search for books and compare prices
cover image
Where the Red Fern Grows
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for Where the Red Fern Grows: Hardcover | Miscellaneous | Cassette/Spoken Word | Reinforced | Prebinding
Jump down to see edition details for Where the Red Fern Grows: Hardcover | Paperback | Miscellaneous | CD/Spoken Word | Cassette/Spoken Word | Reinforced | Prebinding
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Delacorte Pr
Publication date May 3, 2016
Pages 289
Binding Hardcover
Edition Anv
Book category Juvenile Fiction
ISBN-13 9780399551239
ISBN-10 0399551239
Dimensions 1.25 by 6 by 8.50 in.
Weight 0.90 lbs.
Original list price $16.99
Other format details juvenile
Amazon.com says people who bought this book also bought:
Wish | Island of the Blue Dolphins | Indian in the Cupboard | Hatchet | A Wrinkle in Time | Bridge to Terabithia | Old Yeller
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description: For fans of Old Yeller and Shiloh, Where the Red Fern Grows is a beloved classic that captures the powerful bond between man and man’s best friend. This special edition includes new material, including a note to readers from Newbery Medal winner and Printz Honor winner Clare Vanderpool, a letter from Wilson Rawls to aspiring writers, original jacket artwork, and more.
 
    Billy has long dreamt of owning not one, but two dogs. So when he’s finally able to save up enough money for two pups to call his own—Old Dan and Little Ann—he’s ecstatic. It’s true that times are tough, but together they’ll roam the hills of the Ozarks.
   Soon Billy and his hounds become the finest hunting team in the valley. Stories of their great achievements spread throughout the region, and the combination of Old Dan’s brawn, Little Ann’s brains, and Billy’s sheer will seems unbeatable. But tragedy awaits these determined hunters—now friends—and Billy learns that hope can grow out of despair.
 
Praise for Where the Red Fern Grows

A Top 100 Children’s Novel, School Library Journal
A Must-Read for Kids 9 to 14, NPR
A Great American Read's Selection (PBS)
Winner of Multiple State Awards

Over 14 million copies in print!

“A rewarding book . . . [with] careful, precise observation, all of it rightly phrased....Very touching.” —The New York Times Book Review

“One of the great classics of children’s literature . . . Any child who doesn’t get to read this beloved and powerfully emotional book has missed out on an important piece of childhood for the last 40-plus years.” —Common Sense Media

“An exciting tale of love and adventure you’ll never forget.” —School Library Journal  

“A book of unadorned naturalness.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Written with so much feeling and sentiment that adults as well as children are drawn [in] with a passion.” —Arizona Daily Star

“It’s a story about a young boy and his two hunting dogs and . . . I can’t even go on without getting a little misty.” —The Huffington Post

“We tear up just thinking about it.” —Time on the film adaptation

Editions
This edition contains multiple works--typically stories or entire novels--that are found in different collections. Below find each work in this edition grouped by how you can find each.
Editions for the work Where the Red Fern Grows
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780399551239
 
The price comparison is for this edition
Anv edition from Delacorte Pr (May 3, 2016)
9780399551239 | details & prices | 289 pages | 6.00 × 8.50 × 1.25 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.90 lbs | List price $16.99
This edition also contains Where the Red Fern Grows
About: For fans of Old Yeller and Shiloh, Where the Red Fern Grows is a beloved classic that captures the powerful bond between man and man’s best friend.
Miscellaneous
Book cover for 9780739375686
 
Unabridged edition from Findaway World Llc (August 25, 2006)
9781598953046 | details & prices | 5.25 × 7.25 × 0.75 in. | 0.26 lbs | List price $29.99
This edition also contains Where the Red Fern Grows
With Anthony Heald (other contributor) | from Findaway World Llc (August 25, 2006)
9780739375686 | details & prices | List price $29.99
This edition also contains Where the Red Fern Grows
About: FOR USE IN SCHOOLS AND LIBRARIES ONLY.
Cassette/Spoken Word
Book cover for 9780807282793
 
from Listening Library (June 1, 2000)
9780807282793 | details & prices | 4.50 × 7.00 × 0.75 in. | 0.20 lbs | List price $9.99
About: A young boy living in the Ozarks achieves his heart's desire when he becomes the owner of two redbone hounds and teaches them to be champion hunters.
Reinforced
Book cover for 9780606001083
 
from Demco Media (September 1, 1989)
9780606001083 | details & prices | 4.50 × 7.25 × 1.00 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.45 lbs | List price $15.10
This edition also contains Where the Red Fern Grows
About: Young Billy having purchased two dogs for fifty dollars is determined to create the valley's best hunting team
Prebinding
Book cover for 9780613835343
 
from Turtleback Books (September 1, 1996)
9780613835343 | details & prices | 5.50 × 7.50 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.55 lbs | List price $17.20
This edition also contains Where the Red Fern Grows
About: Having purchased two dogs for fifty dollars, young Billy is determined to create the valley's best hunting team
Editions for the work Where the Red Fern Grows
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780399551239
 
The price comparison is for this edition
Anv edition from Delacorte Pr (May 3, 2016)
9780399551239 | details & prices | 289 pages | 6.00 × 8.50 × 1.25 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.90 lbs | List price $16.99
This edition also contains Where the Red Fern Grows
About: For fans of Old Yeller and Shiloh, Where the Red Fern Grows is a beloved classic that captures the powerful bond between man and man’s best friend.
Paperback
Book cover for 9780375806810 Book cover for 9780553274295 Book cover for 9780807218044
 
from Random House Childrens Books (May 1, 2000)
9780375806810 | details & prices | List price $2.99
About: A loving threesome, they ranged the dark hills and river bottoms of Cherokee country.
With Anthony Heald (other contributor) | Pap/cas edition from Listening Library (January 1, 1995)
9780807275139 | details & prices | 7.25 × 9.75 × 2.00 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 1.25 lbs | List price $44.00
About: A young boy living in the Ozarks achieves his heart's desire when he becomes the owner of two redbone hounds and teaches them to be champion hunters.
Reissue edition from Starfire (September 1, 1989)
9780553274295 | details & prices | 4.25 × 7.25 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.30 lbs | List price $6.50
About: Young Billy having purchased two dogs for fifty dollars is determined to create the valley's best hunting team
Pap/cas edition from Listening Library (June 1, 1985)
9780807218044 | details & prices | 10.25 × 10.00 × 1.25 in. | 0.45 lbs | List price $17.00
About: A young boy living in the Ozarks achieves his heart's desire when he becomes the owner of two redbone hounds and teaches them to be champion hunters.
Miscellaneous
Book cover for 9780739375686
 
Unabridged edition from Findaway World Llc (August 25, 2006)
9781598953046 | details & prices | 5.25 × 7.25 × 0.75 in. | 0.26 lbs | List price $29.99
This edition also contains Where the Red Fern Grows
With Anthony Heald (other contributor) | from Findaway World Llc (August 25, 2006)
9780739375686 | details & prices | List price $29.99
This edition also contains Where the Red Fern Grows
About: FOR USE IN SCHOOLS AND LIBRARIES ONLY.
CD/Spoken Word
Book cover for 9780307281692
 
With Anthony Heald (other contributor) | Unabridged edition from Listening Library (October 11, 2005)
9780307281692 | details & prices | 5.50 × 6.25 × 1.00 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.40 lbs | List price $29.95
About: A young boy living in the Ozarks achieves his heart's desire when he becomes the owner of two redbone hounds and teaches them to be champion hunters.
Cassette/Spoken Word
Book cover for 9780553451320 Book cover for 9780807204689 Book cover for 9780807275122
 
With Anthony Heald (other contributor) | Unabridged edition from Listening Library (August 1, 2001)
9780807204689 | details & prices | 4.75 × 7.25 × 1.25 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.40 lbs | List price $26.00
About: A young boy living in the Ozarks achieves his heart's desire when he becomes the owner of two redbone hounds and teaches them to be champion hunters.
With Anthony Heald (other contributor) | Unabridged edition from Listening Library (February 1, 1995)
9780807275122 | details & prices | 6.75 × 9.00 × 1.25 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.90 lbs | List price $40.00
About: A young boy living in the Ozarks achieves his heart's desire when he becomes the owner of two redbone hounds and teaches them to be champion hunters.
With Pamela Cox | from Bantam Audio (September 1, 1989)
9780553451320 | details & prices | 4.50 × 5.25 × 1.00 in. | 0.35 lbs | List price $18.00
This edition also contains The Sixth Form at St. Clare's
About: This classic about a ten-year-old boy growing up in the Ozark mountains with his inseparable pair of coonhounds -- will warm the hearts of young and old alike.
Reinforced
Book cover for 9780606001083
 
from Demco Media (September 1, 1989)
9780606001083 | details & prices | 4.50 × 7.25 × 1.00 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.45 lbs | List price $15.10
This edition also contains Where the Red Fern Grows
About: Young Billy having purchased two dogs for fifty dollars is determined to create the valley's best hunting team
Prebinding
Book cover for 9780613835343 Book cover for 9780881030587
 
from Turtleback Books (October 1, 1999)
9780881030587 | details & prices | 4.50 × 7.00 × 1.00 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.40 lbs | List price $17.20
About: Young Billy having purchased two dogs for fifty dollars is determined to create the valley's best hunting team
from Turtleback Books (September 1, 1996)
9780613835343 | details & prices | 5.50 × 7.50 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 7-9 | 0.55 lbs | List price $17.20
This edition also contains Where the Red Fern Grows
About: Having purchased two dogs for fifty dollars, young Billy is determined to create the valley's best hunting team

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.