search for books and compare prices
cover image
The Haunting
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback | Miscellaneous | Prebinding
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Laurel Leaf
Publication date October 1, 2000
Pages 184
Binding Paperback
Book category Juvenile Fiction
ISBN-13 9780440220084
ISBN-10 0440220084
Dimensions 0.75 by 4.25 by 7 in.
Weight 0.20 lbs.
Original list price $5.50
Summaries and Reviews
Summary
When her family decides to move into the old family plantation house, Graymoss, Lia must muster the courage to chase away the evil spirits who reside there in search of their revenge. Reprint.
Amazon.com description: Product Description: For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes The Haunting from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.
 
        The walls whisper. The ceilings shriek. No one can survive a night of terror inside Graymoss. The old plantation house has been in Lia’s family since the Civil War, but it’s been possessed for generations by a malicious spirit, and Lia’s family has always stayed far away.
        Now her parents have decided to move into Graymoss, and Lia must either change their minds or chase away the horror lurking inside the old house. Using clues from her great-great-grandmother’s diary and an old copy of Favorite Tales of Edgar Allan Poe, Lia must discover what—or who—the evil wants.
 
“Nixon creates a spooky setting fairly dripping in atmosphere, then spins an ever-tightening thread of tension.” –Kirkus Reviews
 
“A book that will please mystery fans…[and a] plot [that] keeps readers guessing until the end.” –School Library Journal
 
“Nixon has woven a tale that grabs and holds her readers…It’s a really fun read!” –VOYA
 
“A page-turner that will satisfy mystery and ghost story fans.” –Booklist

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780385322478 Book cover for 9780786227396
 
Large print edition from Thorndike Pr (December 1, 2000)
9780786227396 | details & prices | 5.50 × 8.50 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.90 lbs | List price $21.95
About: When her mother inherits an old plantation house in the Louisiana countryside, fifteen-year-old Lia seeks to rid it of the evil spirit that haunts it.
from Delacorte Pr (August 1, 1998)
9780385322478 | details & prices | 184 pages | 6.00 × 9.00 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.75 lbs | List price $15.95
About: When her mother inherits an old plantation house in the Louisiana countryside, fifteen-year-old Lia seeks to rid it of the evil spirit that haunts it
Paperback
Book cover for 9780440220084 Book cover for 9780440420026
 
from Yearling Books (February 8, 2005)
9780440420026 | details & prices | 184 pages | 5.25 × 7.50 × 0.50 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.30 lbs | List price $5.50
About: When her mother inherits an old plantation house in the Louisiana countryside, fifteen-year-old Lia seeks to rid it of the evil spirit that haunts it.
The price comparison is for this edition
from Laurel Leaf (October 1, 2000)
9780440220084 | details & prices | 184 pages | 4.25 × 7.00 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.20 lbs | List price $5.50
About: When her mother inherits an old plantation house in the Louisiana countryside, fifteen-year-old Lia seeks to rid it of the evil spirit that haunts it.
Miscellaneous
With Joan Lowery Nixon | from Laurel Leaf (December 18, 2007)
9780307433916 | details & prices | 192 pages | List price $6.50
Prebinding
Book cover for 9780613283700
 
With Joan Lowery Nixon | Reprint edition from Paw Prints (November 13, 2008)
9781439520956 | details & prices | 184 pages | List price $15.50
About: Fifteen-year-old Lia comes from a long line of courageous women, dating back to a Civil War survivor who single-handedly saved her Louisiana plantation house, Graymoss, from destruction.
With Joan Lowery Nixon | Reprint edition from Paw Prints (October 10, 2008)
9781439561102 | details & prices | 184 pages | 5.25 × 7.75 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.44 lbs | List price $14.99
About: Fifteen-year-old Lia comes from a long line of courageous women, dating back to a Civil War survivor who single-handedly saved her Louisiana plantation house, Graymoss, from destruction.
from Turtleback Books (March 1, 2001)
9780613283700 | details & prices | 4.50 × 7.25 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.35 lbs | List price $16.60
About: When her mother inherits an old plantation house in the Louisiana countryside, fifteen-year-old Lia seeks to rid it of the evil spirit that haunts it.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.