search for books and compare prices
cover image
Nightmare
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback | Miscellaneous | Library | Reinforced
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Yearling Books
Publication date August 1, 2005
Pages 166
Binding Paperback
Edition Reprint
Book category Juvenile Fiction
ISBN-13 9780440237730
ISBN-10 0440237734
Dimensions 0.50 by 5.25 by 7.75 in.
Weight 0.25 lbs.
Availability§ Publisher Out of Stock
Original list price $6.99
§As reported by publisher
Summaries and Reviews
Summary
Emily is sent to Camp Excel, a camp for underachievers, where she discovers a murderer on the staff who might provide an explanation for her recurring nightmares. An ALA Quick Pick. Reprint.
Amazon.com description: Product Description:

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes Nightmare from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.
 
        Emily has never fit in with her overachieving family. Instead of getting straight As, she sits in the back row and hides behind her hair. As a result, her parents have enrolled her for the summer at Camp Excel, an academic camp for underachievers. Emily doesn’t want to go, and not just because she thinks it isn’t necessary. Since she was a child, she’s been plagued by a recurring nightmare. And something about this camp feels familiar. Has she been there before? Why can’t she remember?
        With the help of two new friends, Emily discovers that her nightmare is not just in her head. Someone at Camp Excel has a secret and will do anything—even kill—to keep Emily from uncovering the truth.
 
“A taut, well-constructed mystery.” –Kirkus Reviews
 
“Readers will once again fall under Nixon’s spell as they enjoy this page-turner.” –School Library Journal
 
“[An] inimitable blend of horror and whodunit.” –Booklist
 
“[Nightmare has] taut suspenseful passages…[and] clever false leads.” –Publishers Weekly



Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780385730266 Book cover for 9780786269112
 
Large print edition from Thorndike Pr (September 20, 2004)
9780786269112 | details & prices | 230 pages | 5.50 × 8.50 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.85 lbs | List price $22.95
About: Emily is sent to a camp for underachievers where she discovers a murderer on the staff who might provide an explanation for her recurring nightmares.
from Delacorte Pr (September 1, 2003)
9780385730266 | details & prices | 5.75 × 8.75 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.70 lbs | List price $15.95
About: Emily is sent to a camp for underachievers where she discovers a murderer on the staff who might provide an explanation for her recurring nightmares.
Paperback
Book cover for 9780440237730
 
The price comparison is for this edition
Reprint edition from Yearling Books (August 1, 2005)
9780440237730 | details & prices | 166 pages | 5.25 × 7.75 × 0.50 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.25 lbs | List price $6.99
About: Emily is sent to a camp for underachievers where she discovers a murderer on the staff who might provide an explanation for her recurring nightmares.
Miscellaneous
With Joan Lowery Nixon | from Yearling Books (December 18, 2007)
9780307433589 | details & prices | 176 pages | List price $6.50
Library
Book cover for 9780385901512
 
from Delacorte Pr (September 1, 2003)
9780385901512 | details & prices | 5.75 × 8.75 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.80 lbs | List price $17.99
About: Emily is sent to a camp for underachievers where she discovers a murderer on the staff who might provide an explanation for her recurring nightmares.
Reinforced
Book cover for 9780606339742
 
from Demco Media (August 9, 2005)
9780606339742 | details & prices | 5.00 × 7.50 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.40 lbs | List price $13.99
About: Emily is sent to a camp for underachievers where she discovers a murderer on the staff who might provide an explanation for her recurring nightmares.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.