness.
 
“A moving exploration of how there is often so much more than meets the eye.” —Booklist, starred review
 
“There are so many things to love about this book. Remarkable.” —The Christian Science Monitor

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780553497281
 
from Alfred a Knopf Inc (September 8, 2015)
9780553497281 | details & prices | 278 pages | 5.75 × 8.50 × 1.00 in. | Rec. grade levels 4-6 | 0.90 lbs | List price $16.99
About: This “luminescent” (Kirkus Reviews) story of anger and art, loss and redemption will appeal to fans of Lisa Graff’s Lost in the Sun and Vince Vawter’s Paperboy.
Paperback
Book cover for 9780553497311
 
The price comparison is for this edition
Dgs rep edition from Yearling Books (October 4, 2016)
9780553497311 | details & prices | 288 pages | List price $7.99
About: This “luminescent” (Kirkus Reviews) story of anger and art, loss and redemption will appeal to fans of Lisa Graff’s Lost in the Sun and Vince Vawter’s Paperboy.
CD/Spoken Word
Book cover for 9781501256882 Book cover for 9781501256899
 
With Nick Podehl (other contributor) | Mp3 una edition from Brilliance Audio (September 8, 2015)
9781501256899 | details & prices | 5.00 × 5.00 × 0.50 in. | Rec. grade levels 4-6 | 0.50 lbs | List price $19.99
About: This “luminescent” (Kirkus Reviews) story of anger and art, loss and redemption will appeal to fans of Lisa Graff’s Lost in the Sun and Vince Vawter’s Paperboy.
With Nick Podehl (other contributor) | Unabridged edition from Brilliance Audio (September 8, 2015)
9781501256882 | details & prices | 6.75 × 5.75 × 0.50 in. | Rec. grade levels 4-6 | 0.35 lbs | List price $24.99
About: This “luminescent” (Kirkus Reviews) story of anger and art, loss and redemption will appeal to fans of Lisa Graff’s Lost in the Sun and Vince Vawter’s Paperboy.
Library
Book cover for 9780553497298
 
from Alfred a Knopf Inc (September 8, 2015)
9780553497298 | details & prices | 278 pages | 5.75 × 8.25 × 1.00 in. | Rec. grade levels 4-6 | 0.85 lbs | List price $19.99
About: This “luminescent” (Kirkus Reviews) story of anger and art, loss and redemption will appeal to fans of Lisa Graff’s Lost in the Sun and Vince Vawter’s Paperboy.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.