search for books and compare prices
cover image
Sweetbitter
By Alex Mckenna (narrator) and Stephanie Danler
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | CD/Spoken Word
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Random House
Publication date May 24, 2016
Binding CD/Spoken Word
Edition Unabridged
Book category Adult Fiction
ISBN-13 9780399566288
ISBN-10 0399566287
Dimensions 1.10 by 5.10 by 5.90 in.
Weight 0.55 lbs.
Original list price $45.00
Other format details audio
Amazon.com says people who bought this book also bought:
Before the Fall | Commonwealth Low Price CD | Nutshell | The Nest Low Price CD | The Girls | Truly Madly Guilty | Hillbilly Elegy
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description: INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER  *  A thrilling novel of the senses and a coming-of-age tale, following a small-town girl into the electrifying world of New York City and the education of a lifetime at one of the most exclusive restaurants in Manhattan.  Perfect for readers of Kitchen Confidential and Blood, Bones and Butter. 

Twenty-two, and knowing no one, Tess leaves home to begin her adult life in New York City. Thus begins a year that is both enchanting and punishing, in a low-level job at “the best restaurant in New York City.” Grueling hours and a steep culinary learning curve awaken her to the beauty of oysters, the finest Champagnes, the appellations of Burgundy. At the same time, she opens herself to friendships—and love—set against the backdrop of dive bars and late nights.  As her appetites sharpen—for food and wine, but also for knowledge, experience, and belonging—Tess is drawn into a darkly alluring love triangle that will prove to be her most exhilarating and painful lesson of all. 
 
Stephanie Danler deftly conjures the nonstop and purely adrenalized world of the restaurant—conversations interrupted, phrases overheard, and suggestions below the surface. Evoking the infinite possibility of being young in New York with heart-stopping accuracy, Sweetbitter is ultimately about the power of what remains after disillusionment, and the wisdom that comes from experience, sweet and bitter.


From the Hardcover edition.

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9781101875940
 
from Alfred a Knopf Inc (May 24, 2016)
9781101875940 | details & prices | 356 pages | 6.00 × 9.00 × 1.50 in. | 1.22 lbs | List price $25.00
About: INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER  *  A thrilling novel of the senses and a coming-of-age tale, following a small-town girl into the electrifying world of New York City and the education of a lifetime at one of the most exclusive restaurants in Manhattan.
CD/Spoken Word
Book cover for 9780399566288
 
The price comparison is for this edition
With Alex Mckenna (other contributor) | Unabridged edition from Random House (May 24, 2016)
9780399566288 | details & prices | 5.10 × 5.90 × 1.10 in. | 0.55 lbs | List price $45.00
About: INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER  *  A thrilling novel of the senses and a coming-of-age tale, following a small-town girl into the electrifying world of New York City and the education of a lifetime at one of the most exclusive restaurants in Manhattan.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.