search for books and compare prices
cover image
Running Out of Night
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback | Library | Prebinding
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Delacorte Pr
Publication date November 11, 2014
Pages 287
Binding Library
Book category Juvenile Fiction
ISBN-13 9780375991479
ISBN-10 0375991476
Dimensions 1 by 5 by 8 in.
Weight 0.85 lbs.
Original list price $19.99
Other format details juvenile
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description: A Children’s Book Review Seven Middle Grade Books for African American History Month Pick 

Fans of Elijah of Buxton, Trouble Don’t Last, and Stealing Freedom will be drawn to this tale of the incredible journey of an abused twelve-year-old white girl and an escaped slave girl who run away together and form a bond of friendship while seeking freedom.

 
Every day is a misery for a nameless, motherless Southern girl who is treated cruelly by her pa and brothers. Her life changes forever when a runaway slave named Zenobia turns to her for help and shelter. Longing for her own freedom, the girl decides to run away, and she and Zenobia set off on a harrowing journey. Along the way, Zenobia names the girl Lark, after the bird, for her ability to mimic its song.
 
Running by night, hiding by day, the girls are pursued by Lark’s pa and brothers and by ruthless slave catchers. Brightwell, another runaway slave, joins them, and the three follow secret signs to a stop on the Underground Railroad. When the hideout is raided and Zenobia and Brightwell are captured, Lark sets out alone to rescue her friends.

A CBC Notable Social Studies Trade Book of the Year
An International Reading Association Best Chapter Book of the Year
A Vermont Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children’s Book Award Master List Selection
A Great Stone Face Book Award Nominee
A New Mexico’s Land of Enchantment Book Award Selection
A Pennsylvania Young Reader's Choice Awards Selection


"Lush, detailed, total-immersion storytelling."--Kirkus Reviews

"Distinguished by lively descriptions and dialogue."--Publisher's Weekly

"A gripping historical novel . . . heart-stopping, heart-racing and eventually heart-easing.--Library Voice

"Powerful debut novel."--International Reading Association

"An essential read for those interested in American history."--San Louis Obispo Tribune

"A gritty, engrossing tale.--Slo Coast Journal


From the Hardcover edition.

Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780385744096
 
from Delacorte Pr (November 11, 2014)
9780385744096 | details & prices | 287 pages | 6.00 × 8.75 × 1.25 in. | Rec. grade levels 4-6 | 0.90 lbs | List price $16.99
Paperback
Dgs edition from Yearling Books (March 8, 2016)
9780385378475 | details & prices | 287 pages | 5.00 × 8.00 × 0.75 in. | Rec. grade levels 4-6 | 0.45 lbs | List price $7.99
Library
Book cover for 9780375991479
 
The price comparison is for this edition
from Delacorte Pr (November 11, 2014)
9780375991479 | details & prices | 287 pages | 5.00 × 8.00 × 1.00 in. | Rec. grade levels 4-6 | 0.85 lbs | List price $19.99
About: A Children’s Book Review Seven Middle Grade Books for African American History Month Pick Fans of Elijah of Buxton, Trouble Don’t Last, and Stealing Freedom will be drawn to this tale of the incredible journey of an abused twelve-year-old white girl and an escaped slave girl who run away together and form a bond of friendship while seeking freedom.
Prebinding
Book cover for 9780606384575
 
from Turtleback Books (March 8, 2016)
9780606384575 | details & prices | Rec. grade levels 4-6 | List price $18.40
About: FOR USE IN SCHOOLS AND LIBRARIES ONLY.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.