search for books and compare prices
cover image
Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer
By Katie Kath (illustrator) and Kelly Jones
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback | Library
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Alfred a Knopf Inc
Publication date May 12, 2015
Pages 216
Binding Library
Book category Juvenile Fiction
ISBN-13 9780385755535
ISBN-10 0385755538
Dimensions 0.75 by 5.80 by 8.50 in.
Weight 0.70 lbs.
Original list price $19.99
Other format details juvenile
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description: Fans of Polly Horvath or Roald Dahl will love this quirky story of a determined girl, and some extraordinary chickens.
 
Twelve-year-old Sophie Brown feels like a fish out of water when she and her parents move from Los Angeles to the farm they’ve inherited from a great-uncle. But farm life gets more interesting when a cranky chicken appears and Sophie discovers the hen can move objects with the power of her little chicken brain: jam jars, the latch to her henhouse, the entire henhouse....
 
And then more of her great-uncle’s unusual chickens come home to roost. Determined, resourceful Sophie learns to care for her flock, earning money for chicken feed, collecting eggs. But when a respected local farmer tries to steal them, Sophie must find a way to keep them (and their superpowers) safe.
 
Told in letters to Sophie’s abuela, quizzes, a chicken-care correspondence course, to-do lists, and more, Unusual Chickens is a quirky, clucky classic in the making.

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780385755528
 
With Kelly Jones | from Alfred a Knopf Inc (May 12, 2015)
9780385755528 | details & prices | 216 pages | 5.75 × 8.75 × 1.00 in. | Rec. grade levels 3-4 | 0.70 lbs | List price $16.99
About: Handpicked by Amazon kids’ books editor, Seira Wilson, for Prime Book Box – a children’s subscription that inspires a love of reading.
Paperback
Book cover for 9780385755559
 
With Kelly Jones | from Yearling Books (March 8, 2016)
9780385755559 | details & prices | 216 pages | 5.25 × 7.75 × 0.50 in. | Rec. grade levels 3-4 | 0.32 lbs | List price $6.99
About: Fans of Katherine Applegate and Erin Entrada Kelly will love this quirky story of a determined girl, and some extraordinary chickens.
Library
Book cover for 9780385755535
 
The price comparison is for this edition
With Kelly Jones | from Alfred a Knopf Inc (May 12, 2015)
9780385755535 | details & prices | 216 pages | 5.80 × 8.50 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 3-4 | 0.70 lbs | List price $19.99
About: Fans of Polly Horvath or Roald Dahl will love this quirky story of a determined girl, and some extraordinary chickens.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.