search for books and compare prices
cover image
Positively Fifth Street: Murderers, Cheetahs, and Binion's World Series of Poker
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | CD/Spoken Word | Cassette/Spoken Word
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Farrar Straus & Giroux
Publication date March 1, 2003
Pages 422
Binding Hardcover
Book category Adult Non-Fiction
ISBN-13 9780374236489
ISBN-10 0374236488
Dimensions 1.75 by 6.50 by 9.50 in.
Weight 1.60 lbs.
Availability§ Publisher Out of Stock Indefinitely
Original list price $26.00
§As reported by publisher
Summaries and Reviews
Summary
A chronicle of life in Las Vegas investigates the murder of poker player Ted Binion, revealing a secret world of kinky sex, black magic, and science lurking at the heart of gambling's World Series of Poker.
Amazon.com description: Product Description:
Rough sex, black magic, murder, and the science—and eros—of gambling meet in the ultimate book about Las Vegas

James McManus was sent to Las Vegas by Harper’s to cover the World Series of Poker in 2000, especially the mushrooming progress of women in the $23 million event, and the murder of Ted Binion, the tournament’s prodigal host, purportedly done in by a stripper and her boyfriend with a technique so outré it took a Manhattan pathologist to identify it. Whether a jury would convict the attractive young couple was another story altogether.

McManus risks his entire Harper’s advance in a long-shot attempt to play in the tournament himself. Only with actual table experience, he tells his skeptical wife, can he capture the hair-raising brand of poker that determines the world champion. The heart of the book is his deliciously suspenseful account of the tournament itself—the players, the hand-to-hand combat, and his own unlikely progress in it.

Written in the tradition of The Gambler and The Biggest Game in Town, Positively Fifth Street is a high-stakes adventure, a penetrating study of America’s card game, and a terrifying but often hilarious account of one man’s effort to understand what Edward O. Wilson has called “Pleistocene exigencies”—the eros and logistics of our primary competitive instincts.


Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9780374236489 Book cover for 9780786257270
 
Large print edition from Thorndike Pr (October 1, 2003)
9780786257270 | details & prices | 621 pages | 6.00 × 9.00 × 1.25 in. | 1.80 lbs | List price $30.95
About: A chronicle of life in Las Vegas investigates the murder of poker player Ted Binion, revealing a secret world of kinky sex, black magic, and science lurking at the heart of gambling's World Series of Poker.
The price comparison is for this edition
from Farrar Straus & Giroux (March 1, 2003)
9780374236489 | details & prices | 422 pages | 6.50 × 9.50 × 1.75 in. | 1.60 lbs | List price $26.00
About: A chronicle of life in Las Vegas investigates the murder of poker player Ted Binion, revealing a secret world of kinky sex, black magic, and science lurking at the heart of gambling's World Series of Poker.
CD/Spoken Word
Book cover for 9781559278843
 
Abridged edition from St Martins Pr (March 1, 2003)
9781559278843 | details & prices | 5.75 × 5.00 × 1.00 in. | 0.36 lbs | List price $22.00
About: A chronicle of life in Las Vegas investigates the murder of poker player Ted Binion, revealing a secret world of kinky sex, black magic, and science lurking at the heart of gambling's World Series of Poker.
Cassette/Spoken Word
Book cover for 9781559278850
 
Abridged edition from St Martins Pr (March 1, 2003)
9781559278850 | details & prices | 4.50 × 7.00 × 0.75 in. | 0.30 lbs | List price $17.95
About: A chronicle of life in Las Vegas investigates the murder of poker player Ted Binion, revealing a secret world of kinky sex, black magic, and science lurking at the heart of gambling's World Series of Poker.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.