search for books and compare prices
cover image
The Cay
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback | CD/Spoken Word | Cassette/Spoken Word | Reinforced | Prebinding
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Yearling Books
Publication date May 1, 2002
Pages 137
Binding Paperback
Book category Juvenile Fiction
ISBN-13 9780440416630
ISBN-10 0440416639
Dimensions 0.50 by 5 by 8 in.
Weight 0.24 lbs.
Original list price $6.99
Summaries and Reviews
Summary
Blinded when his ship is torpedoed, Philip is marooned on an island with an elderly West Indian who shows him how to survive and helps him to acquire a new kind of vision. An ALA Notable Book. Reprint.
Amazon.com description: Product Description: For fans of Hatchet and Island of the Blue Dolphins comes Theodore Taylor’s classic bestseller and Lewis Carroll Shelf Award winner, The Cay.
   Phillip is excited when the Germans invade the small island of Curaçao. War has always been a game to him, and he’s eager to glimpse it firsthand–until the freighter he and his mother are traveling to the United States on is torpedoed.
   When Phillip comes to, he is on a small raft in the middle of the sea. Besides Stew Cat, his only companion is an old West Indian, Timothy. Phillip remembers his mother’s warning about black people: “They are different, and they live differently.”
    But by the time the castaways arrive on a small island, Phillip’s head injury has made him blind and dependent on Timothy.

“Mr. Taylor has provided an exciting story…The idea that all humanity would benefit from this special form of color blindness permeates the whole book…The result is a story with a high ethical purpose but no sermon.”—New York Times Book Review
 
“A taut tightly compressed story of endurance and revelation…At once barbed and tender, tense and fragile—as Timothy would say, ‘outrageous good.’”—Kirkus Reviews
 
* “Fully realized setting…artful, unobtrusive use of dialect…the representation of a hauntingly deep love, the poignancy of which is rarely achieved in children’s literature.”—School Library Journal, Starred
 
“Starkly dramatic, believable and compelling.”—Saturday Review
 
“A tense and moving experience in reading.”—Publishers Weekly
 
“Eloquently underscores the intrinsic brotherhood of man.”—Booklist
 
"This is one of the best survival stories since Robinson Crusoe."—The Washington Star

· A New York Times Best Book of the Year
· A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year
· A Horn Book Honor Book
· An American Library Association Notable Book
· A Publishers Weekly Children’s Book to Remember
· A Child Study Association’s Pick of Children’s Books of the Year
· Jane Addams Book Award
· Lewis Carroll Shelf Award
· Commonwealth Club of California: Literature Award
· Southern California Council on Literature for Children and Young People Award
· Woodward School Annual Book Award
· Friends of the Library Award, University of California at Irvine

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780385079068 Book cover for 9780435121792 Book cover for 9781557361639
 
With Taylor Theodore | Large print edition from Cornerstone Books (June 1, 1990)
9781557361639 | details & prices | 154 pages | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | List price $15.95
About: When the freighter on which they are traveling is torpedoed by a German submarine during World War II, an adolescent white boy, blinded by a blow on the head, and an old black man are stranded on a tiny Caribbean island where the boy acquires a new kind of vision, courage, and love from his old companion.
Reissue edition from Delacorte Pr (May 1, 1989)
9780385079068 | details & prices | 137 pages | 5.75 × 8.50 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.65 lbs | List price $16.99
About: When the freighter on which they are traveling is torpedoed by a German submarine during World War II, a twelve-year-old white boy, blinded by a blow on the head, and an old Negro are stranded on a small desert island in the Caribbean where the boy acquires a new kind of vision, courage, and love from his old companion.
New edition from Gardners Books (October 29, 1973)
9780435121792 | details & prices | 137 pages | 5.00 × 7.50 × 0.50 in. | 0.45 lbs | List price $15.80
About: One of a series of top-quality fiction for schools, this adventure with a double theme won eight major literary awards in the USA.
Paperback
Book cover for 9780380001422 Book cover for 9780380010035 Book cover for 9780440229124 Book cover for 9780440416630 Book cover for 9780582416734
 
Reprint edition from Laurel Leaf (April 1, 2003)
9780440229124 | details & prices | 137 pages | 4.25 × 6.75 × 0.50 in. | Rec. grade levels 4-6 | 0.20 lbs | List price $6.50
About: Follows the adventures, joys, and heartaches of a privileged and prejudiced Dutch boy stranded on a remote tropical island with a kindly and wise West Indian, following an enemy attack on a boat leaving Curaðcao.
The price comparison is for this edition
from Yearling Books (May 1, 2002)
9780440416630 | details & prices | 137 pages | 5.00 × 8.00 × 0.50 in. | Rec. grade levels 3-4 | 0.24 lbs | List price $6.99
About: Follows the adventures, joys, and heartaches of a privileged and prejudiced Dutch boy stranded on a remote tropical island with a kindly and wise West Indian, following an enemy attack on a boat leaving Curacao.
With Derek Strange | from Prentice Hall (February 1, 2000)
9780582416734 | details & prices | 5.00 × 7.75 × 0.20 in. | Rec. grade levels 2-3 | 0.01 lbs | List price $9.00
About: When the freighter on which they are traveling is torpedoed by a German submarine during World War II, an adolescent white boy, blinded by a blow on the head, and an old black man are stranded on a tiny Caribbean island where the boy acquires a new kind of vision, courage, and love from his old companion.
Reissue edition from Flare (July 1, 1995)
9780380010035 | details & prices | 4.25 × 7.00 × 0.50 in. | Rec. grade levels 3-4 | 0.15 lbs | List price $4.95
About: Follows the adventures, joys, and heartaches of a privileged and prejudiced Dutch boy stranded on a remote tropical island with a kindly and wise West Indian, following an enemy attack on a boat leaving Curacao
Reissue edition from Flare (July 1, 1995)
9789990853612 | details & prices | List price $0.02
from Camelot (March 1, 1995)
9780380001422 | details & prices | 5.25 × 7.75 × 0.50 in. | Rec. grade levels 3-4 | 0.20 lbs | List price $4.99
About: Follows the adventures, joys, and heartaches of a privileged and prejudiced Dutch boy stranded on a remote tropical island with a kindly and wise West Indian, following an enemy attack on a boat leaving Curacao
CD/Spoken Word
Book cover for 9781400099061
 
With Michael Boatman (other contributor) | Unabridged edition from Listening Library (February 8, 2005)
9781400099061 | details & prices | 4.75 × 5.50 × 1.00 in. | Rec. grade levels 4-6 | 0.40 lbs | List price $25.00
About: Follows the adventures, joys, and heartaches of a privileged and prejudiced Dutch boy stranded on a remote tropical island with a kindly and wise West Indian, following an enemy attack on a boat leaving Curaðcao.
Cassette/Spoken Word
Book cover for 9780807282878 Book cover for 9781400099054
 
With Michael Boatman (other contributor) | Unabridged edition from Listening Library (February 8, 2005)
9781400099054 | details & prices | 4.50 × 7.00 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 4-6 | 0.22 lbs | List price $18.00
About: Follows the adventures, joys, and heartaches of a privileged and prejudiced Dutch boy stranded on a remote tropical island with a kindly and wise West Indian, following an enemy attack on a boat leaving Curaðcao.
from Listening Library (June 1, 2000)
9780807282878 | details & prices | 4.50 × 7.00 × 0.75 in. | 0.20 lbs | List price $9.99
About: Phillip's mother didn't like black people.
Reinforced
Book cover for 9780606025843 Book cover for 9780606048897 Book cover for 9780606211048
 
from Demco Media (December 1, 2002); titled "Cay"
9780606211048 | details & prices | 5.25 × 7.75 × 0.50 in. | Rec. grade levels 3-4 | 0.35 lbs | List price $14.55
About: Follows the adventures, joys, and heartaches of a privileged and prejudiced Dutch boy stranded on a remote tropical island with a kindly and wise West Indian, following an enemy attack on a boat leaving Curacao.
from Demco Media (July 1, 1995)
9780606025843 | details & prices | 4.50 × 7.25 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 3-4 | 0.30 lbs | List price $12.26
About: Follows the adventures, joys, and heartaches of a privileged and prejudiced Dutch boy stranded on a remote tropical island with a kindly and wise West Indian, following an enemy attack on a boat leaving Curacao
from Demco Media (March 1, 1995)
9780606048897 | details & prices | 5.25 × 7.75 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 3-4 | 0.40 lbs | List price $12.26
About: Follows the adventures, joys, and heartaches of a privileged and prejudiced Dutch boy stranded on a remote tropical island with a kindly and wise West Indian, following an enemy attack on a boat leaving Curacao
Prebinding
Book cover for 9780808553007 Book cover for 9781439555163
 
Reprint edition from Paw Prints (October 1, 2008)
9781439555163 | details & prices | 137 pages | 5.50 × 7.75 × 0.50 in. | 0.38 lbs | List price $15.50
from Turtleback Books (April 1, 2003); titled "Cay"
9780613722827 | details & prices | 4.50 × 7.25 × 0.50 in. | Rec. grade levels 4-6 | 0.30 lbs | List price $17.20
About: Follows the adventures, joys, and heartaches of a privileged and prejudiced Dutch boy stranded on a remote tropical island with a kindly and wise West Indian, following an enemy attack on a boat leaving Curaðcao.
from Turtleback Books (July 1, 2002)
9780613337489 | details & prices | 5.25 × 7.75 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 3-4 | 0.46 lbs | List price $17.20
About: Follows the adventures, joys, and heartaches of a privileged and prejudiced Dutch boy stranded on a remote tropical island with a kindly and wise West Indian, following an enemy attack on a boat leaving Curacao.
from Turtleback Books (October 1, 1999)
9780808553007 | details & prices | 3.25 × 10.50 × 0.75 in. | 0.30 lbs | List price $12.65
About: Now available in a paperback edition comes the award-winning story of two castaways who have much to learn from each other when the Germans invade the small island of Curacao during World War II.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.