search for books and compare prices
cover image
Sir Gawain and the Green Knight: A New Verse Translation
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher W W Norton & Co Inc
Publication date October 30, 2007
Pages 198
Binding Hardcover
Book category Adult Non-Fiction
ISBN-13 9780393060485
ISBN-10 0393060489
Dimensions 1 by 6.25 by 9.50 in.
Weight 1 lbs.
Original list price $25.95
Amazon.com says people who bought this book also bought:
Pearl | History of the Kings of Britain | Beowulf | The Canterbury Tales | Beowulf | Beowulf | Beowulf | The Death of King Arthur | The Mabinogion
Summaries and Reviews
Summary
A poetic translation of the classic Arthurian story is an edition in alliterative language and rhyme of the epic confrontation between a young Round Table hero and a green-clad stranger who compels him to meet his destiny at the Green Chapel. 30,000 first printing.
Amazon.com description: Product Description:

A spellbinding poetic translation of this six hundred year-old Arthurian story of beheading, romance, and the supernatural.

"Promises to drive the green force of the old poem through the Armitage fuse and set it a-buddin' and a-bloomin' for the new millennium."―Seamus Heaney, Nobel Laureate, best-selling translator of BeowulfCom posed in the late fourteenth century by an anonymous author in the English provinces, this remarkable epic has enchanted readers for generations. The work itself is an unparalleled masterpiece of alliteration and rhyme, beginning at Christmastime in Camelot, when the festivities of the Round Table are interrupted by the sudden appearance of a fearful stranger, green from head to foot. A young knight, Gawain, rises to the challenge. What follows is a test of nerve and heart as Gawain travels north to meet his destiny at the Green Chapel in a year's time. Following in the tradition of Seamus Heaney, Simon Armitage, one of England's leading poets, has produced a virtuoso new translation that resounds with both clarity and verve.

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780393060485
 
The price comparison is for this edition
from W W Norton & Co Inc (October 30, 2007)
9780393060485 | details & prices | 198 pages | 6.25 × 9.50 × 1.00 in. | 1.02 lbs | List price $25.95
About: A poetic translation of the classic Arthurian story is an edition in alliterative language and rhyme of the epic confrontation between a young Round Table hero and a green-clad stranger who compels him to meet his destiny at the Green Chapel.
Paperback
Book cover for 9780393334159
 
Reprint edition from W W Norton & Co Inc (November 2, 2008)
9780393334159 | details & prices | 198 pages | 5.50 × 8.25 × 0.75 in. | 0.38 lbs | List price $14.95
About: "Compulsively readable.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.