search for books and compare prices
cover image
Erewhon and Erewhon Revisited
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Dover Pubns
Publication date June 17, 2015
Pages 382
Binding Paperback
Book category Adult Fiction
ISBN-13 9780486796376
ISBN-10 048679637X
Dimensions 1 by 4 by 6 in.
Weight 1 lbs.
Original list price $5.50
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description: In Erewhon, an anagram for "nowhere," sickness is a punishable crime, criminals receive compassionate medical treatment, and machines are banned, lest they evolve and take over. Originally published in 1872, the proto-steampunk novel Erewhon won its author immediate recognition as a satirist. SamuelButler followed in the tradition of Voltaire and Swift in creating Erewhon and Erewhon Revisited, which are widely recognized as the nineteenth century's most important works of their kind.
Entertaining and provocative, these books are unsparing in their treatment of the hypocrisies of Victorian society, taking aim at the family, church, and mechanical "progress." George Orwell, no stranger to the depiction of futuristic societies, noted that at the time of Erewhon's writing the author needed "imagination of a very high order to see that machinery could be dangerous as well as useful." Today's readers will also find the book remarkably prescient in its anticipation of future sociological trends.

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780460008815
 
from J M Dent & Sons Ltd (February 1, 1959)
9780460008815 | details & prices | List price $10.95
About: The nineteenth-century English philosopher satirizes the hypocraisy of his own society through sketches depicting an imaginary world
Paperback
Book cover for 9780486796376 Book cover for 9781417902293 Book cover for 9781420947663
 
from Createspace Independent Pub (September 19, 2015); titled "Erewhon & Erewhon Revisited"
9781517416966 | details & prices | 470 pages | 6.00 × 9.00 × 1.06 in. | List price $16.50
The price comparison is for this edition
from Dover Pubns (June 17, 2015)
9780486796376 | details & prices | 382 pages | 4.00 × 6.00 × 1.00 in. | 1.00 lbs | List price $5.50
About: In Erewhon, an anagram for "nowhere," sickness is a punishable crime, criminals receive compassionate medical treatment, and machines are banned, lest they evolve and take over.
from Digireads.Com (January 31, 2013)
9781420947663 | details & prices | 254 pages | 6.00 × 8.75 × 0.75 in. | 0.80 lbs | List price $10.99
About: One of Samuel Butler's most famous works, "Erewhon" is the story of a fictional country in which Butler satirizes the Victorian society of the time in which he lived.
With Lewis Mumford (other contributor) | from Kessinger Pub Co (April 30, 2005)
9781417902293 | details & prices | 656 pages | List price $48.95
About: 1927.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.